Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reminiscent of "Five on a Treasure Island"..
I love this series - this one is the best so far. It reminded me of Enid Blyton's "Five on a Treasure Island". Angela Marchmont, star of the previous books, returns and is assisted by her young god-daughter who does much of the sleuthing. With villains galore,red herrings and secret passages leading from an old cliff top house to the beach, this is a good old fashioned...
Published 11 months ago by Rosamond Joy

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars POLDARROW
OK story, but did get somewhat boring in parts.

Well written, but very predictable.
Published 5 months ago by MistyMoo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reminiscent of "Five on a Treasure Island".., 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Treasure at Poldarrow Point (An Angela Marchmont Mystery Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I love this series - this one is the best so far. It reminded me of Enid Blyton's "Five on a Treasure Island". Angela Marchmont, star of the previous books, returns and is assisted by her young god-daughter who does much of the sleuthing. With villains galore,red herrings and secret passages leading from an old cliff top house to the beach, this is a good old fashioned read. The plot is unsophisticated but the book has a charm of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable mystery, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Treasure at Poldarrow Point (An Angela Marchmont Mystery Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I love the classic style of English Mysteries, such as Agatha Christie and Georgette Heyer and am always looking for new authors in that vein. Happily, Clara Benson is one such author and her main characters are both believable and likeable. I have read all three of her publlused books and always end up reading late into the night as the plots and characters are so interesting.

I look forward to more of her books being published, even if it will mean more mornings spent yawning at my desk as a result of more late night reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Treasure at Poldarrow Point, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Treasure at Poldarrow Point (An Angela Marchmont Mystery Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Angela Marchmont, following a nasty bout of flu, is recommended by her doctor to take a holiday. She rents a house in Cornwall for some much needed rest and recreation only to find her god daughter, Barbara, turning up on her doorstep. Barbara is a very self-sufficient thirteen year old and manages to involve Angela in a search for hidden treasure.

International jewel thieves, undercover police, socialites who may or may not be who they say they are and Barbara's propensity for disappearing mean Angela's peaceful holiday is far more exciting than her doctor might have recommended.

I enjoyed this interesting mystery set in the nineteen thirties. The characters are believable and likeable and Barbara rather steals the show with her resourcefulness and her adherence to justice and fair play. Angela herself is an interesting character and the background of a ramshackle house on the cliffs is the ideal scenery for a hunt for lost treasure.

If you like your mysteries in the classic mould then try these well written Golden Age mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Treasure at Poldarrow Point (An Angela Marchmont Mystery Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I love the fact that this series of books were actually written in the period they are set in. It makes such a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great story, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Treasure at Poldarrow Point (An Angela Marchmont Mystery Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
would recommend this story to anyone who likes a "who done it" really great read for young or old no sex just great story line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Treasure at Poldarrow Point (An Angela Marchmont Mystery Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Just like an Enid Blyton! A good story, well written, it is quite exciting without any nasty shocks bad language etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good read., 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Treasure at Poldarrow Point (An Angela Marchmont Mystery Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
very pleased in all respects with the book and transaction, I enjoyed reading it - it was the first I have read by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a jolly entertaining read, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Treasure at Poldarrow Point (An Angela Marchmont Mystery Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Well written, pleasant way to spend a very wet afternoon. Although you can prop obey guess what is going to happen you will enjoy the twists and turns of the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD "COZY" READ!, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Treasure at Poldarrow Point (An Angela Marchmont Mystery Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This is a thoroughly entertaining "cozy" read. A hard one to put down once it gets into its stride. It's a bit obvious who the mystery crook is, but the book moves along at a brisk pace and is very involving. Angela Marchmont is a bit too distant to be entirely believable, but as her god-daughter is on the trail of the crooks for much of the book that's not a problem. I can recommend this to anyone who enjoys an old-fashioned read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Treasure at Poldarrow Point (An Angela Marchmont Mystery Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, of the three I've read this was my favourite. The plot is interesting and the characters well written. I particularly liked Barbara Angela's rather wild 12 year old niece. It's a shame there's only one more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews