Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO BS Self Publishing Advice
Sean and Johnny (and Dave) host a weekly podcast on self publishing. They share what they know, get people on to help them with stuff they don't know (but want to learn), and they are very clear that the way to make a living writing fiction is to write the best book you can, and then write another...and another...and another.

This book is a continuation of all...
Published 8 months ago by Paul Wolfe

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Read, repeat, read
I had high hopes for this book and it started strongly. Buried amongst the detail are several nuggets of information. Unfortunately, the content is repeated many, many times. I could edit this book myself down to around 10,000 words of wisdom. The writers clearly know their stuff but I just cant help but think they are holding back. The last chapter is a good example of...
Published 6 months ago by Ian Foster


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The best of its kind, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Tim Stevens (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
Yes, the hype's to be believed. This is the single best volume there is available for the already-published indie author. It probably won't suit people just starting out, as it deliberately doesn't offer detailed advice about formatting, the process of publishing, etc. Rather, it focuses on the basics a reasonably talented writer should focus on to make their work the best it can be, distribute it, and market it.

The concepts it introduces - funnelling, calls to action, and others - aren't radically new, but the way they're presented made me wonder why I hadn't consciously adopted them in my books before. This isn't some feel-good ego-massager of a book; the authors rub home time and again that building a successful indie publishing career involves an enormous amount of sustained, focused work. But unlike say Joe Konrath, who's forever emphasising the role of luck, Platt and Truant make a strong case that hard work will very often, and perhaps even usually, generate considerable income given enough time.

Worth rereading, and rereading for inspiration. I should also mention that it's extremely funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Self Published Writer? Want to be better?, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
If you've heard the Self Publishing Podcast, you know you'll learn a thing or two here. If you haven't heard it, go out and listen to it now. This book puts all the information they talk about together in an easy to read book that will help you become an awesome writer.

Goes into some great strategies, like funnels, email lists and more. Gives their own examples of how they have got to where they are.

Highly recommend, and will be putting what I learnt here into practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A useful and encouraging guide for indie authors., 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
I thought this was a good guide to how to approach writing and selling books as an indie author. It looks at the process intelligently as a single connected whole, focusing on core approaches, not just trends or details. A great help for anyone thinking of starting to self-publish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiration, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
The great thing about this book is that it inspired my own thoughts on strategies, schedules and book launches. The info in this guide was the spark that allowed me to set out a detailed business plan for my writing career. Lots of great tips and advice. Strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I thought I knew about self-publishing is in this ..., 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything I thought I knew about self-publishing is in this book. It's invaluable. Without it, I'd be heading for disaster! I read a little each day for motivation and to check that I'm on the right track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
A simple approach - but one that *is* helpful and reliable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I read the sample, 12 Jun 2014
Which was a generous three chapters, and therefore enough to base a review on. In the first section there was some matey chatter about how the three authors of the book work together, familiar tales of false starts before hitting the medium-sized time, patient partners and unlikely-sounding fiction efforts. In common with many of the self-pubbers mentioned, these chaps do very well in the books-for-writers niche. There may be more meat in following chapters, but perhaps it would set a good example to have more than one good idea in the sample to encourage customers to buy the whole book (the one good idea was the 'funnel' concept, essentially a re-branding of the common sense idea of using a teaser and having a sequel ready before you publish).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews