Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD review
If you do not have any of Lisa Stansfield's stuff, then this album is the one to get. She has a rich "earthy" voice full of light and shade. She puts herself into the music. To me she is like Al Green -in that they both leave part of themselves in their music.
Published on 30 April 2010 by Stueeh Warburton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Outstanding
Lisa had most of her hits from 1989 -1997, when she had a number one single and numerous top ten hits as well. Her second album `Affection `was her most successful - reaching number 2, several others reached the top ten. She was also very successful in Europe. This album reached number 3 in 2003.
She exiled herself away from showbiz for 10 years due to the pressure...
Published 13 months ago by Thespionic


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD review, 30 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you do not have any of Lisa Stansfield's stuff, then this album is the one to get. She has a rich "earthy" voice full of light and shade. She puts herself into the music. To me she is like Al Green -in that they both leave part of themselves in their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic GH collection that'll have you singing along!!, 13 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
Its easy to forget just how many good hits Lisa Stansfield has actually had, but with this hits collection all of the old classics can be re-visited.
Hits such as "This is the right time", "People hold on" and "All around the world" have real longevity. Unlike so many other songs of the early 90's they have really stood the test of time.
I'd definitely reccomend getting this album. Get it now as there's a bonus disc, which has a great remix version of "People hold on", which is mixed over the Tori Amos hit "Proffesional Widow". So come on then - BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Singles Collection, 21 Feb. 2003
By 
Mr. Steven Bootes "sbootes" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent collection from one of British music's most popular females of the second half of the 20th century. Success for Lisa has come all over the world, even in America!
Although Lisa Stansfield hasn't been as commercially successful as she was in the late '80s and early '90s, the later material is just as strong - with The Real Thing being a personal favourite of mine.
There are 17 reasons why you should buy this album, they are all great tracks and it's a real privelige to have so much great material on one album. The Queen/George Michael track sees all profits going to the AIDS charity set up in the name of Freddie Mercury, a very worthy cause, and just one more small incentive to help persuade you to buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ab fab Lisa, 13 July 2009
By 
Diane Green ""Daffy"" (Central Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lisa Stansfields greatest hits was worth waithing for ,so enjoyed the trip down memory lane,such a fantastic vocal range and voice,good on ya girl.
Hope there's some new material in there one day.Di from Portugal(northern expat)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolutely Perfect Read: Biography, 23 Nov. 2013
By 
Lisa did one really no female British artist has ever done by securing 4 platinum U.K. albums and 1 gold. And then 1 Double Platinum, 1 Platinum and 1 Gold album in the states. She even can boasted by being featured on the Best Selling Worldwide "Bodyguard" soundtrack with the Top 10 "Someday" hit.
From "Affection", Lisa posted no less than 5 hits led by the worldwide #1, "All Around the World" and the album went onto sell 5 million worldwide.
From "Real Love" she grabbed another solid 3 hits and 1 moderate effort led by her 3rd #1 American R&B hit, "All Woman".
And although, her American label stumbled in not releasing "So Natural", her U.K base gave her another 3 platinum smash with a barrel of beautiful videos shot around Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs come to life !, 12 Feb. 2003
By 
M. Kuryliw "Orson" (England yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i was shocked on how good this album is. only heard 'lets just call it love'( i love it) of the face up album, so didnt know to much about her. saw her pic on new album and though wow sexy bird. bought it, put it on, she has an amazing voice, the songs ' this is the right time ' 'so natural' show that this album has 2 sides to it. Fast and very funky, the slow and moving . i just wish she put on '8-3-1' a missed jem in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Outstanding, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lisa had most of her hits from 1989 -1997, when she had a number one single and numerous top ten hits as well. Her second album `Affection `was her most successful - reaching number 2, several others reached the top ten. She was also very successful in Europe. This album reached number 3 in 2003.
She exiled herself away from showbiz for 10 years due to the pressure but is back later this year with a new album & tour.
This is a nice album, but not a great one in my opinion. It opens with a lot of `disco' type songs of that period, but these are a bit 'samey' to my ear. `All the Right Places' finally slows it down and is a nice song and much needed change of tempo. The middle section is OK but again nothing out of the ordinary. I'm sorry but some parts of this album just didn't do it for me! However, the album does finish strongly and I really liked her Cole Porter number -`Down in the Depths' and who doesn't like ' These are the Days.'
The album is good value with 17 tracks and most of her top ten hits are on here, for me she's a very, very, good singer but not quite an Amy Winehouse or a K D Lang as a vocalist - just my opinion folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic singer with more hits than you think, 7 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lisa Stansfield's characterful, soulful, elastic voice is full of emotion throughout this compilation. As soon as the disc starts there are songs here that bring back memories even if you wouldn't have been able to name them if asked for a list of her songs. It's a pity that she recorded at a time when a synthesised beat dominated most recordings because her singing deserves a full orchestration to back her. Despite this she ranges from jazz inspired tracks, through the vocal sensuality of "Time to Make You Mine" to the high class pop of "All Around the World". Altogether, a really enjoyable listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC LISA, 5 Feb. 2003
What can you say about this voice that hasnt already been said? From way way back when she was on Saturday Superstore, she was destined to be a star. She has more than proved her talent. her voice as smooth as treacle, weaves you into what can only be classed as soulful, classy and smooth.
From superb tracks such as "The Real Thing" right down to what in my eyes are the two tracks that epitomise the voice we have come to know as Lisa Stansfield "All Woman" and "All Around The World"
Lets hope this is only the first of many more superb greatest hits of
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, Great quality, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the album as I am going to see Lisa Stansfield in concert in June and couldn't remember what songs she sang!

The album is brilliant and I have listened to it several times. I bought the album second hand as it was cheaper. The CD was in fantastic condition as if it were new.

Great! I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Biography: The Greatest Hits
Biography: The Greatest Hits by Lisa Stansfield
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews