Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing!
Not having even seen a trailer for this movie, I didn't know what to expect when I sat down to watch it - what I got was a total surprise - and I really enjoyed it! PLus, I am not going to write a scene by scene review of the movie and analyse the plot - why spoil the viewing for someone else?

Even though the three main characters gain superhero powers this is...
Published on 1 Jun. 2012 by ElaineG

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but could have been better
This is an interesting variation on the superhero theme. Mild spoilers ahead.
Where as superhero movies will generally only spend a little time on the transition that the character goes through when discovering their powers, in order to get to the part where they realise they need to use them responsibly to fight bad guys, this film makes that transition and learning...
Published 5 months ago by dajarvis


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing!, 1 Jun. 2012
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Not having even seen a trailer for this movie, I didn't know what to expect when I sat down to watch it - what I got was a total surprise - and I really enjoyed it! PLus, I am not going to write a scene by scene review of the movie and analyse the plot - why spoil the viewing for someone else?

Even though the three main characters gain superhero powers this is definite not a superhero movie- which makes a great change, because you can see too many of the "fights against evil" type movie. Imagine three normal teenage guys who develop superhuman powers and what they would use those powers for. The results are very "realistic", human and emotional at times but to say more, would spoil the movie for anyone else.

It is a clever fast paced plot with good special effects, some great dialogue and performances with Dane Dehaan in particular as Andrew, the guy with a dreadful home life who everyone thinks is a loser, really coming across well - you certainly start to feel for him right from the first scene. Although the film is not always an easy one to watch, some of the scenes being quite moving, it does have some funny moments and I laughed out loud several times, my son laughing even more - the supermarket scene in particular was great comedy.

To sum up, it is a great little film with some unexpected surprises along the way, one definitely worth getting the popcorn out for and you will be glued to it.

Extras include: pre-visualisation FX work of two scenes; actors' camera test and the cinema trailer. There is also a digital copy to enable you to watch the movie on ipad, iphone, tablet or android phone (with instructions on how to transfer from pc or mac). NB: We haven't tried the digital copy - nothing compatible to play it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Found footage is fun again, 4 Oct. 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chronicle [DVD] (DVD)
I guess it was inevitable that the superhero flick would eventually meet the found footage genre and I think they really nailed it with Chronicle.

The set up is brief and pretty effective - three guys at a party find a glowing something or other buried under the ground. They touch it, it appears to give them certain superpowers (obviously) and they each suddenly have telekinesis, flight and more at their disposal. What exactly it is that they they found and how/why it's had this effect on them doesn't seem to overly matter......

Early on one of the characters, Andrew (Dane Dehaan), sets up the conceit that he is now filming himself and his friends/enemies on a regular basis so what follows is his video diary of sorts of the boys playing with their new found traits and seeing how far they can push them. As it turns out, some are prepared to push further than others and the plot spins on from there.

Directed by Josh Trank who apparently will soon be trying his hand at a Star Wars flick, there's plenty of imagination and wit on offer here. There's a clear character progression as things move along and escalate, moving towards a fantastic, city wide smackdown. Most of the film is shot on just a couple of handheld cameras but for the climax the rules are bent as various other cameras are used - bystanders phones, CCTV, police, news stations all capture the action. Bit of a cheat perhaps but it works well enough to get away with it.

Overall, I thought this was a quality piece of work. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, something that stands apart from the rest., 15 July 2014
This review is from: Chronicle (Amazon Instant Video)
Personally I thought this film was great, the idea behind it is frankly genius yet simple: A realistic take on an overused genre - the superhero. This film deals in emotion, camaraderie and coming of age themes in a way that you can truly relate to and believe. The hand-held camera angle is also very cleverly done...it brings added realism and an intimacy to the film that makes you feel closer to; and more understanding of, the characters themselves, rather than just an observer. Overall a very good film I do recommend seeing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'THE POWERS THEY HAVE STUMBLED ACROSS ARE DIFFICULT TO CONTOL', 27 Sept. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The film tells the tale of three high-school teens, 'Andrew'(Dane DeHaan) 'Matt'(Alex Russell) and 'Steve'(Michael B.Jordan)
'Andrew' ( the camcorder owner ) has a pretty difficult home life with his mother seriously ill, and a father who has turned to drink.
The three lads discover a hole in the ground that wasn't previously there, they investigate it, and find a mysterious object at the end of a tunnel leading from the hole they had clambered down.
All three find they have new powers, at first it's fun, they use the powers to confuse the unsuspecting public.
They find they can do many unusual things as the powers grow, however it does lead to tragedy.
The power takes control of 'Andrew' as the tale takes an even darker turn.
Must admit like an earlier reviewer i'm not a great fan of the camcorder style movies, and in truth struggled during the early part of the film, found it slow, however the story does pick up during the second third leading to an interesting yet obvious conclusion.
worth a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A unique and complex superhero tragedy in which there are no heroes or villains, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember watching a short trailer of this movie years ago on YouTube. And, after watching it, I immediately wanted to get myself a copy of the DVD. For me, Chronicle really stood out from most of the other superhero movies I've watched up until then (e.g. Batman, Spiderman, Iron Man, The Avengers, etc.), because it's a superhero movie without superheroes.

Chronicle focuses on the misadventures of three high-school teenagers (i.e. Andrew, Matt and Steve) who accidentally gain the powers of psychokinesis and levitation upon discovering a mysterious crystal underground. At first, they experiment with their newly-found powers for harmless fun and games. However, they quickly come to terms with the consequences of their powers (e.g. after a car crash accident caused by Andrew) and struggle to find a way to keep them under control. Eventually, things take a turn for the worse when troubled protagonist Andrew is gradually overwhelmed by his personal anxieties (e.g. dying mother, abusive alcoholic father, etc.).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With great power comes great irresponsibility, 5 Jun. 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When found footage movies first started they involved grainy black and white film footage. But film technology has moved on a lot since then in real life. So thankfully here's a footage movie which realises that and moves with the times. Everything is digital and in colour.

And seen - mostly - via the camera belonging to a teenager called Andrew. High school kid. Friendless. Sick mother. Frustrated father who takes his anger out on his son. Living in a neighbourhood that could be better.

Andrew gets lifts to school from his popular and with it cousin Matt. A school where popular and charismatic kid Steve is running for class president. Andrew buys a camera to record details of his life. And having one comes in handy when Steve finds something strange in a field and needs someone to record what they see.

All this character introduction and background is done pretty quickly but the film hits the ground running and does command the attention from the off. What the three find and record leads to them getting special powers. There is a big jump between the discovery and the dawning of the powers which does seem a little jarring at the time but you do quickly get over that.

They use their powers for fun. And it brings the three very close together. But when the fun stops, will his new abilities change Andrew's life for the better? Or the worse?

It's not found footage as such because everything is seen via footage from recording equipment, and some is security cameras in addition to Andrew's camera. But this - and one clever device storytelling wise - do get past the old problem of the audience never getting to see the character who is doing the recording in a neat manner.

Chronicle isn't just about original ideas in presenting this kind of movie though. It's also not a superhero film. It's a character drama. Considering in a realistic manner what might happen to someone such as Andrew if put in this situation. And as a character drama it is a compelling and memorable watch. Everything that happens comes as a result of character actions. The story develops in a believable manner. And manages to resolve itself pretty neatly also. Acting from the three leads is excellent throughout.

The end does drop hints about possible sequels, but they wouldn't be necessary. Because this is fine as it is. A strong character drama with an original premise and execution. All of which makes it a very memorable watch.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English.

English audio captioned.

The disc begins with a couple of trailers but you can skip those via the next button on the dvd remote.

It has a digital copy that can be downloaded into other digital media.

Only extras are:

Pre visualisation: computer animated versions of storyboards for two key scenes. This runs for eight minutes in total.

Actors camera test: an early effort from some of the cast at acting out one key scene.

The original cinema trailer for the film.

And a link to a website that gives further details of the film's score and how to get a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but could have been better, 23 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Chronicle (DVD)
This is an interesting variation on the superhero theme. Mild spoilers ahead.
Where as superhero movies will generally only spend a little time on the transition that the character goes through when discovering their powers, in order to get to the part where they realise they need to use them responsibly to fight bad guys, this film makes that transition and learning process the bulk of the film. This makes for some interesting scenes as the three main characters, who develop their powers after an unexplained encounter with a generic alien object, experiment and learn what they can do.
I think the film is let down by two major reasons. It is entirely shot from the point of view of cameras that the characters hold or media and surveillance cameras. I think this shooting style, while interesting the first time you see it in a film, quickly becomes annoying and contrived when extending it throughout the whole film. The filmmakers have to crowbar in reasons for characters to be filming and it just feels unreal. Obviously, with the title being Chronicle, the filmmakers want to give the viewer the sense of a historic event being recorded but I think the technique is unnecessary. You could have filmed this in a more orthodox style and it still made a great movie. Maybe it might have worked if the main character had a compelling need to be filming things, or a love of filming, but he just winds up with a camera near the beginning and announces to his friend that he's "filming things now" or something like that, again, contrived. I think it's natural they'd want to record events but why not just film them filming each other and maybe use the first person shots now and then. They're making the 'Chronicle' a focus of the film when the much more interesting concept is how people react to new found power.
This leads to the second major fault, I just didn't care about the characters enough. I found them, and their sniggering teenage world, irritating a lot of the time. The main character is given heavy handed motivation to become what he does later in the film. Why does he need an alcoholic Dad and an ailing Mother to be mad with the world? Just being bullied would be enough at that age.
A plot device such as the main character needing to see a therapist, as in Donnie Darko, might have been a way to explore some of the interesting themes in more detail.
Having said that, I gave this three stars because it is entertaining in it's visual effects and the vicarious thrill of seeing a common fantasy played out on screen. There is some drama there as well, as the characters are confronted with the possible consequences of their actions.
Dane DeHaan, though sometimes irritating in this, looks like he's got loads of acting ability, as does Michael B. Jordan, who people might recognise as Wallace from the first season of The Wire. It's just a shame they don't get to do more here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Super-Hero Movie. Not like others available!, 29 May 2012
As a super-hero movie lover, I really really enjoyed this, even with it being different to the other films in this particular style! It's interesting to learn more about the characters from seeing things from their point of view (literally with the 'hand held' camera style of filming). It made me laugh, it made me scared and most of all it made me think. Don't underestimate this as a 'teen movie', as it's so much more than that and suitable for all ages!
So worth a watch and definitely worth a tenner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant, 8 May 2012
By 
R. A. Davison (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Chronicle is what you might call a "sleeper hit". I'd never heard of its director Josh Trank, or its three young male stars, I got a huge surprise when I realised that Michael B. Jordan who plays Steve had in fact played Wallace, one of the tragic young drug dealers in The Wire, he's virtually unrecognisable having gone through puberty. In addition, I neither heard or saw any publicity about this film, and my attention was only drawn to it by my Twitter friends, who had seen it or were planning to.

Chronicle is the story of a teenager who begins chronicling his life with a video camera : a sad, abusive home with a dying mother and alcoholic father, and a high school experience in which he is only spoken to negatively, Andrew is a classic film loner, but somehow doesn't feel like a cliche. This film follows in the wake of such films as The Blair Witch Project and Cloverfield as a "found footage" movie, in which what we see on screen has been "filmed by Andrew" through his camera.

One night at a rave, Andrew's cousin Matt and popular boy Steve ask Andrew to film a strange glowing object they've found in a field. After this encounter, all three boys discover they have the ability of telekinesis, and that the strength of this ability grows the more they use it.

What is good about this film is the realism with which the three boys use their sudden gift, to play tricks, get girls, and to have new experiences, unlike Superman or Spiderman they don't care about saving the world, only about their own advantages. As Andrew's gifts begin to surpass even those of his friends, his dark life causes a dark side and he begins to develop a God complex.

What I learned from Chronicle is that I may be a teenage boy stuck in a woman's body! I've had suspicions about this before. I loved it, absolutely loved it from start to finish. I thought it was brilliant. The audience in the showing I was in was largely comprised of teenage boys, and you could feel the love for the film, the enjoyment of it, in the room. In addition the script is often very humorous, the dialogue between the three boys is incredibly authentic. The various ways they use their capabilities are also incredibly fun.

Sure the denouement is possibly a bit melodramatic and bordering on silly, but with a power so great you can do anything and an anger to match, what wouldn't you do?

A popcorn movie that is in the vein of Attack The Block but slicker and smarter I really recommend this great little film. Sure, it's not high brow or "important" but it's a really great example of just pure entertainment and thrills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicle [DVD] (DVD)
Again bought as gift and first comment was "this is not very good " but after second watch a different story emerged worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chronicle
Chronicle by Josh Trank
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews