Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less is more
I reckon it's pertinent that my favourite watercolour instructional book is by far the smallest. In this tiny tome Hazel Soan imparts more information and creates more inspiration than any other book on watercolour I've read. Perhaps this is because by giving herself the limitations of size and time that she has, Hazel cuts through the mass of mystery watercolour is...
Published on 7 Dec 2011 by Graeme

versus
33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They weren't kidding when they said it was small
I know the write up describes this book as small, but just over 3 inch by 4 is a little too small for me. Yes you can fit it into your pocket to take out with you, but don't forget to pack a magnifying glass to read it as well.

I thought it was going to be bigger otherwise I wouldn't have bought it. Saying that, I love anything to do with Hazel Soan and think...
Published on 31 Jan 2008 by Milly Moll


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less is more, 7 Dec 2011
I reckon it's pertinent that my favourite watercolour instructional book is by far the smallest. In this tiny tome Hazel Soan imparts more information and creates more inspiration than any other book on watercolour I've read. Perhaps this is because by giving herself the limitations of size and time that she has, Hazel cuts through the mass of mystery watercolour is shrouded in to reveal how to make fresh, interesting paintings with relative ease & finesse. I have a tendency to make little progress in things because I imagine them to be more complicated than they really are, whenever I'm feeling like that about watercolour painting, I reach for this book. Because it really can go anywhere with you, you can find yourself enjoying that inspiration at times when your other books are sitting on the shelf, so when you have ten minutes spare you're filled with ideas & ready to paint. Especially useful for taking with you on sketching trips, where you might find yourself staring at a daunting subject and asking 'what would Hazel do'? At which point she'll show you the way. Does the size make it hard to read? You'd think so, but no it doesn't, each page keeps it's points brief and the illustrations are very clear. And that's from someone with awful eyesight. Now can we have a DVD to go with it please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket perfection, 13 Aug 2011
This tiny book holds a wealth of advice, and inspiration. It shows short projects to encourage a free approach to watercolour. Small enough for a pocket it is one of the least expensive and most instructional painting books I have read.

I have deducted 1 star because Hazel Soan does rather give the impression that it is easy. Well it is for her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They weren't kidding when they said it was small, 31 Jan 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know the write up describes this book as small, but just over 3 inch by 4 is a little too small for me. Yes you can fit it into your pocket to take out with you, but don't forget to pack a magnifying glass to read it as well.

I thought it was going to be bigger otherwise I wouldn't have bought it. Saying that, I love anything to do with Hazel Soan and think she is an amazing artist. I just think this book would have been better served in at least A5 size, then you wouldn't have to squint so much to read it.

The book does pack a good range of tips in it thought so it may be perfect for some people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GEM, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A tiny book packed with brilliant ideas and tips. I am amazed at its size but it is a great book. Easy to carry it around. Worth the five stars and would recommend it to anyone interested in water colour painting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good for either starter or some one who can paint, full of interesting tips. Well worth this small marvel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good things come in small packages, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a bit of a shock when this book arrived. It is very small (approx 8x12cm). However, it is ideal to carry with you, while painting out of doors. The content is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful is small, 18 April 2009
It is small, there's no denying that, but it's not thin on inspiration, information, or beautiful examples. It is Hazel Soan's examples that make this the book of choice for me. Every single illustration right down to the paints, palettes and brushes you're recommended to buy are exquisite examples of 10-minute watercolours. Other examples in the book are breathtaking in their simplicity to convey form and rendering with a minimum number of strokes and colours. As for the size, well part of the attraction of watercolours must be in the ease of carrying. The media is relatively compact compared to others. So, why should the book be any larger than pocket sized? I think it fits perfectly into the watercolour package.

One thing I would say is that it does only deal with a single aspect of watercolour. As the title suggests, it is the use of watercolours as a quick sketch medium. Obviously, watercolours offer more versatility than just quick sketching and, possibly, you might want a more comprehensive manual on watercolours if you're exploring the medium. But if sketching is what you do, especially on the move, in between walking about, or on holiday, you really can't go wrong with this gem packed alongside your paints and brushes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pocket book of art, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a tad on the small size for me, like what I see inside but unable to hold pages open very well, this book would have been better on a ring binder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars painting tips, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good guidance for painters of all abilities. Good techniques good ideas and will help to understand how watercolour works,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small but perfectly formed., 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was surprised at the size of this book when it arrived, however it does not detract from the information it contains and the ideas for beginners of the watercolour genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb42db4ec)

This product

Only search this product's reviews