Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic
Love love love the story line been hooked since book one can't wait to see what happens to the characters in book 7 hopefully will be out soon
Published 10 months ago by yvonne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unimaginable Dross
I will ask anyone who is literate and who has some knowledge of French history, particularly of the Revolution, to speculate in which alternate universe Jacques Necker, the well-known director general of finance under Louis XVI, would sit in his garden drinking tea and conversing with three gentlemen named Samuel, Richard, and Tyrone. TYRONE? In 1789? In Paris...
Published 11 months ago by The Just-About-Average Ms. M


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madeline : The Whore of Paris - Book 6 (Kindle Edition)
Love love love the story line been hooked since book one can't wait to see what happens to the characters in book 7 hopefully will be out soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unimaginable Dross, 18 Dec 2013
I will ask anyone who is literate and who has some knowledge of French history, particularly of the Revolution, to speculate in which alternate universe Jacques Necker, the well-known director general of finance under Louis XVI, would sit in his garden drinking tea and conversing with three gentlemen named Samuel, Richard, and Tyrone. TYRONE? In 1789? In Paris? Unfortunately, the author's complete inability to understand proper French names for the period during which he is trying to write [emphasis on "trying"] that was on such hilarious display in the first novella of this appalling series continues in full spate here, in the sixth novella. I had hoped he might improve in this respect if in no other, but he hasn't. This time, in addition to the truly memorable Tyrone, we have William, Frederick, Rosie, Margaret, Alexis, Marion, and someone called Denig. Even the acceptable Jacqueline is shortened to the unacceptable Jacqui. I can't explain where Oswald, the jailer in the boring but de rigueur prologue, comes by his not-French name. One of the men Our Heroine falls in lust with at the end of this fortunately brief bit of tripe is named Simone. Since he is described as very much a man, I have to wonder about the feminine spelling. Or not.

While the names have not improved, the historical backdrop, such as it is, has become worse. There is not a single instance of historical accuracy with regard to these early days of the Revolution, other than a brief paragraph culled, one imagines, from Wikipedia, that universal source of knowledge for many a self-published author. The Revolution is continually referred to as a rebel uprising or "a nations revolt against the system." Necker is shown predicting the storming of the Bastille and saying "the proletariat will prevail" when that word will not see the light of day until 1847. The Swiss Guards march through the streets instead of guarding the king at Versailles, and when the Parisians finally obtain muskets, there is an orgy of running about the streets shooting at anything that moves. There is also the bizarre notion that because aristocrats frequent Monique DeVille's establishment, this house is or will be an imminent target of the mobs. Not true in July 1789. Not even close. Fortunately, the Revolution remains very much in the background, thus sparing us more wildly incorrect views of history.

This sixth installment is replete with marvelous examples of Truly Awful Writing. The difficulty is choosing which examples to showcase when there are so many. How about these, just for laughs, although I'm certain the author did not mean them to be humorous:

"This was mind games in a seat of power and was only one of the many things he had surpassed at."

"The outcome of this will hark in a new future for France."

"Unable to reach her mouth to drink, its topmost contents spilled..."

"Would you mind waiting over yonder?"

"He let the bare feet of his bent legs curl themselves into the cool grass below."

"Only muttered utterances off in the distance somewhere as was her body felt it to be, with it detaching itself and being a thousand miles from her mind."

"...with her butterfly filled stomach in knots, below it there was a rising of zeal within her loins....the surge of waves exploded out through her loins in quick concession as to have her convulse within."

"She peaked down over the window's edge. The street below lay vacant with not a living sole..."

The continued--and continual--use of blatant anachronisms has not abated. Instead, it has managed to become even more pronounced. We have people indulging in "a casual fling," asking if something is "Okay," saying "Yuk!" or its variant, "Yuck!", and telling someone else to "Do your math." I'm fond of the individual who had "an identity crisis," the character who asked, "What is the big deal with this Sylvia?", the person who announced that "Since then she's become a bit of a fruitcake," the one who said, "Get serious Frederick," and "Get serious Jacqui," and whoever said he was "Gonna get some shut eye now." I simply adore the person who said, "We've shown Paris how to party," and Simone [?] who described a sexual activity as the "slam bam approach" of an inexperienced youth. Almost everyone, other than Jacques Necker, says "Yeah," which to this author must be an acceptable substitution for `oui,' or even `yes.'

I noticed that the sexual encounters in this installment were every bit as unintentionally hilarious as they were in the first. They had very little to do with reality, and with their overblown and often incorrect clinical descriptions, robbed them of any trace of sensuality. The scene between Madeline and Simone reminded me of a fantasy dreamed up by a thirteen-year-old who was just this side of puberty. Cheap thrills, as it were, and poorly written at that. I also noticed that many of the characters, especially Frederick and Charlotte, sound like uneducated boors, dropping the F-bomb in virtually every sentence where they don't use the four-letter word for excrement. As some wise person once said, profanity is the hallmark of small minds who can't think of anything useful to say. In this case, and in such overwhelming usage, it does nothing at all. These characters also manage to sound like they would be more at home in East London or the wrong side of Glasgow or Manchester.

Unfortunately, I expect this travesty of a series to continue as long as friends and relatives award each volume with five or four stars and a gushing, two or three sentence non-review. One evening when I had nothing much to do, I checked all the four and five star reviews for all five books. I discovered that a significant majority of these four and five star reviews were written by individuals who have never reviewed another book, or any other book not written by this author. For example, there were 30 four/five star reviews for Book One, with 26 written by these one-time-only folks. For Book Two, there were 11 four/five stars awarded by 8 one-time-only reviewers; for Book Three we have 9 and 7; for Book Four there are 4 and 3; and for Book Five there are 6 and 5. One of these one-time-only wonders actually wrote that "David's writting ability is fantastic...David is one of our great home grown authors you will not be dissapointed."

Well, I think the writing is abysmal, and I will be disappointed only if more of this dreck appears for sale. Even as a free Kindle download it's too much to pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madeline : The Whore of Paris - Book 6 (Kindle Edition)
A great collection of books. Thoroughly enjoyed the storylines and the individual characters. Will definitely be keeping an eye out for book seven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best books I've ever read !!, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madeline : The Whore of Paris - Book 6 (Kindle Edition)
I have read all 6 books now and these are by far the best I have ever read . Can't wait for book 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story line., 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madeline : The Whore of Paris - Book 6 (Kindle Edition)
This story line is brilliant, the only problem is they hook you in and end at the really interesting bit. I just need more....more...more. Truly gripping, just wish the books where a little longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Madeline, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madeline : The Whore of Paris - Book 6 (Kindle Edition)
Have read all six of the Madeline books while on holiday and enjoyed everyone, eagerly waiting for the next one x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars want more please, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madeline : The Whore of Paris - Book 6 (Kindle Edition)
good read waiting for the other volume great value , enjoyed left me wanting to red more as thoroughly enjoyed them , quite grafic in places that may not suit some readers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Wait Is Too Long, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madeline : The Whore of Paris - Book 6 (Kindle Edition)
Well - enjoyed all the books so far, but just like the other comments on here I feel that the time between these books is making me - agitated - too long a wait for book 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping read, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madeline : The Whore of Paris - Book 6 (Kindle Edition)
Great read could hardly put it down. Looking forward to reading book seven in this series, hope I don't have to wait too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, poor editing, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madeline : The Whore of Paris - Book 6 (Kindle Edition)
I'm really enjoying the story, and the exploits of all involved, but the amount of spelling errors is incredible and has started to irritate me. I find it hard to believe this book was proof read. That aside, I'm looking forward to the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madeline : The Whore of Paris - Book 6
£2.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews