Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Spielberg film, strangely ignored at the box-office
Amistad was released in the UK cinema just a few months before Saving Private Ryan. The hype surrounding Ryan, Spielberg and Dreamworks at the time seemed to overshadow the fact that Dreamworks first Spielberg film, Amistad had been released. This could account for the relatively modest numbers of bums on seats. Which is a crying shame. Whilst Amistad may not have the...
Published on 16 Mar. 2000

versus
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching
Most reviewers either seemed to love or hate this film. I ended up somewhere in the middle, hence the three stars.
At its best, "Amistad" reminds us that the evil of slavery caused terrible suffering to real people and that its abolition was one of the greatest achievements of the nineteenth century. In a world where there are still pockets of slave commerce, it is a...
Published on 27 Feb. 2003


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Spielberg film, strangely ignored at the box-office, 16 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Amistad [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Amistad was released in the UK cinema just a few months before Saving Private Ryan. The hype surrounding Ryan, Spielberg and Dreamworks at the time seemed to overshadow the fact that Dreamworks first Spielberg film, Amistad had been released. This could account for the relatively modest numbers of bums on seats. Which is a crying shame. Whilst Amistad may not have the shattering impact of Schindler's List or Saving Private Ryan, this is great Spielberg film-making, full of moments of magical cinema. Based on the true story of a slaves revolt on the ship Amistad, subsequent capture and trial in America, the script provides the all-start cast ample opportunity to flex their jaw-muscles. Particularly outstanding is the performance of Djimon Hounsou one of the slaves struggling for freedom. Overall this is one of the best films of the late 90s - if you didn't get to see it at the cinema, catch up with it now on video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, 27 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Amistad [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Most reviewers either seemed to love or hate this film. I ended up somewhere in the middle, hence the three stars.
At its best, "Amistad" reminds us that the evil of slavery caused terrible suffering to real people and that its abolition was one of the greatest achievements of the nineteenth century. In a world where there are still pockets of slave commerce, it is a reminder of how serious this evil is. The re-creation of a Portugese slave ship and the horrors inflicted on its victims was very well done, and to me the most powerful sequence in the film was that where chained slaves are dragged over the side to drown due to the crew miscalculating the amount of supplies required for the crossing.
At its worst the film contained some sequences which appeared to be overly artificial. Anthony Hopkins is an excellent actor, but there is something unconvincing about his portrayal of John Quincey Adams - it just seemed too saccharine. As I am not familiar with the details of the actual court case I cannot say anything with authority, but the version in the film seemed rather formulaic - hopeless case gains unexpected triumph at hands of struggling young lawyer (seems a bit familiar), then there is a reversal of fortunes, but triumph in the end. The scene of the destruction of the slavers' base in Sierra Leone seemed rather tagged on the end, but did at least give a pleasant reminder that for once the British were on the side of the angels and morally ahead of those nasty colonials who did not stop trading human lives for money until forced to.
Bottom line? There are a lot of third rate movies out there and this is definitely not one of those. It is a film that is worth the time to watch, but I had hoped for better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A powerful and heartfelt drama., 11 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Amistad [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Amistad is a surprisingly good movie that is a welcome addition into the filmography of Steven Spielberg. It has some courtroom cliches and some typical Spielberg drama fluff, but it overcomes those minor obstacles to be a powerful, sometimes-disturbing film about a group of people who yearn for their freedom. The editing is also choppy and sometimes it is hard to pick up what's going on, but this story moved me so much, I didn't care if the editing was sub-par.

Amistad, based on a true story, is about a group of African slaves who attempt to escape from their captors, but they are recaptured and sent to America for trial. Now these blacks will have to endure unfairness and racial hatred to find out their fates.

The acting is powerful. This is the movie where Djimon Hounsou becomes a star and this movie shows why. His performance as the so-called "alpha male" nearly moved me to tears. Anthony Hopkins, who played John Quincy Adams, delivers one of the best speeches you'll ever hear in the movies. Matthew McConaughey, in one of his early non-romantic roles does a wonderful job. I really love Morgan Freeman, but I'm disappointed he didn't do much in the film.

Overall, this is a powerhouse film that shows expert Spielberg direction and wonderful acting. The editing is questionable, but I'll let it slide for a film like this. I honestly didn't expect this to be good as it was so I'm quite happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'MOVIE MASTERCLASS' FROM DIRECTOR 'STEVEN SPIELBERG', 26 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film by award winning director 'Steven Spielberg' is based on a true story.
The year 1839 though many activists campaign to rid the World of slavery in
many places the trade was alive and well at this time.
This story tells of a group of enslaved 'Africans' on their enforced journey take
over the ship 'LA AMISTAD' with the intention of sailing her back to their
homeland.
However, despite their efforts, the 'LA AMISTAD'' mutineers are recaptured...they
will now face a trial in 'America'
The court will hear claims of ownership of the defendants, the trial is followed by
the whole nation, it becomes an issue of Human Rights for the enslaved 'Africans'
A team is brought together to defend the defendants 'Mathew .S. Baldwin' played
by 'Mathew McConaughey' and 'Theodore Joadson' played by 'Morgan Freeman'
Language difficulties are a real problem between Council and Defendants'
For the Lawyers what starts as just another job soon becomes a mission, though
the defence's presentations are proven it is not and end to the ordeal for the
defendants as a new judge is appointed which means it all has to be done again.
'Mathew' and 'Theodore' desperately try to learn the basics of their clients language,
fortunately they stumble across a former slave that can act as a interpreter.
The spokesman for the enslaved defendants 'Cinque' (Djimon Hounsou) can for
the first time during the second trial tell the court his story of how he and others are
forcefully taken from their Homeland and then on a torrid journey, firstly on the ship
'The Tecara' to Cuba, and how many, the now defendants came to be on the 'LA -
AMISTAD'
The Judge rules in their favour concluding the defendants were in deed born in 'Africa'
and could not be looked upon as slaves,.
However as history records the celebrations of both the Defence Team and Defendants
are soon muted as the case is referred to 'THE SUPREME COURT'
Former President and lawyer 'John Quincy Adams' a well known abolitionist is persuaded
to join the defence team and lead the argument on behalf of the defendants.
This is a remarkable and well portrayed drama harbouring many great performances
from the cast involved.
The film is both moving and engaging.......well worth taking time out to view.
The picture and sound quality of this 1997 movie is excellent.
The Film on the Blu-ray format is only available from the U.S.(Import) on the Amazon site,
the good news is that the film is 'MULTI - REGION'
Special Features -
* The Making of 'Amistad'
* Theatrical Trailer HD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Speilberg is no artist., 10 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Amistad [DVD] (DVD)
Why was Steven Spielberg allowed to tackle this story? Clearly the wrong choice when you see how shallow, overwrought and underthought the resulting film is. He should have learnt his lesson with A Colour Purple, equally as misguided a film. Someone should tell him to leave these books alone, he hasnt got the skills to tackle these subjects. He is a maker of entertainments and not an artist.

The atrocities that humans have afflicted on each other and still committ to this day need to reach our screen. But not like this. Schindlers List has a power that surpasses its faults, we all hate what happened in the concentration camp and can be very clear about our feelings towards the Nazis. Whereas in Amistad, we see the crimes and we are shook to the core by them but where is the savage attack upon the colonising powers? It would mean attacking the British, Europeans and Americans and Speilberg simply lacks the guts or the critical powers to tear them apart. Bit like how our politicians are afraid to accusing the banks of behaving like dictators. Spielberg wouldnt be where he was if he told too much truth.

The history and on-going story of Genocide needs bringing to our attention, and Amistad at least does that, it gets people talking, for a while anyway. However there are better films out there, its just that few of them make it to our screens. Ive seen Queimada (Burn) by Pontecorvo and its very powerful. Others worth exploring are Sankofa, Daughters of the Dust, Roots (tv series), Africans in America (1998 tv doc), The Last Supper (Tomas Gutierrez Alea), Asientos, Sarraounia, Quilumbo, The Slave Girl, The Od African Blasphemer (tv), Slavery of Life, Ceddo, Adanggaman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars maybe spielberg should try his hand at documentry film making?, 27 July 2011
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amistad [DVD] (DVD)
i find, as the creator of the summer blockbuster, spielberg is great at making blockbusters. but spielberg doesn't just make blockbusters he does another type of film a film like "the colour purple" a film like "munich" and a film like "amistad". unlike the blockbuster films, this type of film isn't guaranteed to be a enjoyable film for me, i think these non blockbusters are a bit hit and miss.

just as well then that spielberg generally releases a blockbuster the same year as a non blockbuster film e.g.. "jurrasic park" and "schindlers list", "war of the worlds" and "munich". "amistad" was the non blockbuster to "the lost world's" commercial success. not to say that "amistad" is any less of a film than "the lost world" but it would have always been less successful than a dinosaur adventure thriller with CGI around every corner. i think that is part of spielbergs success, release a film highlighting some very real very difficult issues to please the critics, then release a blockbuster to get bums on seats and make sure the money is made.

well that was a major digressional tangent wasn't it? shall i get on with actually reviewing this film? yes i think i should..

the opening scene was probably the highlight of the film for me it just looked amazing and i really got a feel for the hunger and passion for freedom that the slaves had in the revolt. the film, however, quickly devolves into a big-budget classroom documentary, albeit a reasonably gripping one. beautifully filmed, and well-acted (particularly by djimon hounsou), Spielberg's film loses momentum each time he halts for scenes of courtroom "drama".

the harrowing flashbacks to life aboard the Amistad provoked a feeling of disgust in me, which i am sure was the intention. but i did get a feeling of pride to find that the british were pretty much the freedom fighters of the time, and the scene where the british destroy the slave fortress made me smile, as in film, english people are all to often portrayed to be the bad guys but in real life we all know we're the good guys.

In its best moments, Amistad reveals Spielberg as a man committed to showing us how it really was, in its worst moments, the film reveals a director who is maybe a bit too devoted to informing the audience of the really inconsequential details of the time, making the whole pace of the film go a bit to slow for my tastes.

i would give "amistad" 3 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sympathetic view of slavery, 6 Dec. 2006
By 
maffyew "maffyew" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Amistad [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. The historical representations of the different nations and races I think are very accurate too. Slavery was a brutal trade and I think this film encapsulates the ferocity of its methods very well. It had me moved quite a few times with excellent performances from Matthew McConaughey and even more so, Djimon Hounsou. As mentioned in previous reviews, there are a number of movie cliche`s, most obvious, the struggling young lawyer who wins a major case. Also, certain scenes seemed to be over edited. Cinque`s testimony didnt seem as if it was all there. However, a great watch which really grabs your enthusiasm as well as your sympathy on many occasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "If He Were White and His Oppressors Had Been British...", 30 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Amistad [DVD] (DVD)
`Amistad' is an uncomfortable reminder of a fact that many Americans would like to ignore. That having supposedly overthrown the oppressive rule of King George III on the grounds that "All men are created equal," (with I might add, massive support from the Despotic Monarchy of France,) the `Evil' British Empire banned slavery decades before they did. That Abraham Lincoln only banned slavery and fought the Civil War because it was a hindrance to trade with that Empire. And that even now, America is a Nation of Democracy and Freedom for everyone, as long as they are rich, Protestant, speak English and most importantly, are white.

In the words of Anthony Hopkins, playing the role of John Quincy Adams as he defends the man who fought and killed to free himself and the rest of the Spaniard's `Property,' "If he were white and his oppressors had been British, he would not be able to stand for the weight of medals we would pin upon his chest"

Having been born in Hull and visited the William Wiberforce Museum on many occasions, I can say for certain that in this film, the recreation of the abuse and murder of slaves taken from Africa is more compelling than a thousand museum exhibits. And before they continue spreading their hypocritical dream of `Freedom & Democracy' across the world, the Americans should first admit the truth about their terrible past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Overlooked Masterpiece, 3 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Amistad [DVD] (DVD)
Amistad is an excellent film based on the real life story of a ship taken by its captives that ended up in U.S. territorial waters and then became a celebrated case in the United States legal system just as the country was starting to tear itself apart over the issue of slavery. It is a magnificent film with a great cast and although it may seem a rather dry topic to make a movie about it is a wonderful, enthralling, moving and at times humourous work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must See, 21 Mar. 2008
By 
Steven R. McEvoy "MCWPP" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Amistad [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Amistad is a true story about an 1839 mutiny aboard a slave ship that is traveling towards North America. It is a story in the period when new slaves were illegal, but trading in slaves that were already slaves, was allowed. With a powerful all-star cast including Morgan Freeman, Anthony Hopkins and Matthew McConaughey, it is a story that will grip your heart and move your spirit. Much of the story takes place in a courtroom drama about the free-man who led the revolt, and deals with questions of freedom, humanity and dignity.

The movie, though slow moving, is intense, and the drama builds as many groups claim the slaves as their property. This story is truly gripping and a story of extreme importance in understanding our own history. This lesser-known Spielberg film is truly a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AMISTAD
AMISTAD by Steven Spielberg
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews