Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the better to see you with ... with updated instructions
I purchased this because someone was messing around with cars parked on-street (including ours). The supplied instruction are (in my opinion) virtually unintelligible. I had a trial with it and hadn't even managed to work out which aperture contained the camera and managed to record a series of shots of the car's windscreen pillar ... good quality though!

I...
Published 10 months ago by JB

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should be banned from sale by trading standards
Useless Chinese electronic gadget. These things do not work as described on here or on various you tube videos, if you do mange to get a charge in to them (this alone is hit or miss) when you try to operate they will flash/vibrate and anything in-between but record nothing. Mine have never recorded a thing and even if you were to get a recording, you would not be able to...
Published 7 months ago by Breeder


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the better to see you with ... with updated instructions, 28 Aug. 2014
By 
JB (Chudleigh, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flylink® 4GB Hidden USB Mini DV DVR U8 U DISK Camera Motion Activated Detection (Electronics)
I purchased this because someone was messing around with cars parked on-street (including ours). The supplied instruction are (in my opinion) virtually unintelligible. I had a trial with it and hadn't even managed to work out which aperture contained the camera and managed to record a series of shots of the car's windscreen pillar ... good quality though!

I decided to email the seller and request clearer instructions and happily they replied by return and here is an edited version of their instructions. I found them useful and certainly better than those supplied originally. The non-windscreen pillar results were (shall I say) very useful.

Worth a punt if one needs covert, automated surveillance at an affordable price. Their instructions follow.

Operation:

Turn on: Press the button "ON/OFF" for 3 seconds; the USB camera vibrates for 3 seconds, and the indicator light turns to red and blue at the same time; the blue light goes out later, and the red light stays on. The camera enters into standby mode.

Record video: In standby mode, press the button "Record video" for 3 seconds, the device vibrates twice, the red indicator light flashes 3 times and goes out, the camera is now recording. To stop recording, press the button "Record video" once, the device vibrates once again, and the red indicator light is on, data will be saved; the camera now is back to standby mode.

Take photo: In standby mode, press the button "Take photo" once, the device vibrates once, the red indicator light turns to blue at first, then back to red again, a photo has been taken, and the camera is back to standby mode.

Record audio: In standby mode, press the button "Record audio" once, the device vibrates once, the red indicator light turns to blue, flashes 4 times, then goes out, the camera is now recording. To stop recording, press the button "Record audio" once again, the device vibrates once, the indicator light turns to blue at first, then to red, and stays on, data will be saved; the camera is now back to standby mode.

Motion detection: In standby mode, press the button "Motion detection" once, the device vibrates 3times, and the blue and red indicator light flashes 4 times, and then goes outWhen there is something moving around, the blue indicator light flash once. To stop, press the "Motion detection" once, the device vibrates once, data will be saved, and the indicator light turns to red and stays on, the camera is back to standby mode.

Turn off: Press the button "ON/OFF" for 3 seconds, the device vibrates, the blue indicator light flashes 3 times and goes out, the camera is now in power off mode.

Webcam: Install the driver, STK02N 2.4.exe, in the CD. In power off mode, connect the USB camera to computer while pressing the "Record video" button. Open "Standard_Camera" in the "my computer", the camera is now used as a webcam.

Update time:

1. There is a function which shows the video recorder time (year-month-day hour: minute: second will be recorded in the recorded files, and will be shown when playback). Please set the time correctly as follows:

Connect the camera to a computer.

Create a file named "time.txt" under the direct root of removable disk.

Fill out the time in the format as follows:

2012-05-23 12:38:04

Save the file and exit.

2. Connect the camera to a computer:

Insert the CD into the computer. Click the file named "WriteTime_En.exe" in the CD; fill out the removable disk's letter; click "Update".

Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth a punt!, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flylink® 4GB Hidden USB Mini DV DVR U8 U DISK Camera Motion Activated Detection (Electronics)
The reviews I had read were very hit and miss but I decided to chance it as it was fairly cheap. The camera surpassed all expectations, the footage mine shot was great quality for the size and the sound is good too. There is a great demonstration on you tube as to how to use it (definitely watch them) as the instructions that come with the camera are quite poor. Overall, for the price, it did the job I needed it to and caught my thief!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instructions were a bit vague but excellent service offered by the staff helped me to figure ..., 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flylink® 4GB Hidden USB Mini DV DVR U8 U DISK Camera Motion Activated Detection (Electronics)
It was delivered even earlier than I expected. Video and audio quality is ok. Instructions were a bit vague but excellent service offered by the staff helped me to figure out everything. Good product for the price and best customer service I have ever experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should be banned from sale by trading standards, 12 Nov. 2014
By 
Breeder (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flylink® 4GB Hidden USB Mini DV DVR U8 U DISK Camera Motion Activated Detection (Electronics)
Useless Chinese electronic gadget. These things do not work as described on here or on various you tube videos, if you do mange to get a charge in to them (this alone is hit or miss) when you try to operate they will flash/vibrate and anything in-between but record nothing. Mine have never recorded a thing and even if you were to get a recording, you would not be able to repeat it at will. This gadget wasted 10hrs of my life plus the cost of purchase - I wouldn't even be happy to find one of these in a Christmas cracker! The purveyors of these items are conniving......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy but manual is terrible, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flylink® 4GB Hidden USB Mini DV DVR U8 U DISK Camera Motion Activated Detection (Electronics)
I ordered this not expecting much and it is perfect for my needs. I opened it out of the box and plugged it in my win7 laptop to charge and install it started to install but failed on the driver called "unknown device". It wouldnt work and i was pannicking. I Decided to shove an SD card in and it started to work (Silly me) but 60% of the time windows was telling me the device has malfunctioned but i have discovered that is caused by either my faulty usb on pc and it was recording when i plugged it into pc so make sure you press K2 to stop a recording if it was. Instructions are awfully poor to be honest, its like it was written by someone with no English skills at all. Build quality seems OK but i wouldnt like to drop it at all because i reckon it would smash into a million pieces. The Camera quality has by far exceeded my expectations and overall i would say its a good buy but the manual is dreadful, a piece of toilet paper would have been more educational lol. If the manual was more substantial it would be nearly perfect but anyway in my case it is still a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not really any good for what it's intended., 9 Feb. 2015
By 
Richard Hawkes (Orpington, Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flylink® 4GB Hidden USB Mini DV DVR U8 U DISK Camera Motion Activated Detection (Electronics)
Thank goodness for the web link to the English instructions (See the "Answers" section). The ones provided are utter nonsense and I would suggest they simply don't send them. The dongle is straightforward enough to operate, with a rather weird vibration going on. It mentions a red and blue light, but they're very difficult to distinguish. Bit of guesswork as to whether it's doing what you expect.

But this product is not really fit for purpose. The camera seems to be very zoomed in. I'd seen another review with this same complaint, but thought I'd take a punt for the money. The problem with these little devices is that you don't know what you're recording until you plug it in afterwards. And because it's so very zoomed, you'd need to get it spot on.

But I suppose it's cheap and I have got a 4GB Micro SD card thrown in. I wouldn't bother again though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worked for me., 30 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Flylink® 4GB Hidden USB Mini DV DVR U8 U DISK Camera Motion Activated Detection (Electronics)
Takes a bit of getting used to the controls and the battery life in Motion Detection mode is quite limited. But i set mine up and went out for a couple of hours, and when i came back it had caught my house mate rummaging through my stuff as i suspected! Success for this little bit of wizardry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good., 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flylink® 4GB Hidden USB Mini DV DVR U8 U DISK Camera Motion Activated Detection (Electronics)
Very fragile, but works, including motion detection. Video and sound quality good. 5 stars for realising job description, although I probably got lucky. Rating not including the manual which was appalling. A bad attempt at English was just confusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good quality camera for the price but is unable to ..., 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flylink® 4GB Hidden USB Mini DV DVR U8 U DISK Camera Motion Activated Detection (Electronics)
good quality camera for the price but is unable to record whilst charging as it says in the instruction which means you can only record for a maximum of 1 hour at a time. I have an older version of this camera which does record whilst charging but unfortunately on that one the video quality is very poor, i have tried to this item from various sellers recently none of which would record whilst charging so a good item if you want for short periods only but doesn't work whilst charging so no use to me :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Go for something else..., 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flylink® 4GB Hidden USB Mini DV DVR U8 U DISK Camera Motion Activated Detection (Electronics)
Nope Nope Nope...The camera seems to be zoomed in so you would have to have it at some distance to catch what you want. It took me ages to figure the controls out as I have to experiment and write it down. The instructions are poorly translated and hard to make sense of... Would not recommend this product! Spend your money else where. Oh, it stopped working within two days of me getting it despite charging it for hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews