Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I have found another author.
This story must have caused the author to do some serious research in the various agencies in this story. Interwoven are the Knight Templars, Mossad, The bible, The Ark of the Covenent, the sacred Menorah from Solomon's temple and lets not forget the Freemasons. This tale has them all in full and as our heroine and her friend/ally try to find the ark and menorah before...
Published 6 months ago by Kindle Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I liked the religious and historical information but the story around which it hug was poor. The main protagonist, Ava was just not believable. She had more lives than the proverbial cat. Repeated use of describing something as 'sinister' does not make it so. The writing was generally quite juvenile and characterisations shallow. To begin with I thought I would enjoy the...
Published 3 months ago by Ruby England


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I have found another author., 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword of Moses (Kindle Edition)
This story must have caused the author to do some serious research in the various agencies in this story. Interwoven are the Knight Templars, Mossad, The bible, The Ark of the Covenent, the sacred Menorah from Solomon's temple and lets not forget the Freemasons. This tale has them all in full and as our heroine and her friend/ally try to find the ark and menorah before a psychomaniac who intends to use them for evil comes to an amazing climax where the heroine feels betrayed, lost and about to meet her death. A thoroughly enjoyable read front fist to last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Generally very good but a bit 'tantric', 11 Mar 2014
By 
Duncan Andrew Gaylor (LEWES, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword of Moses (Kindle Edition)
I just finished this, eventually, and would have given it the full five stars if it hadn't been for the fact that the end was a bit drawn out. It manages to mix a number of themes together quite convincingly: biblical relics like the Ark of the Covenant, the Spear/Lance of Longinus, the Menorah; Nazis, a wannabe Aleister Crowley; the security services of more than one country; worldwide conspiracy etc etc. It starts off quite fast paced then settles into something a bit more pedestrian. This would be forgiveable if you could not see the general direction of travel but the plot is quite well signposted. That in itself is not a criticism as the joy of a well written book far outweighs any issues of predictability. My problem is the sustained climax which seems to have no real purpose. I found myself thinking "Just get on with it!" more than a couple of times, which is a shame because it is a good book. The final bit where the loose ends are all tidied up and everybody gets on with their normal lives is also over long. Please don't be put off by these comments, however - just get ready to scan during the last 20% of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword of Moses (Paperback)
I initially downloaded the Kindle first few chapters on Kindle and was so horrified when finished those that I immediately bought the whole book. Having read "The da Vinci Code" in literally one sitting, I was pleased that this took me a few days to finish, constantly testing me and the characters with puzzles, interesting arcane facts and twists that you genuinely didn't see coming.

I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a fast paced and packed thriller with well written and believable characters that will challenge them, make them think and, whilst entertaining them thoroughly, educate the a little at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword of Moses (Kindle Edition)
I liked the religious and historical information but the story around which it hug was poor. The main protagonist, Ava was just not believable. She had more lives than the proverbial cat. Repeated use of describing something as 'sinister' does not make it so. The writing was generally quite juvenile and characterisations shallow. To begin with I thought I would enjoy the book but it just went on far too long and became boring. However I did stick it out and eventually if fished the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An obvious historian, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword of Moses (Kindle Edition)
Having read many books in this genre, I was happy to find such well researched and educated writing. As an adventure novel, it was well paced throughout and I found it an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Temple Treasures; Alistair Crowley; John Dee; MI6 and a female Indiana Jones, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword of Moses (Kindle Edition)
Ava is an archaeologist seconded form the British Museum to Iraq to help track down and recover the artifacts sacked from the museum during the war. She had previously worked for MI6, as had her father who had died in unaccounted circumstances. The story opens with a raid on a sanctuary in Ethiopia to steal what is thought to be the Ark of the Covenant. The bloodthirsty description pulls no punches and sets the tone for the intense action that will run through the novel. Ava is drawn into the situation by a mysterious email that leads her to a secret auction, where things go horribly wrong and lead to unexpected convolutions of the plot. Someone is collecting lost treasures linked to the sacking of Solomon's Temple - who and why, and who else is trying to track them down? The frenetic pace of Ava and Ferguson's enquiries is at times less than believable, when did they sleep or eat, but Selwood manages to keep the threads taut and untangled. Mossad has an undercover agent who works his way into a far-right BNP-type group and this sub-plot is cleverly developed before weaving into Ava's search. Naturally a suspension of disbelief if required, but the complexities of the plot are logically brought together with a gruesome finale involving Himmler's nazi-lore, black magic rites and a gun battle..... did I mention the Templars' involvement? It's all there! The author underpins the whole story with thorough research both historical and current, which lends an air of reality to much of the plot despite the Grail Quest premise and black magic elements. Very clever and well worth the time to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very very long, 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword of Moses (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy long books. This one seems much longer than it actually is.

The concept was appealing, I enjoy Dan Briwn among others, but I soon realised I was struggling here. When one starts to spend almost as much time looking at the Kindle progress bar as the text, something is wrong.

I almost gave up, very unusual for me. I simply could not relate to the main characters who were really rather thin, especially given the length of the book.

It seemed like the author was determined to work everything into one volume, from neo nazis to Knights templar via free masonry and black magic. It would have been better I feel if more had gone into character development.

I almost gave 2 stars, but after all I did finish eventually. The end itself, a couple of chapters after the end of the story, was predictable as much because of the "extra" chapters existence as the flagging up which peppered the rest of the book.

I would hesitate to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrills and Chills in an Archeologist's Life, 1 Dec 2013
By 
Maria C. Cuadro (Silver Spring, Maryland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sword of Moses (Paperback)
As soon as I began reading Dominic Selwood's The Sword of Moses, the first violent scene told me it would be hard to put down. A capable main character kept me engaged while controversial historical enigmas kept me intrigued. The author's seamless blend of historical fact and tantalizing fiction had me mesmerized and consuming the chapters non-stop. This was a very exciting read and worth picking up.

Dr. Ava Curzon thinks the world of her father and followed in his footsteps. They share the same love of archeology, even if his interest was observing occult-political movements in history and her specialty is the archeology of the Bible's Old Testament. They share the same steeliness of character, which was why Ava followed her father into working for British Intelligence's MI6. But when Ava's father was murdered and all she and her family could get was it happened 'in His Majesty's Service', Ava left MI6 and severed all ties with them, concentrating just on archeology and recovering artifacts looted from the National Museum of Iraq. Ava was dragged back into the world she walked away from when Congolese militia brutally killed an Ethiopian monk guarding the Ark of the Covenant, triggering a chain of events that put Ava in the path of Russian black market dealers, the Massad, U.S. and British Intelligence, the ancient brotherhood of Freemasons, the Knights Templar, and extremist Neo-Nazis. Ava relentlessly pursues the Ark, because finding the Ark might lead her to a former Nazi SS named Malchus - the man who she believes murdered her father.

The Sword of Moses hooked me in as a reader through a great story premise and a great main character. Historic facts on the Ark of the Covenant are obscured by the illogical emotions that Christians and Christian Fundamentalists have for stories of the Bible, the explosive political symbolism of a war-torn Middle East, and a true paucity of actual documents and supporting artifacts. The premise of taking the actual Ark out of hiding and into the modern socio-political climate caused all sorts of political and cultural prejudices to bubble forth and made for many options on how the plot would thicken. Throwing into the mix organizations with historic mystique - the Freemasons, the Knights Templar, and Nazis who weren't the garden variety White Supremacist bigots - escalated the suspense. Adding the possibility of an Alistair Crowley-esque practice of black magic compelled me to read through and see if something dire yet magical happened. At this point I was completely into the intricate plot, so the well done integration of historic data with literary license made me see everything as provocative fact - icing on the cake that kept me fully in the story and easily suspended my disbelief.

I also enjoyed Dr. Ava Curzon's character - she carved her own niche among the intrepid archeologists of pop culture and media. She doesn't have the vast resources and near-invulnerability of Lara Croft, but she has the same steely determination. She has the can-do nature of an Indiana Jones or an Allan Quatermain, but showed more care and regard - and an almost geek-like fan love - for the archeological artifacts she witnessed. Her MI6 background is not as polished or superhero-like as James Bond or Elektra Assassin - she is fallible, as they rarely are. It made for a character who risked a lot and pushed the envelope so much that she just as easily fell into damsel-in-distress situations without lessening her skills in 'taking care of herself'. She ended up knocked out, bound, gagged, or compromised in many ways, but never in a formulaic manner - it helped me accept her authenticity and made me want to see how she could get out of the latest mess she was in.

Between Dr. Curzon herself and the convoluted predicament she found herself in, The Sword of Moses will pique many readers' interest. I wish Dominic Selwood a wide circulation and vast readership so many more enjoy this excellent tale. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page-turner extraordinaire!, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword of Moses (Kindle Edition)
I fell head first into the story, felt palpable revulsion for the evil-doers and willed the go-getting good guys on towards victory. With unexpected twists and turns, the satisfying aaaah moment when seemingly divergent plot lines came together, and the heart-thumping moment I had to walk away and put the kettle on, it was like trying to read from behind the sofa, LOVED it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid adventure thriller!, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword of Moses (Kindle Edition)
Solid. Historical echoes of authentic patient meticulous research and evidenced in the authors rich varied life history, blended with genuine ease of penmanship. I believe we have found a genuine new author to relish in this historical adventure thriller genre. It is not what you would expect, and that is a great thing

What else to say but highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sword of Moses
The Sword of Moses by Dominic Selwood
£0.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews