Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less is more
I reckon it's pertinent that my favourite watercolour instructional book is by far the smallest. In this tiny tome Hazel Soan imparts more information and creates more inspiration than any other book on watercolour I've read. Perhaps this is because by giving herself the limitations of size and time that she has, Hazel cuts through the mass of mystery watercolour is...
Published on 7 Dec. 2011 by Graeme

versus
41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They weren't kidding when they said it was small
I know the write up describes this book as small, but just over 3 inch by 4 is a little too small for me. Yes you can fit it into your pocket to take out with you, but don't forget to pack a magnifying glass to read it as well.

I thought it was going to be bigger otherwise I wouldn't have bought it. Saying that, I love anything to do with Hazel Soan and think...
Published on 31 Jan. 2008 by Milly Moll


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less is more, 7 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I reckon it's pertinent that my favourite watercolour instructional book is by far the smallest. In this tiny tome Hazel Soan imparts more information and creates more inspiration than any other book on watercolour I've read. Perhaps this is because by giving herself the limitations of size and time that she has, Hazel cuts through the mass of mystery watercolour is shrouded in to reveal how to make fresh, interesting paintings with relative ease & finesse. I have a tendency to make little progress in things because I imagine them to be more complicated than they really are, whenever I'm feeling like that about watercolour painting, I reach for this book. Because it really can go anywhere with you, you can find yourself enjoying that inspiration at times when your other books are sitting on the shelf, so when you have ten minutes spare you're filled with ideas & ready to paint. Especially useful for taking with you on sketching trips, where you might find yourself staring at a daunting subject and asking 'what would Hazel do'? At which point she'll show you the way. Does the size make it hard to read? You'd think so, but no it doesn't, each page keeps it's points brief and the illustrations are very clear. And that's from someone with awful eyesight. Now can we have a DVD to go with it please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket perfection, 13 Aug. 2011
This tiny book holds a wealth of advice, and inspiration. It shows short projects to encourage a free approach to watercolour. Small enough for a pocket it is one of the least expensive and most instructional painting books I have read.

I have deducted 1 star because Hazel Soan does rather give the impression that it is easy. Well it is for her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GEM, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A tiny book packed with brilliant ideas and tips. I am amazed at its size but it is a great book. Easy to carry it around. Worth the five stars and would recommend it to anyone interested in water colour painting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good things come in small packages, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a bit of a shock when this book arrived. It is very small (approx 8x12cm). However, it is ideal to carry with you, while painting out of doors. The content is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They weren't kidding when they said it was small, 31 Jan. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know the write up describes this book as small, but just over 3 inch by 4 is a little too small for me. Yes you can fit it into your pocket to take out with you, but don't forget to pack a magnifying glass to read it as well.

I thought it was going to be bigger otherwise I wouldn't have bought it. Saying that, I love anything to do with Hazel Soan and think she is an amazing artist. I just think this book would have been better served in at least A5 size, then you wouldn't have to squint so much to read it.

The book does pack a good range of tips in it thought so it may be perfect for some people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good for either starter or some one who can paint, full of interesting tips. Well worth this small marvel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful is small, 18 April 2009
It is small, there's no denying that, but it's not thin on inspiration, information, or beautiful examples. It is Hazel Soan's examples that make this the book of choice for me. Every single illustration right down to the paints, palettes and brushes you're recommended to buy are exquisite examples of 10-minute watercolours. Other examples in the book are breathtaking in their simplicity to convey form and rendering with a minimum number of strokes and colours. As for the size, well part of the attraction of watercolours must be in the ease of carrying. The media is relatively compact compared to others. So, why should the book be any larger than pocket sized? I think it fits perfectly into the watercolour package.

One thing I would say is that it does only deal with a single aspect of watercolour. As the title suggests, it is the use of watercolours as a quick sketch medium. Obviously, watercolours offer more versatility than just quick sketching and, possibly, you might want a more comprehensive manual on watercolours if you're exploring the medium. But if sketching is what you do, especially on the move, in between walking about, or on holiday, you really can't go wrong with this gem packed alongside your paints and brushes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small but perfectly formed., 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was surprised at the size of this book when it arrived, however it does not detract from the information it contains and the ideas for beginners of the watercolour genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 10 Min watercolours, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
10 min watercolours, is full of great tips in the wondeful style of Hazel Soan, she is my favourite living artist/teacher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as easy as that, but well worth trying, 11 Aug. 2011
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
There is more in this tiny book ( and it is quite ridiculously, unnecessarily, small ) than in many full-size "how-to" books. 10-minute demos show you Hazel Soan's technique, using snippets rather than full-size paintings. Drawing and composition are not intended to be fully covered and are dismissed in a paragraph or two. If you study her guidance; detailed and at times very technical - there is no doubt your own technique will improve. There are references to techniques such as wax resist and sponging, but the core of Soan's work is wet-in-wet; one of the hardest methods to master and always, even in the hands of an expert, with an element of unpredictability.

And this is the drawback to the book. Lots of practice and a great deal of confidence is needed to get to grips with wet-in-wet. Sometimes you will get wonderful effects; other times you will tear up the paper in rage and disgust. Hazel Soan's instructions make the results sound easy, and no doubt you'll have a lot of fun trying. But to expect to get results like hers, first off, would be asking too much.

This is good as one of a shelf-full of books for the aspiring painter. Keep it by you, and try out the exercises. Don't get disheartened when it doesn't go to plan. I would buy this book for oneself rather than as a present, however; the recipient won't expect much from the modest cover and is likely to under-estimate it.

For a really awesome master of this technique - miles ahead of Hazel Soan - try the ravishing The Watercolors of John Singer Sargent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews