Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good....But it doesnt tell you the full story
I was reasonably impressed with "Notorious" and i can honestly say i liked the film. Me being a huge Biggie Smalls fan was eager to watch the movie, so i could find out more about the man and his background.

I thought the acting was spot on, especially by Jamal Woodward who plays the Notorious B.I.G and Naturi Naughton who plays Lil Kim.

However i...
Published on 1 July 2010 by A92

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent but hard to tell fiction from truth
A decent enough film, that charts Biggy Smalls life, but over stylizes the glamour and cuts very quickly through documented detail.

This is quite an interesting story and could have had a lot more scenes, and a bit more grit.

It is full of bad language, sex and occasional violence, but nothing too shocking.

As a tribute to a hip hop artist...
Published 11 months ago by chelios1981


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good....But it doesnt tell you the full story, 1 July 2010
By 
A92 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I was reasonably impressed with "Notorious" and i can honestly say i liked the film. Me being a huge Biggie Smalls fan was eager to watch the movie, so i could find out more about the man and his background.

I thought the acting was spot on, especially by Jamal Woodward who plays the Notorious B.I.G and Naturi Naughton who plays Lil Kim.

However i thought the movie portrayed Tupac Shakur in a bad light and it seemed to me like the producers tried to make him the villain. From my research i know that there was a misunderstanding and that 2Pac thought Biggie "set him up", the first time Pac got shot in 1995, however this case has been denied.

Also there were parts in the movie which were inaccurate. For example

1) When Biggie see's the news report that 2Pac had died, he was watching it in his house. Biggie always claimed that he was in the studio recoding a song when this happened.

2) When 2Pac got shot the first time, Biggie and all his friends all jumped in the lift straight away to aid 2Pac. However in real life Biggie claimed that when Lil Cease told him Pac got shot downstairs, they did not get up straight away as they thought he was lying.

3) Lil Cease (Biggie's cousin) does not grow up !!

Overall apart from these small issues, i think that the movie is very good and i acknowledge that they had to cut a few scenes out to make it more commercial. I would 100% recommend watching it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jessilou, 5 Feb 2011
I think the film is great, however I wouldn't recommend as a family DVD as there is scenes of violence and abusive language. However it is an extremely good film, it maps out the life of Christopher Wallace (Biggie Smalls/Notorious) and shows his way up to his high rap career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100% good, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie is so good I watched this film so much times that's how good this movie is thanks amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply superb, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally caught this on TV one night and was hugely impressed... Stellar performances all round from the cast and the extras give a fascinating insight into how the film was put together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Laughable, 4 Oct 2013
This review is from: Notorious [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Caught this movie on film4 recently n all I can say is that they wasted a big opportunity to tell an interesting story about the life of biggie smalls. the film is really terrible both tonally and visually and the acting was so bad by the lead character that I found myself sniggering in disbelief on more than one occasion. not for me this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent but hard to tell fiction from truth, 10 Sep 2013
By 
A decent enough film, that charts Biggy Smalls life, but over stylizes the glamour and cuts very quickly through documented detail.

This is quite an interesting story and could have had a lot more scenes, and a bit more grit.

It is full of bad language, sex and occasional violence, but nothing too shocking.

As a tribute to a hip hop artist it paints a picture of a very complex life, full of hangers on, trying to be an onstage swearing thug image and being a (albeit unfaithful) family man.

Not the best biopic, but certainly the man lived a crazy, full life in his short time if even a small percent of what happens is true.

Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good movie, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good movie and it shows the life of BIG and it shows BIGGIES version of what habend when tupac got shot the first time
so good movie
R:I:P TUPAC
R:I:P BIGGIE
there music will always live on
SO buy it if you want to see a good movie with fealings and struggle and about never giving up
ALWAYS GO THE STARS if you dont get the stars or your dream then at least you tryed
NEVER GIVE UP MY BROTHER OR SISTER AND WHEN IT GETS HARD KEEP YOUR HEAD UP AND TRY TO SMILE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NOTORIOUS!!, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its the B.I.G story, no more to say! Hold up...there it is!! Come on Fey Fey...liar!! NOTORIOUS, NO, NO, NOTORIOUS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love itt, 19 May 2013
This film is amazing absolutely loved it! Makes you realise just because things don't go the direction you thought they would you could still end up where you wanted to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd s, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this item was choosen by my grand son as a christmas gift. I am hoping it lives up to his expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Notorious
Notorious by George Tillman Jr.
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews