Customer Reviews


638 Reviews
5 star:
 (340)
4 star:
 (111)
3 star:
 (67)
2 star:
 (66)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 'Amazing' Era of Spider-Man Continues!
Spider-Man is back!

In 2012, 'The Amazing Spider-Man' became an `amazing' success. Everybody warmed to this new version of Spider-Man; and Andrew Garfield put his own take on the wall-crawler and the character of Peter Parker. Even though it wasn't Tobey Maguire anymore, it was still recognisably Spider-Man. It was an inevitable that a sequel would come after...
Published 4 months ago by Tim Bradley

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Excruciating Spider-Man, perhaps?
Awful. Long and painful on the butt to watch - even sitting through it at home I found myself clock-watching. The leads - in Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy - lack charisma, and I found no real investment in them as characters. Seriously, I found no reason to care whether Spider-Man saved the day or not, I just wanted to film to end.

Electro and Green Goblin...
Published 1 month ago by P. Baldowski


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 'Amazing' Era of Spider-Man Continues!, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spider-Man is back!

In 2012, 'The Amazing Spider-Man' became an `amazing' success. Everybody warmed to this new version of Spider-Man; and Andrew Garfield put his own take on the wall-crawler and the character of Peter Parker. Even though it wasn't Tobey Maguire anymore, it was still recognisably Spider-Man. It was an inevitable that a sequel would come after the success of `The Amazing Spider-Man' and how right I was.

`The Amazing Spider-Man 2' was released in 2014. The film stars Andrew Garfield returning to play Peter Parker/Spider-Man along with Emma Stone as Gwen and Sally Field as Aunt May. It also stars Jamie Foxx as Electro/Max Dillon and Dane DeHann as Harry Osborn/The Green Goblin.

I enjoyed watching this second film ofthe Andrew Garfield era. I remember going to see it with my best mate from school at the cinemas. We knew we'd enjoy and have a good ride with this film. I watched it again afterwards I went with my parents to see it in the cinema. Although I enjoyed this film, I wouldn't claim it to be the best Spidey film as I have reservations and a mixture of the good and the bad from it and feel that things could have been better.

Again like the first film, `The Amazing Spider-Man 2' derives from the modern day comics of `Spider-Man'. There were lots of changes made to certain characters which I noticed being a Spider-Man fan. The story seemed to take an artistic license and it became more about OsCorp and the mysteries surrounding it and also about Peter discovering more about his family history rather than focusing on his ordinary life as Peter. Also there were too many villains as was the case with `Spider-Man 3'.

Peter Parker is currently enjoying his life as Spider-Man and has managed to find a balance in his two lives. But Peter's trying to discover more about what happened to his parents. Pretty soon, Peter has a lot to contend with. As well as sorting out his relationship with Gwen; he has a new foe to face in the form of Electro and dealing with the return of his old friend Harry Osborn. All of his enemies have one thing in common, and it has something to do with OsCorp

Spidey's costume has changed since the last time we saw it in `The Amazing Spider-Man'. Spidey now looks like his traditional look from the comics, with the familiar white-eye patches where they should be and the red and blue spandex patterning matching exactly how he looks in the comics and also in the original `Spider-Man' films. This really pleased me as I love that look so much and wasn't too keen on the first costume look Andrew wore in his first film of the series.

Andrew Garfield returns to play Peter Parker/Spider-Man. I enjoyed watching Andrew and his sense of humour shines through as his serious acting. I like how he interacts with Gwen and Aunt May; and how he reunites with his old friend Harry and meeting Max Dillon as Spider-Man. Andrew's managed to settle into the action spirit of the web-slinger and I really like it how he gets into all the fight sequences; talking to people in costume and when he gets annoyed at Gwen at times.

Emma Stone returns to play Gwen Stacey. Both Peter and Gwen form a romantic relationship and seem blissfully unaware of the dangers surrounding them. Peter keeps seeing Gwen's father (Denis Leary) as a ghost reminding him of the danger he's putting Gwen in. I really like the interaction between Andrew and Emma, as they are currently in a relationship together. Something tragic happens to Gwen and if you're a Spider-Man fan, you know what I'm on about.

The villain is Electro/Max Dillon, played by Jamie Foxx. I really enjoyed watching Jamie as Max who becomes super-villain Electro. Max is an electrical engineer who works at OsCorp Industries. But during an electrical accident at OsCorp, Max transforms into a being that can control electricity. This makes a living conductor of electricity and causing havoc in New York. I like the look of Electro in this film, as it reminded me of Electro from the short-lived 'Spider-Man - The New Animated Series'.

Harry Osborn appears in this movie, played by Dane DeHaan. I found Dane's interpretation of Harry, interesting as he's not James Franco and does a completely different version of the character making him bitter. He returns to OsCorp when his father Norman (Chris Cooper) dies. An interesting twist is made here, as its Harry who becomes the Green Goblin in this movie instead of his father. I found it disappointing that Harry only became the Goblin towards the end of the movie.

It was great to see Sally Field as Aunt May again. Aunt May constantly dotes on Peter whenever he he's home and shows concern for him. I found the scene funny when he's hiding under the bed clothes and she notices how filthy his face is. I found that scene funny when both Peter and Aunt May fight over the laundry. I also like the scene Peter and Aunt May share when he's trying to get information from her about his father's past and she's unwilling to tell him anything.

Campbell Scott and Embeth Davidtz return to play Richard and Mary Parker, Peter's parents. The film opens with a prologue that is similar to first film, although it's taken from Richard and Mary's point of view instead of Peter's and we see what happened to them when their plane crashed.

J. Jonah Jameson still doesn't appear in these Spider-Man movies, which is a shame. But we do get Peter receiving e-mails from Jameson when sending photos of Spidey to him at the Bugle.

Marc Webb returns to direct `The Amazing Spider-Man 2' which is nice to have that continuity. Marc does a fantastic job capturing the action of Spider-Man in this movie as he did with the previous film. The set design and location work is equally good as we get to see more of OsCorp and the city of New York is used well for Spidey swinging action scenes. The visual effects are really impressive and I'm immensely pleased with how they've done Electro with make-up and CGI effects.

Without giving too much away, the movie ends on a rather sad note. I was wondering how the story would continue, but the movie ends on a conclusion that looks to the future and the continuation of the series. It looks like there is going to be `The Amazing Spider-Man 3' as there's a hint of the Sinister Six appearing; Harry Osborn seems likely to return and the possibility of Mary Jane Watson appearing. It seems like a lot to look forward to in the third instalment.

I enjoyed watching `The Amazing Spider-Man 2'. It's not the great Spider-Man film I've seen, but it was good to watch. There are things about which I felt could have been better such as the development of Peter as a person; the villains and the film ending on a sade note. But I enjoyed how Andrew plays Peter and his relationship with Emma as Gwen is lovely to watch. I look forward to seeing how this movie series develops in the next instalment.

The special features include a special short advertising video of `Worldwide Orphans' that features Andrew Garfield visiting a class of school-kids. There's also a trailer for 'The Amazing Spider-Man'.

There's a filmmakers commentary; some deleted and extended scenes; a music video of the song `It's On Again' by Alicia Keys which can also be found on 'The Amazing Spider-Man 2' music CD and there are previews of other movies found on this DVD. If you want to see more extras, you'll probably want to buy the 'Blu-ray' version of this movie which contains 9 additional deleted scenes cut from the movie and much more.

The next instalment of Spidey's adventures is `The Amazing Spider-Man 3'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Excruciating Spider-Man, perhaps?, 22 Jan. 2015
By 
P. Baldowski "boreders.com" (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (Blu-ray)
Awful. Long and painful on the butt to watch - even sitting through it at home I found myself clock-watching. The leads - in Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy - lack charisma, and I found no real investment in them as characters. Seriously, I found no reason to care whether Spider-Man saved the day or not, I just wanted to film to end.

Electro and Green Goblin equally failed to inspire as villains, the latter especially. The whole Goblin transformation was forced and a pain to watch - it felt so laboured and over-worked that once more I found myself wondering why I carried on watching. In truth, I could only really write a review saying how awful it was if I sat through the whole thing.

Why make Maxwell Dillon such a dork? Why kill off Norman Osborn - who in the previous cycle of movies proved the far better villain in the hands of Willem Dafoe? Why make Roosevelt so complex and overworked for so little pay-off?

Really. So many levels of wrong layered over 142 minutes of film. And, don't even get me started on the gratuitous angles needed to make 3D worth the time, effort and in-cinema cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I was expecting..., 27 Jan. 2015
By 
M. Matthews "mikematt101" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As I write this review The Amazing Spider-Man 2 only has a 53% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes…. Really?! What’s wrong with you people?! Granted this is not in the same league as the very best superhero flicks, but it’s damn good fun with outstanding performances and astonishing set-pieces punctuated by moments of high drama and nicely-judged humour.

One of the big criticisms seems to be the “overabundance of characters”, but I don’t agree with this at all. This isn’t like Raimi’s hugely disappointing Spider-Man 3 which was overstuffed with villains all competing for screen time. Instead the main villain throughout most of this film is Electro, while separately we get the genesis story for Harry Osborn who only becomes the Goblin at the very end. Meanwhile the film’s third villain, Rhino, only appears in fun sequences at the beginning and end of the film and doesn’t feature in the main narrative at all. I accept that having the Goblin attack the very minute Electro is defeated is somewhat hard-to-swallow, but otherwise the bad guys have their own distinct arcs and it never feels like a “let’s-team-up-to-bash-Spidey” exercise.

Having said that, I can quite understand that comic book purists might take great exception to the dramatic re-imagining of the villains, especially Electro and Rhino. Of course nobody would have expected Marc Webb to give us an Electro in green and yellow spandex with lightning bolts on his head, but changing the character beyond recognition was maybe not the best move. I have less of a problem with Rhino – a guy in a Rhino suit would have looked ridiculous, so putting him in powered armour makes sense, though I’m not completely enamoured with the design.

The visual effects are truly amazing, apart from one or two slightly dodgy shots, and the action sequences are mesmerising, especially the Times Square showdown. Despite the massive amount of CGI used in this film, the digital trickery is so convincing that most of the time you just don’t think about it. Of the more dramatic “human” story arcs, Peter’s quest to find the truth about his father seems somewhat contrived and vapid, though it’s a shame that his graveyard encounter with his dad ended up on the cutting room floor. However the ups and downs of his relationship with Gwen are nicely written and acted with (spoiler alert!) Gwen’s ultimate demise done in a way that pleasingly acknowledges the source material. I also thought much of the humour was spot-on and it was nice to have Spidey quipping in the midst of battling the baddies, as he does in the comics.

Add into this mix a fantastic and innovative soundtrack by Hans Zimmer, and what you end up with is a hugely enjoyable superhero flick and arguably the second best Spider-Man film after Raimi’s outstanding Spider-Man 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much in one movie, Yet still i want a number 3, 18 Jan. 2015
If i was to sum up The amazing Spider-man 2 in one word that word would be 'Too much', The story suffers from lack of narrative and focus on a specific storyline, You've got Gwen & Peter's relationship, Harry and his story (trying to be as spoiler free as possible), Electro and his story, You've got Peter trying to find out about his parents past and their story! and if that's not enough you've got peter and him having visions of gwen's father, and they have RHYNO shoed in as well!, It's all too much they would of been much better off focusing on one or two of the story elements here (Me personally i would go for Gwen & Peter's relationship & Electro) The problem is they tried to make each of the story aspects as big as each other, None sat in the background whilst one or two took centre stage! That being said does this make The amazing spider-man 2 a bad movie? No, The movie isn't bad at all, It just could've been a lot better, The special effects are top notch, The action is quick, powerful and intense, and one of the scene's towards the end of the movie sticks in your head (Mine at least) for a long time, Seriously it's been nearly 24 hours and i still can't stop thinking about it, Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone are both superb! Their chemistry on screen is fantastic and actually made me enjoy their romance a lot more! (Due in no doubt to their off screen romance, Andrew Garfield is one lucky guy! He gets to be Spiderman and date Emma Stone, Jealous much) Overall i enjoyed the film if so it didn't quite live up to my expectations, That being said i still want The Amazing spider-man 3! There is a story here that need's to be wrapped up, Or continue if indeed the third film is a success (NOT JUST FINANCIALLY SONY) and with all the talk about Marvel bringing spider-man into the Marvel Cinematic Universe I'm okay with as long as it's not another reboot, Seriously the last thing this franchise needs is two reboots in 10 years, Oh and keep Andrew Garfield as Spider-man, If it turns out Marvel does indeed want to reboot the franchise then i would much rather sony keep control and keep this franchise rolling (Maybe with Marvel's help?) It's not a bad movie but again it's not better than Spider-man 2 (Sam Raimi's) which still is the best Spider-man film to date in my opinion!

The Amazing spider-man 2 - 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Passable Blockbuster Which Fails to Captivate, 6 Dec. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Andrew Garfield plays the eponymous Spider-Man, a superhero who keeps the folks of New York City safe from an assortment of genetically mutated anti-heroes. His everyday alter-ego is Peter Parker, a struggling photographer.
Jamie Foxx plays Max Bryan, a research technician and uber-nerd who works for Oscorp. Oscorp lead the way with research into electro-magnetic power. Max gets involved in an industrial accident, ending up in a tank of electric eels, who bite him countless times. He transmogrifies into Electro, a creature who can use electro-magnetic power to devastating effect.
Emma Stone plays Gwen Stacey, Spidey's on off girlfriend, in a rather understated role.
Dane Dehann, in the standout performance of the movie, plays Harry Osborne, the twenty year old sole beneficiary of his late father's business Oscorp, a two hundred billion dollar organisation. Due to genetic mutation he's also the Green Goblin, another arch-villain bent on bringing Manhattan to its knees.
The film starts with a thrilling opening ten minute sequence on a plunging aircraft. It then goes straight into an equally thrilling ten minute segment through the streets of lower Manhattan, as Spider-Man tries to halt a robbery of plutonium. I haven't seen so many cars destroyed since The Blues Brothers, nor a truck cause so much damage since the opening scene in Beverly Hills Cop - The Blues Brothers [Blu-ray] [Region Free], Beverly Hills Cop: Triple Feature [Blu-ray].
Unfortunately, having provided the viewer with this visceral excitement in the first twenty minutes, the film then has a soporific effect for the next hour or so, as the focus turns to Spidey's will he won't he romance with Gwen. It doesn't really work, because Peter Parker's character is quite anodyne, and he doesn't have any convincing chemistry with Gwen. Tobey Maguire and Kirsten Dunst had a far more engaging and credible chemistry in the previous franchise of Spidey movies.
The film also suffers badly from the lack of a comedic element. In the Maguire/Dunst films, the wit was provided by Peter Parker's riotous newspaper boss J. Jonah Jameson, a larger than life workplace bully played with great gusto by J. K. Simmons, who lit up the screen every time he appeared. In this movie, there's not much respite from the vaguely dreary romantic meanderings of Peter and Gwen - the film really needed a clownish figure to raise a chuckle or two.
Electro is a bland super-villain. Jamie Foxx is a great actor, but he's largely wasted in this role. Alfred Molina's Dr Octopus in the earlier Spider-Man 2 was vastly more charismatic and interesting. Here, Electro is a poor man's version of Julian McMahon's Dr Doom in the Fantastic Four movies - Fantastic Four / Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer Double Pack [Blu-ray].
Harry Osborne was potentially the most interesting character in the film, excellently portrayed by Dane Dehann, but he's badly underused.
If you're going to have a romance as a central element of a super-hero movie, the key is to make sure that the couple sizzle on screen - Maguire and Dunst managed it in the earlier Spider-Man movies, so too did Christopher Reeve and Margot Kidder in Superman - The Superman 5 Film Collection 1978-2006 [Blu-ray] [1978] [Region Free]. Sadly, Garfield and Stone fail to ignite. They'd have been more believable as a brother and sister.
I don't think that this blockbuster pic is a good buy on Blu-Ray. The 90 minute middle section is a bit like wading through treacle and it wouldn't bear repeat viewings. The original Spider-Man trilogy is significantly more engaging and enjoyable - Spider-Man Trilogy [Blu-ray] [Region Free]. The film does liven up in the last half hour, but it was quite a struggle for me to stick with it for that long.
If you haven't already seen Kick-Ass and Kick-Ass 2, I recommend that you do so - those two movies are vastly more effective than this tepid reboot of the wonderful Spider-Man - Kick-Ass/Kick-Ass 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free].
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but maybe one Spidey too far, 8 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (DVD)
its an ok film , a bit long for what it is, ok special effects, and a great cast. However, having watched all the other movies , this is a bit of a slog. Unlike the other films. In spite of 2 hours of movie time, they spend very little time developing the characters of the opposing force. And the Bad guy at the end, that was just gratuitous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I HAD A FRIEND ONCE. IT DIDN'T WORK OUT., 2 May 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Every super hero needs a super villain. This episode introduces us to Electro (Jamie Foxx) and the Green Goblin (Dane DeHaan). If that wasn't enough Peter (Andrew Garfield) must deal with his on again/off again relationship with Gwen Stacy (Emma Stone) and he discovers the truth about his father (Campbell Scott) and Oscorp.

I love these modern superhero blockbuster updates. Rest assure, that is not how Pu-238 is transported...but it makes good cinema.

I will also say I disapprove of the ending, but I'll get over it. The film contains drama and heart as well as good action scenes. In fact if anything, Spiderman was able to take care of his foes a little too easy.

The film sets up for a crazy action sequel. Break out the popcorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What were they thinking!!!, 12 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. P. Cooper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Settled down to watch this on Saturday afternoon with my young son and daughter. We had the popcorn ready, a tub of icecream and were all very excited to see the second installment of Spiderman's new adventures.

It didn't go well.

As others have said the film opens tremendously, unfortunately it goes so downhill from there that even the action packed final fight with Electro cannot leave you with a sweet aftertaste. And even if it had the blatant sequel setting up with the Rhino at the end would destroy the feeling anyway.

Their are numerous problems but mainly the film suffers from not only being way too long for a comic book superhero movie but manages to fill that time with a distinct lack of Spiderman. I have not counted the on-screen minutes of the wallcrawler but it wouldn't surprise me if there was less Spiderman in this than there was in the last one (and he wasn't even bitten by the spider until a fair way into that one!) Instead of The Amazing Spiderman as the film's title would lead you to believe we have about 2 hours of Peter Parker trying to investigate the deaths of his parents and deciding whether or not he wants a relationship with the incredibly gorgeous and available Gwen Stacey (seriously, do we really need this again).

It's with a heavy heart that i have to admit to this being the first of the recent slew of Superhero movies I have not enjoyed. I am a comic book fan and honestly do not expect too much from this sort of movie, all they need to do is get the casting and characters right and provide good action with a (slightly) credible story and its a great way to spend a couple of hours, this movie does none of that. Even the woeful miscasting and embarassing baggy leather jumpsuit of Ben Affleck as Daredevil was more enjoyable than this!

After getting most things right with the last movie Sony have really dropped the ball on this, if you are a fan of previous Spiderman movies avoid this and if you have a knowledge of the characters from the comics definitely avoid this or you will be left feeling as upset and disappointed as my children and I were! All we can hope is that Marvel can get one of their best loved characters back from Sony and give us the movie that Spiderman and all of us deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed marvel fan!!!, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a let down at nearly 2 and a half hours this film is way too long at least half an hour or so should have been left on the cutting room floor too much time and emphasis was put on spidermans relationship with gwen stacy most of this did nothing for flow of the film.as for harry osbournes character i found him to be very annoying and irritating.i found the special effects very good it's just a shame the film just lost its pace in parts.definitely not one of the best marvel films i have seen!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shoulda known better, 9 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (DVD)
The only good thing about this film was that I didn't waste time & money driving to a Cinema to watch it. WAPOC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews