Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A collection of greats we've heard before
As another reviewer pointed out, fans of Gaslight will have heard most of these tracks before, but I knew I had before purchasing. What this album is is a place to put them all together on an official release. She Loves You is perhaps one of the band's finest songs, the acoustic version of The '59 Sound will make you fall in love with Brian's voice all over again, and...
Published 6 months ago by Chelseh

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unsure (but subject to change)
It does exactly what it says on the tin - this is an album of B-Sides (most, if not all, of these songs have been available previously with single releases).

However, I would much rather have had a "Rarities" collection - songs that got cut from albums, the bonus tracks that came with some album releases (the excellent Blue Dahlia from Handwritten, for...
Published 6 months ago by D. Gray


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unsure (but subject to change), 27 Jan 2014
By 
D. Gray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The B-Sides (MP3 Download)
It does exactly what it says on the tin - this is an album of B-Sides (most, if not all, of these songs have been available previously with single releases).

However, I would much rather have had a "Rarities" collection - songs that got cut from albums, the bonus tracks that came with some album releases (the excellent Blue Dahlia from Handwritten, for example), or material from the iTunes EP.

The reality is we get a record loaded with fairly poor acoustic versions of well-established songs - poor in both audio quality and performance.

That said, this is The Gaslight Anthem, and I'd wager this record will grow on me fairly quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not vintage, 14 Feb 2014
By 
P. Cranfield - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The B-Sides (Audio CD)
I'm a huge fan of Gaslight anthem, and particularly Brian Fallon's voice. Anyone who saw him on the Revival Tour will know just how powerful Gaslight songs can be when sung with just an acoustic guitar. But, the versions here are generally poor to average. why oh why did they-or their record company- decide to release such a lacklustre set of renditions.

Add to this an awful effort at a Pearl Jam tune and a highly average Tumbling Dice etc and we are left with a much-anticipated release which, after a few listenings to try to see if it was a grower, will be filed away in the section- could have been much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A collection of greats we've heard before, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The B-Sides (Audio CD)
As another reviewer pointed out, fans of Gaslight will have heard most of these tracks before, but I knew I had before purchasing. What this album is is a place to put them all together on an official release. She Loves You is perhaps one of the band's finest songs, the acoustic version of The '59 Sound will make you fall in love with Brian's voice all over again, and their cover of Songs for Teenagers is a completely different take on the song. I wanted this collection mostly for completion purposes and I knew exactly what I was getting, and I'm very happy to get it. My only complaint would be I wished they'd included more original songs and less acoustic takes on their already well-established songs, there are some excellent Gaslight songs hiding away that could do with being brought to a wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but a little disappointed, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The B-Sides (Audio CD)
Love the Gaslight Anthem and this alum overall is nice to listen to and is a good collection of songs. The thing that really disappointed me was the acoustic versions of 'Great Expectations' & 'The 59 Sound'. I remember trying to find good versions of these on youtube and heard the versions used on this album to be really poor. I found versions that were far superior and sound 100 times better than those used. Terribly disappointed to find these versions on this record!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Once is not enough, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The B-Sides (Audio CD)
Play it again. First listen underwhelms because the material is familiar. Second time around you're listening more carefully and you hear beyond what you've heard before on the '59 Sound' and 'Handwritten' and you realise the songs acoustic presentations have a seductive quality all their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fills a gap between now and a new album, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The B-Sides (Audio CD)
This is a 11 track album consisting of cover versions and acoustic versions of GA classics. As expected , Brian Fallons voice is as amazing as ever and shines on every song. The acoustic guitar takes some songs into new dimensions. This is none more evident than on The Queen Of Lower Chelsea. A good song to begin with suddenly becomes great just by being made acoustic. The covers are good too, especially Tumbling Dice and Once Upon A Time. This is the kind of CD to unwind to after a long day in work. All we need now of course is a new album from The Gaslight Anthem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Thats right, 12 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The B-Sides (Audio CD)
I choose this because I like most of the original tracks,I also love acoustic guitar ,but I don't think that in this case the tunes benefit from this treatment,it was disappointing .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a bitof alet down, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The B-Sides (Audio CD)
not as good as I hoped it would be . a little let down. alright to compete your gaslight records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The music, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The B-Sides (Audio CD)
The album is by far one of there best! The acoustic cover are excellent... If I had to choose I would go for this album before the others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth getting if you are already a gaslight anthem fan, 24 July 2014
This review is from: The B-Sides (Audio CD)
Great acoustic versions of the songs that you already know especially the single great expextations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The B-Sides
The B-Sides by The Gaslight Anthem
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews