Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dracula ressurrected in Brazil
The moment I received my restored version of HORROR OF DRACULA in my home in Sao Paulo, Brazil, I called on the phone some special old friends of mine. They were High School companions who saw the movie with me in the 50's. They came to my place with their wives for a Reunion after so many years. It was also the occasion to screen this classic movie in the glorious...
Published 18 months ago by McColl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Who Put the Ham in Hammer?
Perhaps more than a little dated over 50 years on, Dracula remains a milestone in the Hammer catalogue and indeed in the history of British horror. Despite the fact that Hammer continually found ways to restore the count at the beginning of any of the subsequent sequels, the disintegration scene at the end of this one is still by far the best finale although I believe...
Published 2 months ago by Eddie


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dracula ressurrected in Brazil, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The moment I received my restored version of HORROR OF DRACULA in my home in Sao Paulo, Brazil, I called on the phone some special old friends of mine. They were High School companions who saw the movie with me in the 50's. They came to my place with their wives for a Reunion after so many years. It was also the occasion to screen this classic movie in the glorious original colours with all the splendour of a digital image. When we finally came to the last scene, there was a wonderful déjà-vu sensation among us. We have been watching one more time the disintegrating face of Dracula, just as it was shown at movie Theatres in Brazil 54 years ago. What happened with this movie, occurred with many other Hammer pictures which were shown originally in our Country without the usual censored cuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


122 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye-witness account, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Magnus (Tokyo, Japan) - See all my reviews
I'm truly astounded to read reviews of a Blu-ray written BEFORE the film has even been released - especially the one which damns the film based purely on misleading screen-grabs and pre-emptive complaints from people with an obvious axe to grind posted on the net.

Of the reviewers here, with the exception of Matt and myself, I believe that no one else has actually watched the Blu-ray - so how they feel entitled to post a review is beyond me.

I was the person who found the extra footage in Japan and so, like Matt, I was sent a review copy which I have watched several times.

My verdict? Magnificent.
Well done Hammer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fangtastic extras included are ...., 13 Mar 2013
By 
J. Rae (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
...Four Brand-New Featurettes:

* "Dracula Reborn". New 30 min. featurette about the film's creation and history, featuring, among others: Jimmy Sangster, Kim Newman, Mark Gatiss, Jonathan Rigby and Janina Faye (Tania in the film).

* "Resurrecting Dracula". New 20 min. featurette about the film's restoration, from the BFI's 2007 restoration through to the integration of "lost" footage, featuring interviews with key staff at the BFI, Molinare and Deluxe142. Also covers the February 2012 world premiere of Hammer's interim restored version including "vox pop" interviews with fans after the event.

* "The Demon Lover: Christopher Frayling on Dracula". New 30 min. featurette.

* "Censoring Dracula". New 10 min. featurette on the original cuts to the film ordered by the British Board of Film Censors.

Commentary:

* New commentary by Hammer historian Marcus Hearn and author & critic Jonathan Rigby.

Plus:

* All 4 surviving "Japanese reels" (6 - 9) unrestored (40 mins).

* The World Of Hammer episode: Dracula And The Undead.

* Janina Faye reading a chapter of Stoker's novel at the VAULT festival.

* Stills Gallery of over 100 fully-restored and rare images.

* Booklet by Hammer archivist Robert J. E. Simpson (PDF).

* Original shooting script (PDF).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer At Its Best!, 29 Jun 2002
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dracula [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The 1950s was the best time for Hammer films, producing some great successes notably The Quatermass Xperiment and The Curse of Frankenstein. This version of Bram Stoker's Dracula is wonderful for its time for a number of reasons. First, the pairing of Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing. Second, the atmosphere the film generates, and finally the script which was beautifully written. The final scene of Dracula's destruction has never been surpassed. Incidentally, this video version has an extra scene which had been omitted from its original release in 1957. This was due to a reference made by Van Helsing to the use of drugs which was still taboo in those days of course. Overall, any Hammer film fan cannot afford not to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Iconic Dracula Gets A Blu Ray Makeover, 15 July 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Dedicated To M.Scott my friend & continued supporter of my reviews.

Dracula 1958.
Directed by Terence Fisher.
Produced by Anthony Hinds.
Written by Jimmy Sangster, Based on Bram Stokers (Novel).
Starring.
Christopher Lee.
Peter Cushing.
Michael Gough.
Melissa Stribling.
Release date(s) 8 May 1958.
Running time 82 minutes
Country: United Kingdom
Language: English.

Cast.
Peter Cushing as Dr. Abraham Van Helsing.
Christopher Lee as Count Dracula.
Michael Gough as Arthur.
Melissa Stribling as Mina.
Carol Marsh as Lucy.
Olga Dickie as Gerda.
John Van Eyssen as Jonathan.
Valerie Gaunt as Vampire Woman.
Janina Faye as Tania.
Barbara Archer as Inga.
Charles Lloyd-Pack as Doctor Seward.
George Merritt as Policeman.
George Woodbridge as Landlord.
George Benson as Official.
Miles Malleson as Undertaker.
Geoffrey Bayldon as Porter.

Blu-ray Disc Restored Version.
Format: Colour, Widescreen, PAL, Mono.
Language: English.
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English.
Region B/2.
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.66:1.
Number of discs: 3.
Classification: 15.
Includes DVD version.

Blu Ray Extras.
"Dracula Reborn". New 30 min. featurette, featuring contributions from Jimmy Sangster, Kim Newman, Mark Gatiss, Jonathan Rigby & Janina Faye (Tania in the film).
"Resurrecting Dracula". New 20 min. featurette about the film's restoration, from the BFI's 2007 restoration through to the integration of "lost" footage.
*"The Demon Lover, Christopher Frayling on Dracula". New 30 min. featurette.
"Censoring Dracula". New 10 min. featurette on the original cuts to the film ordered by the British Board of Film Censors.

A new commentary by Hammer historian Marcus Hearn & author & critic Jonathan Rigby.
All 4 surviving "Japanese reels" (6 - 9) unrestored (40 mins).
The World Of Hammer episode: Dracula & The Undead.
Janina Faye reading a chapter of Stoker's novel at the VAULT festival.
Stills Gallery of over 100 fully-restored and rare images.
Booklet by Hammer archivist Robert J. E. Simpson (PDF).
Original shooting script (PDF).

Recovered Scenes.
In September 2011, Hammer announced the Japanese release had been found in the National Film Center at the National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo. The first five reels of the film held by the center were destroyed in a fire in 1984, but the last four reels were recovered.

The recovered reels include the last 36 minutes of the film & includes two extended scenes, one of which is the discovery of a complete version of the film's iconic disintegration scene, The announcement mentioned a HD telecine transfer of all four reels with a view for a future UK distribution release.

On 29 December 2012, Hammer announced that the restored film would be released on a three-disc, double play Blu-ray Disc set in the UK on 18 March 2013, This release contains the 2007 BFI restoration along with the 2012 high-definition Hammer restoration which includes footage which was previously believed to be lost.

The set contains both Blu-ray Disc and DVD copies of the film as well as several bonus documentaries covering the film's production, censorship & restoration processes.

Trivia.
1)While shooting the scene in which Dracula buries Mina, Christopher Lee fell into the hole in the ground on top of the stunt woman.
2)Apart from assorted snarls & hisses, Count Dracula never actually speaks to anyone other than Jonathan Harker throughout the entire film.
3)According to Christopher Lee's autobiography, he received only £750 for his portrayal of Dracula, He also states that the film eventually grossed US $25 million dollars.
4)Top billed Peter Cushing turns up 25 minutes into the film.
5)Body count 5.

Plot Synopsis.
Jonathan Harker takes employment with Count Dracula, to catalog his vast library but is secretly on a mission to kill the Count, who is in fact a vampire.

Yet Dracula gains the upper hand & soon Jonathan Harker finds himself as one of the walking dead as Dracula then takes an interest in Harker's fiancée, Lucy Holmwood in a bid to turn her into a vampire.

The only one who may be able to protect them is Dr. van Helsing, Harker's friend & fellow-student of vampires yet Arthur Holmwood is unconvinced of the dangers or even the existence of vampires.

Soon, however, Arthur's wife Mina is targeted by Count Dracula and he and Van Helsing race to find his lair before she is lost to them forever & is determined to destroy Dracula, whatever the cost.

Timelord Thoughts.
At last Terence Fisher's Dracula (1958) is the most iconic vampire film of all time which combines horror vampire eroticism & great performances in what could be one of Hammers best horror movies ever made.

Director Terrance Fisher combines a multitude of elements together that superbly create a stylish gothic horror vampire movie with tight pacing & editing at a 82 minute running time as director Fisher creates an uneasy atmosphere which is enhanced by James Bernard's atmospheric score.

Christopher Lee plays the role of Dracula & makes the part his own, charming,seductive & menacing as Lee imbodies all these elements together into the character without hardly uttering a line of dialogue who's portrayal of Dracula is of hot-blooded instinct & seduction.

While Peter Cushing is the definitive Dr. Van Helsing who delivers a believable cool, calm scientific rationalism & is the best interpretation of the character to date as Van Helsing & Draculas destiny are entwined & fates sealed forever.

This is a excellent Blu ray transfer that restores 2 missing sequences & has undergone a superb remastering process which results are amazing & is a superbly remastered print that looks & sounds better than ever & is well worth upgrading to Blu Ray.
Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Very Best Hammer Horrors, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film was first released in 1958. It was the first of Hammer's Dracula series and the second Hammer film to feature Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee together, though Cushing gets top billing here. I have always loved this film, it is a true horror classic and one of the greatest Hammer Horrors, if not the greatest. This edition is in my mind the best version of this film released to date in this country and features two different versions of the film - the earlier BFI restored version of the film and the 2013 version. The BFI version features no extra footage, whereas the 2013 version includes extra footage in the seduction of Mina and the death of Dracula scenes, both of which are of reasonable quality. This footage was originally censored by the BBFC in 1958 and was thought to be lost forever, until it appeared in a fire-damaged Japanese print recently. Despite the damage to this footage, the restoration has eliminated most of this and so it is now quite watchable. However, I do disagree with some of the other reviews, who claim the 2013 version is inferior, because of the new blue-tinting that has been added to some of the darker scenes. This is not distracting too much to the film, though some of the detail and brightness is lost in these scenes, but I do not believe that the overall picture quality of the new version is any better or any worse than any other version of this film. I still think this is a pretty much definitive edition of the film and probably the best that we will ever see here and it is the most complete that it has ever been. So, if you love Hammer, or classic horror in general, then this is a must-buy. An almost perfect DVD/Blu-Ray set and no Hammer collection would be complete without it. A true, all-time classic. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Dracula as you've never seen it before., 21 Oct 2013
By 
Ken Barnes (Benfleet, Essex. U.K.) - See all my reviews
Unavailable for many years in any video format, this 1958 version has long been considered the finest screen version of Bram Stoker's classic novel. While it is not totally faithful to the original novel, it is an intelligently-conceived script that captures the essence and all the horror of Stoker's creation. It also proved a star-making role for Christopher Lee whose performance more than surpasses the overrated 1931 Bela Lugosi incarnation.

Now, for the first time on Blu-ray, we have an absolutely dazzling, fully-restored version of this classic film which,unlike the previous DVD release, contains rare Japanese footage that was never seen in the original theatrical release. Being an elaborate three-disc release loaded with extras, the viewer can revel in seeing just how much hard work and loving dedication has gone into matching the previously-unseen footage with the quality of the original release. It's an amazing achievement that has to be seen to be believed. The results, particularly in Blu-ray, are not only satisfying but quite astonishing. Even the new DVD version also included in this set is a pleasure to behold. Make no mistake,this is the definitive Dracula as you've never seen it before. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jewel In Hammer's Crown, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the one Hammer fans have been waiting for for years and what a package it is. Not only does the film look and sound amazing (ignore any nonsense you hear about the wrong colour)but it's uncut. Scenes that were though long lost have been found and are back in the movie. For a Hammer Lover like me this really is a dream come true.

The restoration has been done to perfection - I've never seen the film look or sound so good.The extras are top notch especially the commentary which is witty and educational. Even the fact that they used the original British Quad artwork as the cover just shows me how much care has gone into this.

I have an advanced copy that I wasn't expecting and I was like a kid at Christmas when it arrived. If you love Hammer Horror you will be too when this pops through you letterbox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fidelis et Mortem, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Tony Floyd "Travis Pickle" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You know the movie, one of Hammer's finest (though to the true aficionado there's no such thing as truly bad Hammer movie), so there's no need to comment on that.

So this version of it then, the blu ray from Hammer/Lions Gate, how does it rate, especially after the slightly disappointing, but still essential, Curse of Frankenstein release? Well, I'm pleased to report it's trebles all round, because this edition of THE Hammer classic is a ungainsayable triumph.

There are two versions of the film itself - first, the 2007 BFI restoration, i.e. the buffed up original English cut that has played since its 1958 release. Then there is the re-vamped (sorry, couldn't resist) Hammer version which re-instates footage originally removed from the English release to mollify the censor.

The restored footage, comprising additional shots from two key sequences, was only relatively recently discovered and recovered from a badly damaged Japanese print. When you view the unenhanced footage from the Japanese print (one of the many worthwhile extras here) and then watch how the additional footage has almost seamlessly been woven into the new Hammer version, you can fully appreciate and salute the work of the restoration team. (I note that the discoverer of this footage has posted his own review here, castigating the ill-informed muppets who posted `reviews' of a blu-ray package before it had been released, without having seen the restoration but instead basing their comments on some screen shots. Well said sir, and thank you for unearthing this filmic treasure - any chance of locating a version of The Mummy with the tongue removal?).

Both versions of the film look wonderful in high def; not pin sharp, no, like some bloodless CGI effects fest, as that was not intended or needed to convey the fairy-tale steeped in dread atmosphere. They are easily the best version(s) of the film yet seen, and the only issue is whether you want to luxuriate in the familiar `censors cut' BFI version or treat yourself to the Hammer version which will allow that extra frisson of pleasure during the seduction of Mina and disintegration scenes.

The rest of the package is equally enjoyable. There is the expected making of documentary, using the now well established format of knowledgeable talking heads (Marcus Hearn, Mark Gatiss) alongside the one (or occasionally two if we're lucky) remaining members of the cast, in this case Janine Faye, who apart from Christopher Lee (sadly not involved) is now the only surviving member of the cast. The documentary also utilises footage of an interview with an elderly Jimmy Sangster in which he ruefully acknowledges that, even then, he was one of a few classic era Hammer people who are left. Another highlight is a fascinating half hour `chat' about the film by cultural historian Christopher Frayling. In it he pays due tribute to Jimmy Sangster's innovative, if budget motivated, approach to the material, and floats the deliberately provocative idea that the film is really about the Holmwood's marriage.

There are two additional featurettes, one on the censorship problems that the film encountered in England and the other about the discovery, restoration and integration of the Japanese footage. This presumably now clears up the perennial myth about Hammer having deliberately shot `stronger' versions of their movies, or at least certain scenes, for the Japanese market and milder ones for us. It appears that Hammer simply had their sole preferred version, from which the English censors then cut what they thought was unsuitable for English sensibilities, while Japan (and other overseas territories) simply got the original uncut version. (But there was that topless Hazel Court shot for the European cut of Man Who Cheated Death, wasn't there. I'm confused again now.)

Anyway, doesn't this suggest the possibility that the Japanese archive may hold full uncut versions of other Hammer movies.

Please investigate, O Hammer high ups.

In the meantime however, this glorious package will keep us going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth he wait., 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been waiting for this to be released in the U.S. but finally had to get the region 2 disc. It was worth the wait. This is the first horror movie I saw when it was first released in the U.S. I have the American release and it is very good, but having the new restoration with the new expanded scenes is great. Clear, crisp imaging and a bit brighter scenes allow you to see more detail. I only wish the powers that be would see fit to make these releases for North American audiences. They continue to ignore us and treat North Americans as not worthy of any efforts on their part, in my opinion.
If you are a fan of Hammer horror movies, you will love this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dracula (Horror Of) (Region 2)
Dracula (Horror Of) (Region 2) by Terence Fisher (DVD)
£13.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews