Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars249
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2014
This is my first cd by T.W.O.D and what a great album, i love it. Brainier musical minds than mine when i read the reviews said how T.W.O.D were a cross between Petty, Dylan and Springsteen, and that is most definitely true. This has been in my car cd player since the day it arrived, a brilliant album and a must for anyone, especially those who enjoy any of the mentioned artists, you wont be sorry!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 May 2015
Having come to War on Drugs through Slave Ambient and thoroughly enjoyed that I was anxious to try the next album.
Now for some quirk initially I was not as impressed; I’m putting that down to having a touch of ‘flu at the time, because these days it’s played at least once a day.

Whether it’s the fast paced uplift of Red Eyes or the haunting reflection of Lost in A Dream, this album has no filler track. There is much texture and melody within each, the music melding something of the old American laments of the 19th Century moving through the thoughtful folk and folk-rock of the 1960s and onto the challenge of Indy/Alternative of these days.

Much has been said about this already, this is only by own small contribution of affirmation for what has the qualities of being one of the top albums of 2015.

When I am ever in a sour or short-fuse mood (not uncommon), this album is played and I feel a whole lot better afterwards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Inspirational piece of songwriting by War On Drugs' Adam Granduciel yet again. Elegantly arranged exploratory and mesmerising songs full of textured layers, atmospheric 80's synths, hazy guitars, pulsating drums beats and vocals echoing in and out like a dream!

If you liked Slave Ambient, your love it! Wagon Wheel Blues is also a great record! If you get a chance to see them live do it!!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
Not a reviewer generally but bought this on the strength of reviews here - not wise, I now realise - and really cannot see or hear what the fuss is about. Yes, I get the detached vocal style and the guitar licks - all kinda Knopfler-ish - but without the driving drums there's really not a lot left -certainly nothing worth getting excited about in my opinion. I found the production uneven, the vocals/lyrics pretty much inaudible (compare this to Dire Straits or Springsteen) and the songs apart from the first one - Under the Pressure - anonymous and tedious. Lots of reviewers are citing Dylan and Springsteen but the real comparison - and one that highlights just how underwhelming Lost in the Dream is - is Nils Lofgren. Seriously, any of Lofgren's solo outings wipe the floor with this similar sounding but very much lesser War on Drugs release.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Caught the single on 6 music and decided to risk the album. Gentle lilting album ( a little too so, as I invariably enter into slumber before the end) but excellent musicianship and rewarding of repeated listenings. Recommended plus plus
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 January 2015
My new album of the year for 2014. Great music, a mixture of prog rock, classic rock and Americana which really works for me. I don't buy a lot of new music but this is exceptionally well recorded and a great vinyl pressing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Not for the first time, I come to review an album and find that Red on Black has already posted an excellent review containing most of what I wanted to say. I have almost nothing to add except that I agree wholeheartedly: this is a first-rate album of fine, varied songs performed with real power and musicianship of the highest order.

That's it really. My advice is to read RoB's excellent review, listen to a few samples and then snap the album up. It's very good indeed.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I listen to this all the time. Brilliant stuff, from an old git like me more used to listening to the Floyd, Zeppelin, Genesis and so on. Can't wait to see them live in a few months.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
One of the best albums in the last 5 years. Beautiful for background music or to immerse yourself in. Strangely reminiscent of Dire Straits but don't let that put you off!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
It feels like we had to wait too long for “The War on Drugs” next record “Lost in the dream”. The quality of “Slave Ambient” also created a certain expectation. Then with a smile on my face I can say the band has delivered an album with sixty minutes of great music and is totally worth the anticipation.

Adam Graduciel wrote the songs for after the relationship with his girlfriend broke up. In many songs he tells and sings about the suffering, the feelings, the doubts but also his contemplation and the hope. With this info you could and would expect an hard, dark album, but that’s just not the case. It’s a rather uplifting, still hopeful and cheerful record with excellent, full music. Somehow the contradiction within the record is that although most lyrics could be described as down-lifting, the music is up-lifting.

“Lost in the Dream”: Gone are instrumental parts/songs that felt a little like fillers. A Dylanasque laconic style of singing is present. A dreamy touch is present. Proper sonic textures, accents, changes and nuances are present. Songs born from a soundscape are present. Some Yeah's' en 'Woohoo's' outbursts are present. Music that pushes your forward is present. Distinctive drums are present. A wealth of details is present.

Opening track “Under the pressure” starts with a strange drum sound that makes you think something went wrong with the production or something is wrong with your stereo. But no, it is a clatter of electronic cymbals. Quickly enough it floats into this great, long track. You immediately realize why you were waiting for this record all the time. During the song there are subtle changes of speed, subtle changes of mood and subtle changes of style all put together into this one, most excellent song. At the end you realize the track is a summary of the best of its predecessor “Slave Ambient”. The song is so clever, so rich with changes in details and secretly building up to a climax that you will accept that after the climax the song ends with a kind of fade out of three minutes. What a track!

The single “Red Eyes” perfectly fits with the style of “Brothers” (the faster version) and “Coming Through”: strong acoustic guitar as the basis. “Suffering” is a slow ballad definitely not in the traditional way. No surprise, because we are listening to The War on Drugs. It takes a few turns to like the song, because we are not used to a ballad by this band, especially when the song shares the writers suffering of a broken relationship. But add a Pink Floyd-style slow saxophone to the song and maybe you have the picture: sitting on couch beside Adam, putting your arm around his shoulder to comfort him, to tell him it is going to be alright.

For two songs it is like where to go and maybe one or two minutes could have been left out. But then “Eyes to the wind” is the sound of hope and the sound of re-finding yourself. With a strong acoustic guitar as the basis of the song structure has a small hint of ELO in their best days, but without orchestra. It marks the change in the record from a somehow darker first half into a more resigned and elated second part of the record. It's like we are told that we don't have to worry: everything is going to be alright. “Slave Ambient” provided instrumental sections that sometimes felt like using them to fill it up. On “Lost in the dream” those kind of sections have perfectly melted within the songs themselves. “The haunting Idle” is the only instrumental, it’s the (indeed) haunting warm-up for ‘Burning’

The style, the mood and the atmosphere of “Lost in the dream” record fits very well with “Slave Ambient”, but it is definitely not a copy. On the contrary: in the last few months I have asked myself the question how the band could follow-up the strong “Slave Ambient” The only right answer by “The War on Drugs” is to come with an even stronger and superior one.

“Lost in the dream” is an excellent mix of ambient and Americana. The record is a triumph.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)