Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Being a superhero is not as easy as you think
I will always think of the original Spider Man 2 movie directed by Sam Raimi as the best, yet this one has several memorable moments, and I think delivers the most shocking and unexpected moment you are likely to see in any Spider Man movie.

I have seen most of the Marvel superhero/ mutant movies. Spider Man's world is mutant driven, it seems someone is always...
Published 2 months ago by L. Power

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same ol' same ol'
Peter Parker (Andrew Garfield) a.k.a. Spider-Man is going through a difficult patch. Not only does he get publically criticised as Spider-Man despite trying to always do the right thing, he has been thinking about his parents, why they abandoned him when he was just a small boy, why he was brought up by his aunt (Sally Field). Further, he's dwelling on the promise he...
Published 1 month ago by Valerie J.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same ol' same ol', 15 Jun 2014
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Peter Parker (Andrew Garfield) a.k.a. Spider-Man is going through a difficult patch. Not only does he get publically criticised as Spider-Man despite trying to always do the right thing, he has been thinking about his parents, why they abandoned him when he was just a small boy, why he was brought up by his aunt (Sally Field). Further, he's dwelling on the promise he made to his girlfriend Gwen's (Emma Stone) dying father that he would keep away from her as his role as super hero could put her in harm's way. Now more problems have surfaced. The head of Oscorp (Chris Cooper) has died and left everything to his son, Harry (Dane Dehaan), a friend of Peter's, including the genetic illness that he died from. And as if all that isn't enough, another super being calling himself Electro (Jamie Foxx) has raised his ugly blue head.

Following on from The Amazing Spider-Man (2012), Andrew Garfield once again heads an amazing cast of actors in this 140 minute movie which is packed with visual effects. When I say packed, I mean that more than half, perhaps 75% of the movie consists of explosive action scenes, fight scenes, and all the stuff that is supposed to make a movie terribly exciting but, in my case, bores me stiff. I got CGI overdosed as my eyes try to focus on, and determine, what was going on! What with Harry Osborn going weird, Jamie Foxx's character going blue in the face, and to top it all a Rhino-Man-Machine-Wotsit thumping down the high street, I was really glad when it all ended.

What I can say positively about it is that it has an amazing cast of actors and I was only sorry that one of my favourite actors, Oscar-winning Chris Cooper, had a very short role. I hardly noticed that Paul Giamatti was in the movie, not to mention a few other great actors and actresses. Maybe they got lost in the continuous explosions and blurred action scenes. Or maybe I just fell asleep.

VJ - Movies and Books World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Being a superhero is not as easy as you think, 11 May 2014
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Amazing Spider-Man 2 - Limited Edition with Comic Book (Amazon.co.uk Exclusive) [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
I will always think of the original Spider Man 2 movie directed by Sam Raimi as the best, yet this one has several memorable moments, and I think delivers the most shocking and unexpected moment you are likely to see in any Spider Man movie.

I have seen most of the Marvel superhero/ mutant movies. Spider Man's world is mutant driven, it seems someone is always a careless slip away from becoming a mutant or being killed by one. In this case, a weird electric geek gets a little careless above a pool of electric eels, while Harry Osborne seeks the cure for a fatal inherited disease with a blood sample from our web slinging hero.

Meanwhile things get complicated between Spider Man and his girlfriend, it's hard being a superhero balancing your superhero life with your romantic life, when a mutant emergency can call you away at a moment's notice. But our Spidey will always have these dilemmas. If only he did not date someone quite so intelligent, who may be able to get a scholarship to Oxford. Meanwhile, the mystery of what happened to Spidey's own parents continues to trouble him, and why were his fathers studies so dangerous that he had to disappear at a moment's notice leaving little pre Spidey to grow up without a father and troubled by abandonment issues.

If Spidey wanted to give it all up for love, would the mutants give up terrorizing New York City. Not for a New York minute. You see the difficulty, the work of a superhero never ends. Just when you think you're out, they pull you back in. Worse still is when your friends become mutants, with the added risk of suspecting or even guessing your identity, that can put you and your girlfriend Gwen in a whole stew of trouble. These are the dilemmas that occupy our web slinging friend. And what do you when your girlfriend has had enough, and tells you to sling it.

And another thing, some people think you are more of a nuisance than a public servant, unless there's a crisis, and then what. Then they know who their friend. People can be so..

And when one crisis is contained another emerges which may make for an unlikely alliance.

You see Spider Man alone of all the mutants uses his new abilities for good, while others are simply insane, or have an agenda that brings them into direct confrontation with Spider Man. No one can doubt Spidey's courage or determination, but even a superhero has his limits.

I enjoyed the performances in the movie. I thought Electro was an interesting villain, and I could even see how he might defeat Spidey, but in the end what I will remember most is that falling moment which seemed to go on forever. At one point I had a slight sense of vertigo as Spidey plunged from a tall building.

If there is anything we can learn from this movie it's that love is harder than you think, it takes work, sometimes love isn't enough and that it's dangerous to think you can control a mutant.

If you liked the previous Spider Man movies I think you will like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Very Average Spider-Man, 25 April 2014
I really liked the original Amazing Spiderman back in 2012 and liked the first two films in the original trilogy but The Amazing Spiderman 2 is a hard film to like. I thought the Spiderman reboot back in 2012 was well done as the first two Spiderman films killed off 2 of Spiderman’s main nemesis. I liked the way that the Amazing Spiderman allowed for a more expanded storyline despite The Lizard being a very weak villain with an origin story that mirrored The Green Goblins from the first film. Sadly, The Amazing Spiderman 2 has the same problem as The Amazing Spiderman 1 as the main villain Electro is awful. The secondary villain; spoiler alert (it’s not really a spoiler if you have seen the trailers) The Green Goblin is even worse while the third villain isn’t actually a villain; somebody just gave a mobster a robotic suit and he kept shouting out that he was Rhino.

Sometimes a great villain is all that is needed to make a great film and Willem Defoe made Spiderman 2002 awesome. I mean the man stole the show with a brilliantly OTT performance which is exactly how The Green Goblin was meant to be played. Here, the film suffers the same problem as the awful Spiderman 3 in that there are 2 villains taking up too much screen time or not enough. Electros origin story is just awful with no real motivation for the character while The Green Goblin doesn’t have an origin story (the suit seemed to be the nearest thing that Harry Osborn could reach). Yes, Harry is The Green Goblin here and Dane DeHaan is badly out of his depth actually making James Franco’s turn as The Green Goblin seem like it was actually good. He turns bad so quickly that you wonder why they writers didn’t at least give him a little more screen time to explain any of this.

But while weak villains are just one of this films problems the main problem is the story which is just all over the place. This film is more a collection of set pieces than an actual film with a plot. The 2012 Amazing Spiderman managed to keep the story relatively simple with an origin story and a focused plot. Here the film suffers by throwing way too much on screen in preparation for the sequels and possible spin off movies.

Another problem is the awful CGI which is used way too much. The 2012 film said that it wanted to put more focus on practical effects but this film has no practical effects at all. The final fight scenes special effects are ridiculous.

Finally, you might be wondering after all the bad things that I have said about this film why have I given it three stars; answer. I think that Andrew Garfield makes a better Spiderman and Peter Parker than Tobey Maguire while Emma Stone is far better as Gwen Stacy than Kirsten Dunst ever was as Mary Jane Watson. The film does have some good points as well with a few surprises. If you are bored and there is nothing better to do then this film is worth a look. It’s a pretty average film. It’s not great but it’s not terrible either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not a perfect film, but I was entertained from start to finish, 22 July 2014
Yes there are some filler scenes, the odd bit of dialogue can be a bit cheesy and the rhino sucked but as a spider-man fan I loved this film. Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone are brilliant and the action sequences were really entertaining. Also loved the soundtrack. Everyone has there own opinion of course but fans of spider-man will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Likeable but Flawed Spider-Man, 22 April 2014
Following the events of the previous installment, Peter Parker has now embraced his identity as Spider-Man and is learning to live a double life. All that could change when a new villain is born, putting both he and the ones he loves in grave danger... I seemed to be in a minority, but I quite liked The Amazing Spider-Man. Garfield is the perfect Peter Parker, just the right amount of nerdy, cheeky and brooding in equal measure; Maguire's Peter was just a touch too serious for my liking. I also like Garfield as Spider-Man for much the same reason - he brings in the witticisms that the comic book character is known for, and I personally enjoy it when superhero movies embrace their slightly campy source material. The Amazing Spider-Man 2 delivers more of the same in this vein; but while I enjoyed the movie overall, I felt it lacked the focus of the first installment, leading to an uneven, slightly haphazard film.

The positives of the series so far are abundant; the chemistry between Garfield and Stone is palpable, and it's easy to see their real-life affection. Hell, it oozes out of them, and it means that you can't help rooting for Gwen Stacy, which only makes the discord between them more frustrating. Stone's Stacy is wonderful; she is, as Peter repeatedly asserts, adorable, but underneath there is a steely core of intelligence, empathy and kindness that render her a worthy super-hero sidekick. I also like the trend of tragic villains the series has so far displayed; even the most despicable behaviour is explained (although never justified) by the sufferings of the characters. This is particularly true in the case of Electro; maybe I'm a sap, but it broke my heart seeing his transformation. He is not innately evil; just lonely, just misunderstood, and there is always an interesting element of contrast between these villains and Spider-Man himself - you find yourself asking, is this the path he could have taken if things had been different?

However, it's very patchy: TAS-M2 has moments of sheer brilliance, particularly in its meta-references (listen to Peter's ringtone and shriek with joy!) and the sassy one-liners Peter comes out with, but there's too much going on at any given moment. I think it suffered from trying to cram in too many plot points at once; this meant that none got the gravity or the closure that they deserved. The Electro plot was intriguing and well done, but it came to a very premature end as the film takes a totally different tack. The ending; ah, the ending. I knew it was coming, as will most with a knowledge outside the film franchise, but oh, it broke my heart. I don't wish to reveal spoilers, but what happened is a huge part of Spider-Man mythology and I just don't think it was given enough screen time. The last moments of the film felt totally at odds with the tone established after the climactic battle, and it jarred for me; the 'happy ending' cliché didn't seem applicable in this case, and I wish they had saved it for The Amazing Spider-Man 3.

It's difficult to summarise exactly how I felt about TAS-M2; part of me loved it, loved the fast-paced, tongue in cheek action combined with the Dawson's Creek-esque romance plot, but the other part was irritated by the amount of plotlines shoved into the mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I HAD A FRIEND ONCE. IT DIDN'T WORK OUT., 2 May 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Every super hero needs a super villain. This episode introduces us to Electro (Jamie Foxx) and the Green Goblin (Dane DeHaan). If that wasn't enough Peter (Andrew Garfield) must deal with his on again/off again relationship with Gwen Stacy (Emma Stone) and he discovers the truth about his father (Campbell Scott) and Oscorp.

I love these modern superhero blockbuster updates. Rest assure, that is not how Pu-238 is transported...but it makes good cinema.

I will also say I disapprove of the ending, bit I'll get over it. The film contains drama and heart as well as good action scenes. In fact if anything Spiderman was able to take care of his foes a little too easy.

The film sets up for a crazy action sequel. Break out the popcorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wasted opportunity., 15 July 2014
This review is from: Amazing Spider-Man 2 - Limited Edition with Comic Book (Amazon.co.uk Exclusive) [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Garbage, for all the hype. Wasted villains, a plot line so flimsy the film may as well just be tracking the social drama of Peter Parker rather than Spiderman and almost a mirror of the faults of the clustered Spiderman 3 (which still manages to be better than this.) Garfield is good, effects are good, the movie is bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I hate that song...., 23 April 2014
This review is from: Amazing Spider-Man 2 - Limited Edition with Comic Book (Amazon.co.uk Exclusive) [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Having the inclusion of three villains in this sequel really had me concerned for the movie, especially seeing that the Goblin was being reintroduced so soon after the Raimi version (I know it's been 12 years, but it's really not that long ago if your at a certain age).

Plus it doesn't really help having the slightly fresh taste of the monstrosity that was Spider- Man 3.

But hey, its a new franchise, with a new spin on the web slinger, and thank heavens that the majority of people who have commented on the poorness of the film are wrong, plain wrong, but all opinions are respected.

The film focuses more on Peter and his demons, coming to terms with his promise that he made to captain Stacy, and the mysterious events that led to his parents murders. And then this seamlessly melds into the prerogatives of the main villain, Osborn, looking like a cross between DiCaprio, Basketball Diaries Era, and Adolf Hitler.

Dehaans Osborn is a more sinister, gloomier version than Franco's Jock like take, and he owns the film when he is on screen. His story is the bulk of the sub plot, and he is fascinating.

Foxx is the weak point here, like a cross between Gus Gorman in Superman III, and the electric gremlin from The New batch. He is nothing more than a stooge for Osborn, but he does garner the greatest set piece in the film.

Garfield and Stone are as wonderful as expected, and his Spider-Man is just like the one from all those great cartoons of the eighties, sarcastic, human, and funny.

The film is a lot darker in tone, than other Marvel movies, and at sometimes, it's very touching, especially during the final showdown with Rhino.

The script and characterisation could have down with a little tweaking, but we are watching a film about a man who has been bitten by a radioactive spider, fighting a man made of electric, an trying to get the girl, so it's pretty much forgiven.

All in all, its a wonderful popcorn flick, really setting up the mood for the whole sinister six part of the franchise, and the score is brilliant, really brilliant in some places, just could of done without the Max Dillon comic relief music.

See it and enjoy it. It's going to be one of the biggest movies of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Amazing Spiderman 2 review, 19 April 2014
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amazing Spider-Man 2 - Limited Edition with Comic Book (Amazon.co.uk Exclusive) [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
The Amazing Spiderman 2 returns to the big screen featuring the web based hero. Andrew Garfield Stars as the super hero. The latest film features a new super villain.

Jamie Fox stars as a geeky loner Matt Dillion. He is an employee of Oscorp Industries. He develops an obsession of Spiderman. This obsession has been triggered by the fact that Spiderman rescued him and it means a lot.There is a shrine in Matt's room showing Spiderman. He mumbles about Spiderman missing his birthday. He loses the balance whilst doing a maintenance job. He plunges into the water of a container consisting of electric eels. These are used for experiments. He becomes electrified, thus becoming Electro. He goes on the rampage of terrifying New York, with his powers. Spiderman faces a new enemy. How does he battle with the new enemy? Can he reason with the enemy?

Harry Osborn Jnr, a close friend of Peter Parker arrives at Oscorp Industries. Harry's father sadly perishes, as he is terminally ill. He is appointed the new CEO of the industry. We learn a lot about Harry as a person. The young Harry is facing a major problem. He is requesting a massive favour from Spiderman, who advises not to do. Harry is an explosive person, as he shows a distrubing and dark side to his personality. This side story open up for future sequels, as you are about to find out.

Meanwhile, Peter Parker has a lot on his plate, whilst not being Spiderman. Peter discovers the sudden disappearance of his father during childhood. How does he react hearing the shocking truth? I admire the close bonding between Peter and Aunt Mary, who took care of him as a child. Peter's relationship with Gwen is going through a difficult time. It shows special and romantic moments between the two characters.. As in previous instalment, Gwen's father dies. He was a noble policeman. Peter made a promise. He is haunted by the images. The story featuring Gwen forms a significant part to the plot.

Amazing Spiderman 2 picks up from the first instalment. There is plenty of character development, as we learn a lot about Peter Parker as an ordinary lad and as a super hero. The momentum and pace builds up much quicker than the first one. There is action and excitement, but not on a large scale. At the same time, there is emotional scenes throughout the film. The balances between character development and action is spot on. The different stories involving the super hero are cleverly delivered and makes the film interesting. The special effect are amazing and terrifying showing Spiderman moving from one building to another at a staggering speed and a stunning view of New York.

Garfield is an ideal replacement, to Tobey Maguire. I felt the predecessor was quite bland and lacking passion. Garfield adds passion and connects to the audience by delivering a solid performance. There is a plenty of emotion and depth in Spiderman's character. I could connect to the character.The dialogues are sophisticated, not too cheesy. Overall, I like the film. It is about 2 hours and half, with good reason. It definitely opens up for sequels.Ths super hero is based on a comic series following a sequence of events. Who is going to be the next villain? How does Spiderman's character develop following tragic news? This is the beauty of watching a super hero film, as you curiosity grows. Super hero films are reaching a new level in terms of story telling unlike mudance super hero films of the noughties and the nineties. There is a vast improvement.

I feel the film focues more on depth in story telling and character development. The action sequences are not on a large scale. The scenes appear in small bursts. The emphasis and tone is somehwhat different. The word sombre spring to mind. Overall, I would recommend the film if you are an avid fan of Spiderman and like a well crafted super hero film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not amazing, 6 May 2014
The Amazing Spider-Man 2 improves over it's predecessor, but it's still not as good as the original trilogy. The action is great, but in some other areas, it's not as amazing. The story struggles in part, and the Rhino feels much too over the top. The scenes with him are the worst in the movie. But overall, very enjoyable, and a must-watch for Spider-Man fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews