Customer Reviews


674 Reviews
5 star:
 (359)
4 star:
 (116)
3 star:
 (71)
2 star:
 (67)
1 star:
 (61)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I was expecting...
As I write this review The Amazing Spider-Man 2 only has a 53% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes…. Really?! What’s wrong with you people?! Granted this is not in the same league as the very best superhero flicks, but it’s damn good fun with outstanding performances and astonishing set-pieces punctuated by moments of high drama and nicely-judged...
Published 2 months ago by M. Matthews

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Passable Blockbuster Which Fails to Captivate
Andrew Garfield plays the eponymous Spider-Man, a superhero who keeps the folks of New York City safe from an assortment of genetically mutated anti-heroes. His everyday alter-ego is Peter Parker, a struggling photographer.
Jamie Foxx plays Max Bryan, a research technician and uber-nerd who works for Oscorp. Oscorp lead the way with research into electro-magnetic...
Published 4 months ago by William Mason


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Passable Blockbuster Which Fails to Captivate, 6 Dec. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Andrew Garfield plays the eponymous Spider-Man, a superhero who keeps the folks of New York City safe from an assortment of genetically mutated anti-heroes. His everyday alter-ego is Peter Parker, a struggling photographer.
Jamie Foxx plays Max Bryan, a research technician and uber-nerd who works for Oscorp. Oscorp lead the way with research into electro-magnetic power. Max gets involved in an industrial accident, ending up in a tank of electric eels, who bite him countless times. He transmogrifies into Electro, a creature who can use electro-magnetic power to devastating effect.
Emma Stone plays Gwen Stacey, Spidey's on off girlfriend, in a rather understated role.
Dane Dehann, in the standout performance of the movie, plays Harry Osborne, the twenty year old sole beneficiary of his late father's business Oscorp, a two hundred billion dollar organisation. Due to genetic mutation he's also the Green Goblin, another arch-villain bent on bringing Manhattan to its knees.
The film starts with a thrilling opening ten minute sequence on a plunging aircraft. It then goes straight into an equally thrilling ten minute segment through the streets of lower Manhattan, as Spider-Man tries to halt a robbery of plutonium. I haven't seen so many cars destroyed since The Blues Brothers, nor a truck cause so much damage since the opening scene in Beverly Hills Cop - The Blues Brothers [Blu-ray] [Region Free], Beverly Hills Cop: Triple Feature [Blu-ray].
Unfortunately, having provided the viewer with this visceral excitement in the first twenty minutes, the film then has a soporific effect for the next hour or so, as the focus turns to Spidey's will he won't he romance with Gwen. It doesn't really work, because Peter Parker's character is quite anodyne, and he doesn't have any convincing chemistry with Gwen. Tobey Maguire and Kirsten Dunst had a far more engaging and credible chemistry in the previous franchise of Spidey movies.
The film also suffers badly from the lack of a comedic element. In the Maguire/Dunst films, the wit was provided by Peter Parker's riotous newspaper boss J. Jonah Jameson, a larger than life workplace bully played with great gusto by J. K. Simmons, who lit up the screen every time he appeared. In this movie, there's not much respite from the vaguely dreary romantic meanderings of Peter and Gwen - the film really needed a clownish figure to raise a chuckle or two.
Electro is a bland super-villain. Jamie Foxx is a great actor, but he's largely wasted in this role. Alfred Molina's Dr Octopus in the earlier Spider-Man 2 was vastly more charismatic and interesting. Here, Electro is a poor man's version of Julian McMahon's Dr Doom in the Fantastic Four movies - Fantastic Four / Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer Double Pack [Blu-ray].
Harry Osborne was potentially the most interesting character in the film, excellently portrayed by Dane Dehann, but he's badly underused.
If you're going to have a romance as a central element of a super-hero movie, the key is to make sure that the couple sizzle on screen - Maguire and Dunst managed it in the earlier Spider-Man movies, so too did Christopher Reeve and Margot Kidder in Superman - The Superman 5 Film Collection 1978-2006 [Blu-ray] [1978] [Region Free]. Sadly, Garfield and Stone fail to ignite. They'd have been more believable as a brother and sister.
I don't think that this blockbuster pic is a good buy on Blu-Ray. The 90 minute middle section is a bit like wading through treacle and it wouldn't bear repeat viewings. The original Spider-Man trilogy is significantly more engaging and enjoyable - Spider-Man Trilogy [Blu-ray] [Region Free]. The film does liven up in the last half hour, but it was quite a struggle for me to stick with it for that long.
If you haven't already seen Kick-Ass and Kick-Ass 2, I recommend that you do so - those two movies are vastly more effective than this tepid reboot of the wonderful Spider-Man - Kick-Ass/Kick-Ass 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free].
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I was expecting..., 27 Jan. 2015
By 
M. Matthews "mikematt101" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As I write this review The Amazing Spider-Man 2 only has a 53% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes…. Really?! What’s wrong with you people?! Granted this is not in the same league as the very best superhero flicks, but it’s damn good fun with outstanding performances and astonishing set-pieces punctuated by moments of high drama and nicely-judged humour.

One of the big criticisms seems to be the “overabundance of characters”, but I don’t agree with this at all. This isn’t like Raimi’s hugely disappointing Spider-Man 3 which was overstuffed with villains all competing for screen time. Instead the main villain throughout most of this film is Electro, while separately we get the genesis story for Harry Osborn who only becomes the Goblin at the very end. Meanwhile the film’s third villain, Rhino, only appears in fun sequences at the beginning and end of the film and doesn’t feature in the main narrative at all. I accept that having the Goblin attack the very minute Electro is defeated is somewhat hard-to-swallow, but otherwise the bad guys have their own distinct arcs and it never feels like a “let’s-team-up-to-bash-Spidey” exercise.

Having said that, I can quite understand that comic book purists might take great exception to the dramatic re-imagining of the villains, especially Electro and Rhino. Of course nobody would have expected Marc Webb to give us an Electro in green and yellow spandex with lightning bolts on his head, but changing the character beyond recognition was maybe not the best move. I have less of a problem with Rhino – a guy in a Rhino suit would have looked ridiculous, so putting him in powered armour makes sense, though I’m not completely enamoured with the design.

The visual effects are truly amazing, apart from one or two slightly dodgy shots, and the action sequences are mesmerising, especially the Times Square showdown. Despite the massive amount of CGI used in this film, the digital trickery is so convincing that most of the time you just don’t think about it. Of the more dramatic “human” story arcs, Peter’s quest to find the truth about his father seems somewhat contrived and vapid, though it’s a shame that his graveyard encounter with his dad ended up on the cutting room floor. However the ups and downs of his relationship with Gwen are nicely written and acted with (spoiler alert!) Gwen’s ultimate demise done in a way that pleasingly acknowledges the source material. I also thought much of the humour was spot-on and it was nice to have Spidey quipping in the midst of battling the baddies, as he does in the comics.

Add into this mix a fantastic and innovative soundtrack by Hans Zimmer, and what you end up with is a hugely enjoyable superhero flick and arguably the second best Spider-Man film after Raimi’s outstanding Spider-Man 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but maybe one Spidey too far, 8 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (DVD)
its an ok film , a bit long for what it is, ok special effects, and a great cast. However, having watched all the other movies , this is a bit of a slog. Unlike the other films. In spite of 2 hours of movie time, they spend very little time developing the characters of the opposing force. And the Bad guy at the end, that was just gratuitous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I HAD A FRIEND ONCE. IT DIDN'T WORK OUT., 2 May 2014
Every super hero needs a super villain. This episode introduces us to Electro (Jamie Foxx) and the Green Goblin (Dane DeHaan). If that wasn't enough Peter (Andrew Garfield) must deal with his on again/off again relationship with Gwen Stacy (Emma Stone) and he discovers the truth about his father (Campbell Scott) and Oscorp.

I love these modern superhero blockbuster updates. Rest assure, that is not how Pu-238 is transported...but it makes good cinema.

I will also say I disapprove of the ending, but I'll get over it. The film contains drama and heart as well as good action scenes. In fact if anything, Spiderman was able to take care of his foes a little too easy.

The film sets up for a crazy action sequel. Break out the popcorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What were they thinking!!!, 12 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. P. Cooper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Settled down to watch this on Saturday afternoon with my young son and daughter. We had the popcorn ready, a tub of icecream and were all very excited to see the second installment of Spiderman's new adventures.

It didn't go well.

As others have said the film opens tremendously, unfortunately it goes so downhill from there that even the action packed final fight with Electro cannot leave you with a sweet aftertaste. And even if it had the blatant sequel setting up with the Rhino at the end would destroy the feeling anyway.

Their are numerous problems but mainly the film suffers from not only being way too long for a comic book superhero movie but manages to fill that time with a distinct lack of Spiderman. I have not counted the on-screen minutes of the wallcrawler but it wouldn't surprise me if there was less Spiderman in this than there was in the last one (and he wasn't even bitten by the spider until a fair way into that one!) Instead of The Amazing Spiderman as the film's title would lead you to believe we have about 2 hours of Peter Parker trying to investigate the deaths of his parents and deciding whether or not he wants a relationship with the incredibly gorgeous and available Gwen Stacey (seriously, do we really need this again).

It's with a heavy heart that i have to admit to this being the first of the recent slew of Superhero movies I have not enjoyed. I am a comic book fan and honestly do not expect too much from this sort of movie, all they need to do is get the casting and characters right and provide good action with a (slightly) credible story and its a great way to spend a couple of hours, this movie does none of that. Even the woeful miscasting and embarassing baggy leather jumpsuit of Ben Affleck as Daredevil was more enjoyable than this!

After getting most things right with the last movie Sony have really dropped the ball on this, if you are a fan of previous Spiderman movies avoid this and if you have a knowledge of the characters from the comics definitely avoid this or you will be left feeling as upset and disappointed as my children and I were! All we can hope is that Marvel can get one of their best loved characters back from Sony and give us the movie that Spiderman and all of us deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed marvel fan!!!, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a let down at nearly 2 and a half hours this film is way too long at least half an hour or so should have been left on the cutting room floor too much time and emphasis was put on spidermans relationship with gwen stacy most of this did nothing for flow of the film.as for harry osbournes character i found him to be very annoying and irritating.i found the special effects very good it's just a shame the film just lost its pace in parts.definitely not one of the best marvel films i have seen!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolute rubbish! Avoid at all costs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 20 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (Blu-ray)
This feel is a great disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother seriously!, 7 Jan. 2015
By 
Rt Giles "RTG" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Gave up after 15 minuets on sky, way too cheesy Peter Parker way too cool and cocky! People slated the 3rd Spider-Man film but at least Toby Maguire IS like how Peter Parker is meant to be. Lets hope they don't bother anymore with this franchise. BRING BACK TOBY! Make a proper venom/ carnage spider movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spidey Go Home..!, 19 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (DVD)
Just does'nt engage or make you feel like you care about the characters...film was okay but just not up to the Sami Rami version. Should just leave it alone few years til we almost forgot about it then Re-Boot it. Good CGI & Productiion but weak film. Disappointed is what comes to mind...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews