Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming, and full of acting talent
I watched this film expecting little - another Jennifer "Rachel Green" Aniston vehicle or something. In the end, I was enchanted by it. Aniston seems really comfortable in the role of Nina, a character who you come to like straight away for her warmth, openness and wit. Paul Rudd is also excellent as George, Nina's gay flatmate. The film uses his...
Published on 2 Jan 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed
The book was great - my son recommended it to me. The characters were fabulous,the relationship between the two main characters funny, heartwarming and believable was the focus of the entire book. This failed to come across in the video.forget video order book instead.The Object of My Affection
Published on 25 Aug 2010 by T


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming, and full of acting talent, 2 Jan 2001
By A Customer
I watched this film expecting little - another Jennifer "Rachel Green" Aniston vehicle or something. In the end, I was enchanted by it. Aniston seems really comfortable in the role of Nina, a character who you come to like straight away for her warmth, openness and wit. Paul Rudd is also excellent as George, Nina's gay flatmate. The film uses his homosexuality as a part of the plot and nothing more, with George seeking love, friendships and stability in the same way as everyone else - this approach is a breath of fresh air and should help dispel some misconceptions and prejudices.
However, I was most impressed, perhaps unsurprisingly, by the performance of Nigel Hawthorne. His portrayal of the ageing, rejected and yet dignified art critic is superb, and many of his scenes are the most thought-provoking. He truly is the cream of the acting profession.
The film is basically a feel-good movie, delivering a fairly predictable (and yet satisfying) ending. Issues such as parental obligations, break-ups and of course homosexuality are subtley dealt with, and are easily applicable to males and females, gays and straights. You will be utterley absorbed in the lives of Nina and George, and wanting nothing more than for these two dear people to find a solution to their problems.
A charming film, totally believable and thoroughly engrossing, I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than a Friends star vehicle, 3 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Jennifer Aniston plays Nina, a social worker who falls in lover with her best friend George (Paul Rudd). George likes Nina too but there is just one problem...... George is gay. Things are complicated further by the friends' pact that George will bring up Nina's unborn baby with her. This agreement works well up to a point. George continues to go out and meet guys as the two of them have agreed- but Nina falls deeper in love with George and finds that she is jealous. George and Nina have to decide if the arrangement can continue or if it must cease.
This may sound like either a TV movie or a message lead film that is 'preaching'to the audience but thanks to its winning script and beautifully played turns by Jennifer Aniston (this is easily her best role to date) and Paul Rudd (previously best known for Clueless)- The Object Of My Affection ends up being touching and heart warming but at the same time deals with the central issue with delicacy and poignancy rather than in a sensationalist way.
This is more than you average rom-com. It asks provocative questions and answers them without being patronising- unlike the inferior movie on a similar theme, "The Next Best Thing."
If you like Jennifer Aniston then this film is for you- but ultimately this is so much more than a "Friends" star vehicle. It is a romantic comedy with a slight edge which dares to say that gay men cannot turn straight just because they get on well with women. It also contains laughter, tears and a superb soundtrack.
If you saw The Next Best Thing and are expecting much of the same, forget it. The Object Of My Affection is a delightful film that on the surface looks like an 'average' romantic comedy but it offers you so much more- if you let it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will Make You Laugh And Cry!, 17 Oct 2004
We always loved Jennifer Aniston when she was Rachael in 'Friends' but now that the highly successful American comedy series has finished Jennifer has gone into making films and this, i think is one of her best so far.
She plays Nina Borowski a female social worker who is pretty unhappy in her life with her boyfriend Vince. Things start to change however when she invites George, a good looking school teacher to stay with her after his partner leaves him. They get on like a house on fire and soon Nina reveals that she does in fact have feelings for him. The only problem with this is that George is gay!. When nina becomes pregnant she leaves Vince, and asks George to be the baby's father, to which he agrees. With Vince still on the scene and George with a new boyfriend, theres bound to be trouble.
Although Jennifer Aniston is very good as the lovely Nina, lets not forget the rest of the cast which are also very good. Paul Rudd is brilliant as George the gay school teacher whom Nina falls in love with when he moves in with her. John Pankow is good as Vince, Nina's boyfriend whom she dumps when she falls pregnant with his baby. Originally this role was to be played by Stephen Baldwin, however after just one day of shooting he was replaced with Pankow, due to 'creative differences'.
Overall, 'The Object Of My Affection' really a brillaint film that will make you laugh and cry and is just totally enjoyable for fans of all genres to enjoy. If your looking for a good film to watch on a Saturday night with some friends and some popcorn, then this romantic comedy ought to be just the thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional feel good Movie, 11 Dec 2000
By A Customer
As this film has become my favourite film I am a tad biased. However if you like Jennifer Anniston (aka Rachel from Friends genre) and Paul Rudd (from clueless and a brief appearance in Romeo & Juliet). You will warm to the characters immediately. The epitome of wanting and admiring what in reality you can't have. Dim the lights, get the chocs and a good bottle of wine. A brilliant feel-good movie which evokes all manner of emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as I thought it would be, 29 Jan 2002
By A Customer
I read the book of The Object of my Affection before I saw the film and I have to say that I had pretty high standards as I sat there and waited for it to come on. I also have to say that it met, and went past, all of those standards. It's a brilliant film, and Jennifer Aniston and Paul Rudd played Nina and George really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful film with incredible acting., 11 May 2014
This review is from: The Object Of My Affection (Amazon Instant Video)
The story line was perfect and moved at the correct pace. It was so easy to become engaged and empathetic towards Nina and George's situation with brilliant acting from both Jennifer and Paul. I loved the way the film ended! Overall a lovely heart warming movie that will leave you feeling happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is such a lovely movie and beautifully acted by Jennifer Aniston and Paul Rudd. Makes me weep each time I watch it. In reality this kind of situation would be so sad and would be a real heartbreaker....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely film, a must see!, 3 Jan 2013
This film is amazing, I love the chemistry that is shown on screen from both Paul Rudd and Jennifer Aniston. It's a heartwarming story that takes place mostly in Brooklyn about the complications of relationships, marriage and love. 5/5 funny, heartwarming and relatable at times. LOVE IT :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Object of My Affection, 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It came a day earlier than its estimated arrival date. It is a funny, heartwarming, emotional and romantic film. It is a must see! Jennifer Aniston and Paul Rudd are superb in the lead roles of Nina and George. An outstanding cast. I would highly recommend it to any rom - com film lovers. It deserves it's five star rating that I gave it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 6 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my favourite films i love Jennifer Anniston & Paul Rudd in it. Definately worth watching. It will make you laugh and cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Object Of My Affection
The Object Of My Affection by Nicholas Hytner
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews