Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO BS Self Publishing Advice
Sean and Johnny (and Dave) host a weekly podcast on self publishing. They share what they know, get people on to help them with stuff they don't know (but want to learn), and they are very clear that the way to make a living writing fiction is to write the best book you can, and then write another...and another...and another.

This book is a continuation of all...
Published 4 months ago by Paul Wolfe

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Read, repeat, read
I had high hopes for this book and it started strongly. Buried amongst the detail are several nuggets of information. Unfortunately, the content is repeated many, many times. I could edit this book myself down to around 10,000 words of wisdom. The writers clearly know their stuff but I just cant help but think they are holding back. The last chapter is a good example of...
Published 2 months ago by Ian Foster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not for aspiring self publishers of literary fiction..., 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
The narration is simple and direct although the lengthy introduction is self- indulgent and unnecessary. However , the more I read about self-publishing, the less I'm convinced it's for anything other than genre writers - and that's not snobbery....

If the paradigm is ' write, publish, repeat' and these guys talk about 'cranking out a book a week' ( Holy Moses! Didn't Jimmy Joyce spend an entire day on a sentence?) and writing 10 books to make a significant impact - athen it seems obvious - Vladimir Nabokov wrote 9 novels in 33 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent advice for any writer - published or not., 20 Mar 2014
By 
T. Donbavand (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
As a fan of the Self-Publishing Podcast, I knew this book was likely to be chock-full of advice for anyone who wants to write and is considering self-publishing their work. But, I have to admit, even I wasn't ready for just how honest that advice would be. It's great to hear Johnny, Sean and through them, Dave, explain that there is no quick fix when it comes to writing for a living. You have to put the hours in. You have to do the work. You have to write - and write a lot. Trust me - not all 'how I did it' books lay down that truth (I'm looking at you, JL...) Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars “Writing is an art and publishing a business”, 20 Mar 2014
By 
James Minter (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
As an indie author with three books already under my belt, I know how hard the whole process is. There is no “silver bullet” for success, only as Jonny and Sean say, a lot of hard work; though the trick is to work smarter and not harder. ‘How to’ books like this are useful as a way of assessing your actives – writing and selling – against others experiences. They provide an opportunity to find new / better ways of doing things; so working smarter.
Packed with information, hints, tips and examples there is plenty to dwell on and take in. Written in a chatty style, for me, this approach generates too much verbiage over substance. I’d take out the waffle and reduce the book by a third. This wouldn’t diminish its impact or usefulness – quite the opposite. That said, the best advice I took from this book is “…writing more is … the best way to find readers, and writing more is … the best way to turn some of those readers into fans.” And fans are the key to your success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of useful information!, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
This book is geared towards the self published author, but I found that there is a lot of information inside that any author, planning to publish, either independently or otherwise, could find useful.

If you are planning on self publishing then this is a great book to read. If you are intending to go the traditional route then you still wouldn't do yourself any harm in reading this because there is plenty in there that you can benefit from. For instance, one quote I highlighted from the book - "The harder I work, the luckier I get," If you want a career in writing, you need to write and if you like to read writing books, then this is a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you!, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful book that I couldn't put down once I opened it. Don't fall for all the snake oil merchants who'll tell you how to game the system on Amazon that won't work in 6 months time, grab this book and nothing else and your self publishing business can't help but grow. Thank's guy's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've bought more of his books since, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
What can I say? This book lead me to buy and read Fat Vampire, which I also loved.

This book is incredible. Not only does it give you clear, easy to understand guidelines to THEIR methods, but it explains why their methods worked for them in each step. Not everybody will be able to work the way these three men do, of course not, but the tips and strategies they describe can be modified and fiddled to suit your own capabilities.

More than that, this book inspired me to keep churning it out. The title said it all, and to be honest, it's the most sound piece of advice anybody can give a self publishing author. You'll find it damn hard to sell one book. Selling five books will be easier. Selling ten will be easier still. If you have a catalogue of twenty+ books, you're setting yourself up for success, whether you believe it or not.
Thanks guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, if a little self-indulgent., 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
Let me say at the outset that this is a valuable book if you're thinking about a career as a serial fiction writer, because it does a good job of explaining how to serialise and link stories for maximum commercial profit. However, there is a lot of self-aggrandizing to wade through in order to extract the nuggets. There's no doubt these guys are successful at what they do, but if you haven't read their stuff (which I haven't) it might be a bit confusing. However, since the primary aim (and they make no secret of it) is to grab more customers for their fiction series, then it's difficult to criticise the strategy. It's more about writing than publishing, however the key messages are strong and all-in-all it's a decent piece of work. Four stars because there's a bit too much fluff for my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read This Book and Don't Write At Your Peril, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
I'm a budding non-fiction writer and I found this book to be informative regarding indie publishing BUT more importantly it was really a wake up call to write and write and write and then write some more. The strategies in the book are priceless and I learned more about sales funnels and continuity income from this book than any other promise on the Internet (and they made no such promise either).

Well done guys, if you don't mind I've got s*** to write so I'll be off now :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very worthwhile read, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
If you only read one book about self publishing - let it be this. If you only trust two men to tell you the truth about the work you're going to have to do, and about the get rich quick you're not going to get, quick anyway - let it be these two men: the prosaically named Sean Platt and the improbably named Johnny B. Truant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read for writers who want to self-publish, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write. Publish. Repeat. (The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success) (Kindle Edition)
Self-publishing, before Amazon admittedly, seemed scary. Now writers have options, books like these are useful reference as they give great advice on how to retain the momentum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6da4ea0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews