Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World Is Yours
Scarface is one of those rare, rare film experiences you'd be hard-pushed not to enjoy. Brain De Palma's 1983 remake of the 1930's flick had all the ingredients of a classic: a great script, a defining soundtrack and a leading actor in his all-time prime. Al Pacino's performance as Cuban gangster Tony Montana has now almost received iconic status among film fans. Few...
Published on 8 Mar 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good
I did like this movies very much loads of violence but if you like gangster movies I do recommend it
Published 2 months ago by Alia Toama


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World Is Yours, 8 Mar 2005
By A Customer
Scarface is one of those rare, rare film experiences you'd be hard-pushed not to enjoy. Brain De Palma's 1983 remake of the 1930's flick had all the ingredients of a classic: a great script, a defining soundtrack and a leading actor in his all-time prime. Al Pacino's performance as Cuban gangster Tony Montana has now almost received iconic status among film fans. Few would deny that Pacino's take on cocaine-snorting Montana is not one of his career best. Scarface is seen nowadays as one of the top gangster films, maybe not in the same ilk as say The Godfather, but still a thoroughly entertaining piece of cinema. This 2 Disc Special Edition, although not loaded with features, still should be part of any respectable DVD collection out there.
For those unfamiliar with the story, Scarface follows the path of Tony Montana, a charismatic Cuban refugee, who arrives in Miami looking for the American dream. Tony's up-front and tough personality makes him go right to the top of the cocaine underworld. However, no one, as they say, stays at the top forever. There are consequences to his success, and as Tony learns, money and power can't give you everything. A special mention should go to Michelle Pfeiffer, who superbly plays Tony's love, in what was her first major film role.
The sound and picture quality was in my eyes the highlight of this DVD package. The new digital transfer was near flawless, and the comparisons between this and the old VHS are unbelievable to be honest. Hearing Pacino talk so clearly in that hilarious accent of his was a delight and the famous 'Say Hello To My Leetle Friend' ending blows you away with all the sound.
The extras shown on disc 2 are not in abundance, but what you get here is quality not quantity. You have some decent documentaries with recent interviews with Pacino, De Palma and scriptwriter Oliver Stone. I must stress they are not very long, but don't let that put you off. You get some really fascinating information about the making of the film (including Stone's trip to South America!), that more than satisfied me.
Scarface is a tremendously powerful, violent and moving film which is made by a really talented team on and off camera. It is loaded with famous scenes throughout which Pacino makes his own, once you see Scarface you'll never forget it. If you are wanting to own a genuinely brilliant piece of 80's cinema, you have came to the right DVD package. Do yourself and your collection justice. You won't look back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital copy code works, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hi to everyone wondering whether the digital copy of this movie works. I can confirm that even though it says on the slip in the case that it expires on 05/09/2012 I have just put the code n to itunes 27/03/2013 and it worked great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People's reason's for not liking this movie..., 23 Sep 2011
I'm not going to review this moive as everyone knows it's an oustanding film. I would like to just quickly comment on that the picture quality and 7.1 dts sound is stunning. It would of been nice in some night time scene's to see abit more attention to detail with grain's and dark black's. But that is very, very slight complaint. Extra's are good not oustanding but very solid.

However, this moive review is really to question the people that have discredited this movie. The people who rate this poorly state that it is over the top and too violent etc etc. But if they actually had a brain cell, they would realise that the whole point of the film, is for that very reason. Going from the music, to the fashion, to al pacino's voice, to the violence, that cocaine is like gold. The whole movie is a metaphor for the time in Miami in the 80's, time of excess.

Find it quite embarassing for people to slag of an oustanding movie, when they havent got a clue in the reasons why it's a so called 'bad movie'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top film!, 18 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be one of the greatest gangster movies ever made, which follows the rise and ultimate downfall of Tony Montana a young Cuban who chases the American dream and finds it to be a nightmare. The fact that the film has been described as violent, cold and morally bankrupt is the very reason to watch this masterpiece, which pits Montana against the system he so succinctly describes in saying "first you get the money, then you get the power, then you get the women". The huge backdrops, buildings, awful clothes and terrible music seem to magnify what a small and helpless character Montana is in the scheme of things. Al Pacino does a fantastic job playing the ambitious Montana, and does it with such gusto you believe he is Cuban. The supporting cast are great, notably Robert Loggia. On my first viewing of the film I was so moved by it, that the dialogue has permanently seared itself into my brain. If you love a quotable movie, this is it. The film hijacks the TWA advertising blurb "the world is yours" for all the wrong reasons, which is repeated throughout the film especially in my favourite scene where Montana looks up to the night sky and see an airship emblazoned with the words. And finally you should really try Montana's chat up technique, its guaranteed to deliver you with a slap in the face, as my mate discovered in pub the other day. As the drug dealer said in Deep Cover "buy it!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still excellent after 30 years, 27 April 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I've just watched Scarface the 1983 remake of a 1930s classic and compared to modern films it holds its own in the cinematography and quality of the sound. It's basically the story of a Cuban refugee who's sucked into the crime underworld and ends up being a major cocaine dealer. Tony Montana is however basically a nice guy who loves his mother and sister but because most Cuban refugees had no trade or suitable occupation it was easy to be seduced by the dark side - so to speak. An excellent if long ( over two and a half hours ) film and be aware it's very violent even by modern standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Experience!, 3 Dec 2013
I'm not going to review the film as it's already well known what an epic masterpiece it is. It's influence on people is undeniable. I had seen the film many times before but seeing it on Blu Ray was the best experience. Add to that, the hours of bonus features the disc contains...it really is the best way to own Scarface! The world is yours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dan, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the scarface film and got this because it was blu ray so picture and sound are great. Inside the box is the film in a steel case, a money clip, scarface money and some pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say Hello To My Little Friend, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I dont really agree with this triple play concept because i believe if you want something on Bluray then chances are that you will not need the DVD. However i have downloaded the digital version on to my Samung S3 and can watch the classic scenes whenever i want.
The steelbook artwork cover looks amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film, 1 April 2013
By 
Peter B (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great film and this 3 in 1 set seems good value for money. I have previously found a digital copy of a film useful when travelling so pleased that one was included with this. Packaging also was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic., 25 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not much to say that hasn't already been said about this film. It's a classic rise and fall gangster flick. Ive always liked it and wanted a bluray copy. With regard to the triple play set my digital copy downloaded fine (march 2013) even though on the card it said code may not work after Sept 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scarface
Scarface by Brian De Palma
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews