Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sara Alexi keeps true to form
A Review of In the Shade of the Monkey Puzzle Tree (The Greek Island series)

In this, the latest in Sara Alexi's wonderful Greek Island series, the reader is transported to Athens in the 1970s, along with the unlikely hero of the book, Theo. Seeking to escape the claustrophobic nature of village and family life, he takes off for the bright lights of the capital...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. R. Clark

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really different to the other books!
Having read all Sara's books I thought I knew what this one would be like. However it wasn't such a comfortable read! However l enjoyed it, flying through the last few chapters willing the return to the village..... l look forward to the next book in this series.
Published 10 months ago by Janet Thornton


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sara Alexi keeps true to form, 17 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. R. Clark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Shade of the Monkey Puzzle Tree (Greek Village Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
A Review of In the Shade of the Monkey Puzzle Tree (The Greek Island series)

In this, the latest in Sara Alexi's wonderful Greek Island series, the reader is transported to Athens in the 1970s, along with the unlikely hero of the book, Theo. Seeking to escape the claustrophobic nature of village and family life, he takes off for the bright lights of the capital to make his mark... The book deals with a dilemma faced by many people in Greece, torn between the traditional ways and the attractions and perceived opportunities offered by diaspora either at home or abroad. Although particularly poignant to Greece, it is a universal question faced by most people at some stage during their lives. Loving the village as Sara Alexi's regular readers will do, it is all too easy to rail against the foolhardiness of Theo for leaving. It says much about the book that we really care, and the story rattles along like the bone-shaker of a bus which delivers Theo across the mountains to Athens. This adventure is measured in more than the distance he travels in miles but in the emotional journey he experiences along the way. Again Sara Alexi engages the reader from first to last, a great read from a master of her craft. Richard Clark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 10 Dec 2013
This review is from: In the Shade of the Monkey Puzzle Tree (Greek Village Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all this series of books and enjoyed every one of them - all for different reasons. Ms Alexi appears to have the ability to make all the books fit into the series but yet retain their own very different individuality.
In this book again, a relatively minor character from the previous books gets promoted to main and we learn more about what makes them tick and how they fit in to the whole world that has been created. The characterisation as always is excellent I really did care/like/hate them.
This book again takes us out of the village and into the big city and it is interesting to see the differences both in terms of landscape and attitude.
It's a relatively easy book to read and I got through it quite quickly but, do not be deceived, like the others in the series, there can be much more substance under the story if you choose to look...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's done it again!, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Shade of the Monkey Puzzle Tree (Greek Village Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
The latest installment of the Village series does not disappoint. Theo goes on a tumultuous moral journey and sometimes he doesnt always choose the right path. This book had me liking and disliking the character in equal measure, but im glad to say that he chooses the right path eventually. Brilliantly descriptive of Athens and her inhabitants, who differ so greatly to islanders or villagers, this book left me wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern odyssey, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Shade of the Monkey Puzzle Tree (Greek Village Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
A character back story and a diversion to Athens in the 70's feature in this new volume of the Greek Village series.
It is interesting to watch the author develop and grow as the series continues- widening the range and scope of her stories and characters and here painting a wonderful portrait of Athens to provide contract with the smaller( but no less interesting) village milieu.
Here we follow Theo who has appeared as a subsidiary character in as he goes through a peculiarly Greek mid life crisis.
A spur of the moment decision sees him embark on a modern day Odyssey as he flees the village he has lived in all his life and heads for the city.
Along the way he encounters the good , the bad and the ugly- witches, thieves, gypsies, kindness and pain, natural disaster, temptation and the chance of redemption- even his own version of Odysseus' faithful Argo.
A very good read that leaves you looking forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story often thoughtful and sometimes surprising, 18 Dec 2013
This review is from: In the Shade of the Monkey Puzzle Tree (Greek Village Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this story.
It's part of the Greek Village series from Sara Alexi, but it easily stands alone as a great read.
The struggle of a Man to move out from the shadow of his father and make his mark in the world.
I heartily recommend this book to all, men and women alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful sunny tale, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (South West Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Shade of the Monkey Puzzle Tree (Greek Village Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Once again Sara has created a story that leaves the reader feeling moved. The way she weaves the different stories around each other gives the feeling of being part of this village. Loved all the previous tales. Looking forward to all the ones un-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing story, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. A. S. Thomas (Bulgaria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Shade of the Monkey Puzzle Tree (Greek Village Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
A very unusual story and possibly the best in this 'village' series of books by Sara Alexi. Factually correct and you really feel for the guy leaving his village for Athens and beginning to understand the differences which are mostly not good. However, he overcomes all the hurdles and finally returns to his village. I won't spoil the unusual ending. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Shade of the Monkey Puzzle Tree (Greek Village Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Yet again I felt like I was there with all the characters, loved it Sara :)
When's the next book ready?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite "Greek Village Series" thus far, 26 Dec 2013
This review is from: In the Shade of the Monkey Puzzle Tree (Greek Village Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
I've read the whole Greek Village series, and have to say that the insight into Theo, the kafenio owner's life is the one that struck a chord with me the most.
Sara Alexi has the ability to suck you into the character's lives with such a force, you feel sad when the last page has turned.
I could picture and smell the kafenio, I was there with Theo when Alexi cleverly showed us his emotions.

Thank you, Sara, for such a compelling and grabbing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Tale, 10 Dec 2013
This review is from: In the Shade of the Monkey Puzzle Tree (Greek Village Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of the Greek Village series & this is one of my favourites ( along with Mitsos!). The story of Theo had me hooked from the beginning, with his wish for independence & the move to Athens & the characters he meets there. I don't want to say too much about the ending as I don't want to give it away, but I will say I found it very moving.

Anyone with a love for Greece should read these books; when I am at home in the cold UK they proved me with a little Greek escapism until my next holiday comes around.

The characters in the books are so well written & I can picture the setting of the village and all of its inhabitants. I can't wait to see who features in the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews