Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny!
It made us laugh! Some great lines & Jonah Hill plays that character well! The youngest child is very good too!
Published 9 months ago by Mr Alex L Howard

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOAH IS A HOT NAME
The movie starts out as a bad sex comedy. Jonah Hill stars as Noah Griffith, a slightly nerdy, obese young adult who peddles a bicycle. In the opening scene he is performing oral services for a pretty blond girl (Ari Graynor) who believes fat guys do it best, however she won't return the favor as she claims she has a touch of food poisoning. She is a coke slut loved by...
Published 16 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOAH IS A HOT NAME, 20 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Sitter [DVD] (DVD)
The movie starts out as a bad sex comedy. Jonah Hill stars as Noah Griffith, a slightly nerdy, obese young adult who peddles a bicycle. In the opening scene he is performing oral services for a pretty blond girl (Ari Graynor) who believes fat guys do it best, however she won't return the favor as she claims she has a touch of food poisoning. She is a coke slut loved by Noah.

Mom (Jessica Hecht) coerces Noah into babysitting for the neighbor (Erin Daniels). The kids are a 13 year old boy with responsibility issues, an eight year old girl going on 16, and an adopted kid from El Salvador who acts like he is part of a cartel. Noah is irresponsible as this turns into an "Adventures in Babysitting" adult comedy as he attempts to score some cocaine for his "girlfriend" who has promised him real sex in return.

As I watched the movie for the first time, I had the feeling I have seen this before. Predictable, trite, and mostly unfunny. A "me-too" comedy. A lower tier rental at best. Go watch Harold and Kumar instead.

F-bomb, sex talk, no nudity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars On the plus side, it's only an hour and twenty minutes long, 9 Jun 2014
By 
Andrew Bowden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sitter (DVD)
Rather lazy "comedy" full of stereotypes (gender and racial), nonsensical plot and rather recycled and rehashed jokes. If you're expecting a belly laugh, you probably won't get it.

On the plus side, it's only an hour and twenty minutes long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor, 6 May 2014
This review is from: The Sitter (Amazon Instant Video)
Overall a very disappointing film. The characters are weak and character development is virtually non exsitant. Not really funny save for Jonah Hill's naturally funny personality, laughed twice throughout the whole movie. Did not enjoy and would not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A last resort flick, 21 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Sitter (Amazon Instant Video)
This is a puerile, largely unfunny comedy. One or two lines stand out as immediately quotable and laugh out loud, but overall it's laboured, messy and childish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not one of Jonah Hill's better movies!, 8 July 2014
This review is from: The Sitter (Amazon Instant Video)
Definitely not one of Jonah Hill's better movies! Mildly amusing but plot-line is weak and the laughs are way to obvious to be funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor, 16 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Sitter (Amazon Instant Video)
I think Jonah Hill is one of the best and funny actors around just now. However this movie is mediocre at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny!, 23 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Sitter (Amazon Instant Video)
It made us laugh! Some great lines & Jonah Hill plays that character well! The youngest child is very good too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Candy for my girlfriend...., 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Sitter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
So Jonah Hill is a babysitter.

Thats the premise of the film, and somebody bought that idea.

It's basically a very very lose homage to 'Adventures in Babysitting' or 'A Night On The Town' depending where you live.

Hill is babysitting three children all with issues, and his girlfriend asks him to get him some 'powder' and in return, she will make him a man.

He meets Sam Rockwell, one of the kids steals some more 'powder' and hilarity ensues.

It's good that Hill is a good screen presence as he really saves the movie from being completely over the top and mediocre.

His character is likable enough for you to actually care about his situation, and the children are kooky enough to provide a few laughs.

The only real problem is with Rockwells villain, who like the majority of villains in comedies has a weird trait. His is making best friends and putting them in a list. It's not funny and gets annoying very quickly.

All in all it's diverting, and doesn't out stay it's welcome being just shy of 80 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the sitter, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sitter (Amazon Instant Video)
although i enjoyed this film i was upset to find out by email that i had been charged £9.99. i pressed watch now i didnt want to buy? i dont like this new system where i love film is connected with my amazon account. hence i have cancelled my subscription and will be going back to netflix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too predictable and not funny, 8 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: The Sitter (Amazon Instant Video)
I like to watch good thought provoking films but I am also all for trashy vegetative state inducing comedies. I love any Jonah hill/Seth Rogan comedy but this was simply not funny and depressingly predictable, halfway through I actually found myself thinking "Why am I still watching this?!" Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sitter
The Sitter by David Gordon Green
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews