Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SUPERIOR ROMANTIC THRILLER
Generally speaking, I'm not a great fan of remakes and stepping into Hollywood legend Steve McQueen's shoes in what many considered to be a classic film would perhaps seem like an odd career move. However, Pierce Brosnan pulls it off with great style and I would go as far to say that although Pierce Brosnan may never reach the iconic status of Hollywood wild man Steve...
Published on 20 Sep 2002 by Mr. N. Carnegie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good customer service
The DVD itself is not entirely satisfactory as towards the last 30 minutes of the film it keeps jumping and slipping, missing several words etc. I decided not to send back and live with it as I had rather a lot of trouble acquiring it in the first place. When I ordered it, as you can see, the cover was in English and I assumed wrongly that I would get an English...
Published 8 months ago by Jubby


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SUPERIOR ROMANTIC THRILLER, 20 Sep 2002
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Generally speaking, I'm not a great fan of remakes and stepping into Hollywood legend Steve McQueen's shoes in what many considered to be a classic film would perhaps seem like an odd career move. However, Pierce Brosnan pulls it off with great style and I would go as far to say that although Pierce Brosnan may never reach the iconic status of Hollywood wild man Steve McQueen, this movie not only easily surpasses what was an over-rated original but it was also one of the best cinematic releases of 1999.
The plot of the original movie has been given a total makeover. Whereas in the original 1968 version, Steve McQueen organised a $2 million bank robbery, in a very 60's blow against the system, Brosnan pulls off an art robbery single handed, walking out a museum with a Monet painting worth fifty times the amount. However, the essence of the original movie has been retained, and revolves around a tough-nosed female insurance investigator conducting an ambiguous love affair (Rene Russo) with millionaire playboy Thomas Crown (Pierce Brosnan), whilst at the same time trying to trap her seemingly uncatchable quarry.
Conceived as a star vehicle between Bond movies by Pierce Brosnan's very own Dreamtime Films as the perfect vehicle for his 007-buffed persona, the script underwent several rewrites, including ditching the script that later became the rival and disappointing Sean Connery/Catherine Zeta Jones movie 'Entrapment'. And whereas Steve McQueen was surprisingly entirely cast against type in the 1968 original, the role of rugged bored playboy Thomas Crown fits Brosnan to an absolute tee. It is also to Director John McTiernan and Pierce Brosnan's credit that (the then) 45 year old Russo was cast opposite Brosnan in the role originally made famous by Faye Dunaway, unlike the ridiculous and almost sickening pairing of Grandfather Sean Connery and the young enough to be his granddaughter Catherine Zeta Jones in rival production 'Entrapment'. Russo looks wonderful for her age and the sexual chemistry between her and Brosnan is excellent. As for John McTiernan (the top notch action Director behind such successful movies as Die Hard, Predator and The Hunt For Red October, Die Hard With A Vengeance) he doesn't try to copy the original in any way shape or form and thankfully avoids the split screen gimmickery of the original and instead replaces it with a much more glossy, snappy and modern style perfect for the movie.
All in all this is an excellent caper movie with plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing and keep you happy. Well worth watching and well worth owning, this is one of the first titles I bought on DVD and if you haven't seen it, I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, Classy, and Sexy, 11 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This is a mature, smart, and sexy film done with flair and is simply put, classy entertainment. This is a refreshing movie where brains prevail over braun, and ultimately, love pervails over possessions. We the viewer are treated to a stylish cat and mouse caper movie where we spend most of the film trying to figure out who is the cat and who is the mouse. Billionaire Thomas Crown (Pierce Brosnan) sets in motion a complex game of chess with top notch insurance investigator Catherine Banning (Rene Russo) when he steals a priceless painting and she is hired to get it back.
Brosnan takes his "Remington Steele" persona and shades it darker and more serious, the end result being the smart and dangerous Thomas Crown, a guy who needs to play this game of chess to feel alive. But when the beautiful Russo begins to match him knight for knight he becomes intrigued with her, the prize no longer being the painting, but the heart. Russo's Catherine is mature, intelligent, and so sexy she burns up the screen.
Denis Leary has a nice turn as the cop who realizes Catherine may be in over her head with Crown and in danger of losing everything. Faye Dunaway, who starred with the wonderful Steve McQueen in the origional film, portrays a psychiatrist trying to get at Crown's psyche and brings a lovely echo of the former film with her.

Brosnan produced this film as well and though he has updated the bank robbery of the origional to art theft he has paid homage to it by using "The Windmills of Your Mind" from the origional score. This is not your typical movie fare but after seeing it you'll wish it were. It is classy, intelligent and sexy. Why it got ignored around Oscar time is beyond my comprehension. It is smartly written and stylishly filmed. When the passion between Catherine and Crown turns to love for Russo the possibility of her being destroyed by Brosnan adds tension and melancholy to the final moments of this film.
This terrific film is like dining out with expensive wine and lobster in lavish surroundings. So pull up a chair and enjoy a night out to remember.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So brilliant in every way, 21 Nov 2010
A very rare thing, a remake that's as good as the original.
Even the Sting version of Windmills is mesmerising and is the whole jazz score.
Incredible movie and vastly underrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charismatic remake, 18 July 2001
By 
Prospero77 "Prosp77" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came to this film without seeing the original and was immediately captivated.The word is 'style'and whether it's Brosnan,the exchanges with Russo or the subtle symbiosis of location and musak-the film put a hook into me.There is no 'blow you to pieces'climaxing just a steady constant of elegance and style.A likeable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent remake, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can you say about the Thomas crown affair that's not been said already, well if you buy the amazon prime version the video quality is good to excellent yet there are some shots especially of ny streets that you can notice the bit rate e.g static on the screen this isn't evident on the blu-ray version so if you want the best quality still get the physical copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smart, sexy stylish thriller - amazing blu ray disc, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Far superior to the Steve McQueen version. A rollercoaster plot beautifully acted and cleverly staged. It also happens to be a damn fine disc. Sharp as a pin and deep colours that glow. On top of this, an involved DTS HD surround track. Go on treat yoursel. Makes one wonder why some discs can look and sound as good as this one and others, even major releases from major stdios, look so s***?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Sides of the Same Coin?, 3 Mar 2013
Warning: Contains spoilers.

I've found both the Steve McQueen and Pierce Brosnan versions of The Thomas Crown Affair to be highly enjoyable and eminently-watchable films. Both are stylish, elegant and reflect the social, sartorial and cinematographical eras in which they were filmed, witness the low-key, but highly-charged, chess sequence between Steve McQueen and Faye Dunaway versus the steamy, naked romp between Pierce Brosnan and Rene Russo. The latter is sexy in an obvious way, of course, but somehow you can't picture the King of Cool allowing himself or, for that matter, Faye Dunaway to resort to such tactics.

Steve McQueen is always a very tough act to follow but Pierce Brosnan and his Irish Dreamtime company approached the project with affection for the original and it does show through, I think.

The upgrading of the bank heist into an art gallery theft is inspired and handled very cleverly by John McTiernan and is perhaps a more believable prospect for a bored, hugely-wealthy business tycoon to embark upon than bank robbery. It certainly lends the Brosnan film a more artistic (literally) and cultural platform for both leads to play off.

One key thing I've noticed is that both films seem to fall, review-wise, into that category of 'style over substance' (as applied to other 'caper' films eg. The Italian Job). However, I think there is more to the characterisation in these films than they are given credit for. Perhaps it gets a little lost in the sumptuous visuals and wealthy, stylish living cues so well portrayed in both these films.

The essence of the two lead roles (in either film) is that they are both similarly-'driven' characters who aim to get what they want and always do. "Always get your man? Think you'll get me?" Faye and Rene respectively both have this quality as do Steve and Pierce and neither of the two protagonists are prepared to lose.

So, like the 'irresistible force meeting the immovable object', what will ensue when these two meet and form an attraction? Which one will yield? Can either one do so? Because it's very much the tale of the frog and the scorpion crossing the river.

Steve McQueen lays the trap for Faye Dunaway and tips her off about the second heist. He guesses she won't be able to help herself and that, armed with that information, she'll behave true to her nature, which, of course, is what she does and, also, what he would do himself. Thus he doesn't show up at the cemetery at the climax of the film. She wins in that she recovers the money in her professional capacity but 'loses' McQueen (and to a sizeable degree herself) in doing so. The paradox of her emotions is tangible (and very well acted) in her face as she tears up the telegram from McQueen. On the plane, McQueen smiles wryly but (and it is there in his face) sadly, since he knows what they've both lost, i.e. each other. The poignancy of their loss is palpable to us, the audience.

Pierce and Rene do likewise but, in my opinion, cave in to the latter-day Hollywood 'mantra' that audiences must always exit the cinema 'happy-happy' and thus Pierce and Rene end up together and presumably live happily ever after (in the process, getting married, raising a family, finally learning to trust each other and every other member of the human race for as long as they both shall live - HA!!)).

Thus, the McQueen/Dunaway version carries that extra touch of gravitas over the Brosnan/Russo version, not just in accurately reflecting the true nature of the two leading roles in the story but also in encouraging us to look a little (at least) into our own individual natures once the film's finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Crown Affair - re-made well, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ultra cool performance from Pierce which compliments the original role of Steve McQueen. Both films will be classics in the future but both can be enjoyed in their own right.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Crown Affair, 30 April 2011
In my opinion this version is even better than the original ! I liked the original, and Steve McQueen but somehow this version has more, with Rene Russo definately adding to the glamour factor.
I think that this version flows better and is more credible as a story. Pierce Brosnan (Thomas Crown) 'borrows' a specific painting in order to attract the attention of the insurance investigator of the company insuring the painting, played by Rene Russo.
It is a really good well thought out story which I have watched several times, each time seeming to pick up on a new nuance in the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining stuff, 23 Oct 2010
By 
T. Finnegan "ranita25" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is hot stuff: sexy and highly entertaining.. Good plot, great characters..
Absolutely loved Renee Russo's sassy, smart, tough "bounty hunter" - more than a match for Pierce Brosnan's elegant, suave, businessman with a naughty side, the man who has it all..
Great chemistry between the leads, and liked Frankie Faison and Denis Leary's detectives..
The soundtrack kicks ass..
I still watch this film, now and then.. Still entertains me..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thomas Crown Affair
Thomas Crown Affair by John Mctiernan
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews