Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less is more
I reckon it's pertinent that my favourite watercolour instructional book is by far the smallest. In this tiny tome Hazel Soan imparts more information and creates more inspiration than any other book on watercolour I've read. Perhaps this is because by giving herself the limitations of size and time that she has, Hazel cuts through the mass of mystery watercolour is...
Published on 7 Dec. 2011 by Graeme

versus
38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They weren't kidding when they said it was small
I know the write up describes this book as small, but just over 3 inch by 4 is a little too small for me. Yes you can fit it into your pocket to take out with you, but don't forget to pack a magnifying glass to read it as well.

I thought it was going to be bigger otherwise I wouldn't have bought it. Saying that, I love anything to do with Hazel Soan and think...
Published on 31 Jan. 2008 by Milly Moll


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 10 Min watercolours, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
10 min watercolours, is full of great tips in the wondeful style of Hazel Soan, she is my favourite living artist/teacher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as easy as that, but well worth trying, 11 Aug. 2011
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
There is more in this tiny book ( and it is quite ridiculously, unnecessarily, small ) than in many full-size "how-to" books. 10-minute demos show you Hazel Soan's technique, using snippets rather than full-size paintings. Drawing and composition are not intended to be fully covered and are dismissed in a paragraph or two. If you study her guidance; detailed and at times very technical - there is no doubt your own technique will improve. There are references to techniques such as wax resist and sponging, but the core of Soan's work is wet-in-wet; one of the hardest methods to master and always, even in the hands of an expert, with an element of unpredictability.

And this is the drawback to the book. Lots of practice and a great deal of confidence is needed to get to grips with wet-in-wet. Sometimes you will get wonderful effects; other times you will tear up the paper in rage and disgust. Hazel Soan's instructions make the results sound easy, and no doubt you'll have a lot of fun trying. But to expect to get results like hers, first off, would be asking too much.

This is good as one of a shelf-full of books for the aspiring painter. Keep it by you, and try out the exercises. Don't get disheartened when it doesn't go to plan. I would buy this book for oneself rather than as a present, however; the recipient won't expect much from the modest cover and is likely to under-estimate it.

For a really awesome master of this technique - miles ahead of Hazel Soan - try the ravishing The Watercolors of John Singer Sargent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pocket book of art, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a tad on the small size for me, like what I see inside but unable to hold pages open very well, this book would have been better on a ring binder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars painting tips, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good guidance for painters of all abilities. Good techniques good ideas and will help to understand how watercolour works,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great little resource for the aspring water-colourist!, 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is perhaps the most useful little book a lapsed amateur artist like me could hope to own!! I ordered this - together with it's companion in the Little Gem series, Sketching, and some new artist materials - right here on Amazon. Now, even though I hadn't picked up a brush since my sixth-form days (more years ago than I'm going to admit to!!), I'm really fired up and revelling in this "found-again" hobby. Hazel makes it all sound so simple, and although I'm finding it isn't, practice yields results and what better excuse to while away some time on a bistro terrace watching the world go by, or walking in the countryside, than seeking something inspiring to sketch? Hazel has certainly encouraged me to enjoy many a happy leisure hour honing my technique with the help of her clear advice, and - crucially - given me the confidence to believe that even I can do it. For that, I shall always be grateful to her!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Little Book, 14 July 2009
By 
G. Sulley (Wrexham, N. Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Much material covered in a tiny little book, which is very handy for taking on a trip or holiday. The "10-minute" idea is very inspiring in terms of completing a short project or practice piece in a short slot of spare time. The only problem is that it IS so small (as, of course, are all the Collins Gem series), and thus very difficult to keep open for reference while you work. But nonetheless, a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it has some good techniques and paintings to complete, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very small book, pocket sized, it has some good techniques and paintings to complete. A good overall little book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful little book, 11 Jun. 2008
By 
It may be small in size, but it covers all the basics of watercolour painting for the beginner. Has examples, easy to copy for gaining confidence, and gives you inspiration to go further by yourself. Full of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely little book. Arrived in excellent condition and is full of useful tips, and easy to carry around with you. Yes it is small, as are all the little gem series, so if you have severe eyesight problems then it isn't for you, but for everyone else I would recommend it especially if you are new to watercolours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very handy little book which is easy to carry around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews