Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on screenwriting I've ever read., 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting 101 by Film Crit Hulk! (Kindle Edition)
Practical, inspiring, generous and clear. I wish I had read it twenty years ago. That's all I have to say but apparently Amazon wants m--oh, there we go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the absolute best books on screenwriting and storytelling I've ever read, 5 Dec 2013
By 
D Stubbs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting 101 by Film Crit Hulk! (Kindle Edition)
Everyone who cares about storytelling in film, television or hell, even videogames, needs to read this book. Seriously, at that price, why are you even bothering to read this review?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book for all writers, not just screenwriters, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting 101 by Film Crit Hulk! (Kindle Edition)
Awesome, inspiring book. Made me realise where I was stuck with my writing and gave me useful tools for progressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting 101 by Film Crit Hulk! (Kindle Edition)
Having read a deluge of screenwriting books, I think Film Crit Hulk gets it just right. Rather than worrying about specifics and trying to break down the process into an ABC approach, he opens up a discussion on the subject and looks at much deeper, and far more important, underlying issues around writing. I think it's important to be critical of a lot of these kinds of books. For me, they often take the wrong approach and focus too much on surface-level components. What Hulk has done here is show that films can be very different things and therefore need completely different approaches, using entirely different methods. I genuinely think this book is one of the first to recognise that properly and open up the process meaningfully by really asking 'how do we write?' and 'why'...

TL;DR - It's DA BOMB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hulk smash, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Jason Coyle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting 101 by Film Crit Hulk! (Kindle Edition)
An essential read. I am inspired which surprised me. A terrific
true line and seriously economic. So much common sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Critical and Informative: The Best Available Book on Story-Telling, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting 101 by Film Crit Hulk! (Kindle Edition)
Hulk's Screenwriting 101 is brilliant. Read it.

Hulk uses cinema to ground what may otherwise have been an abstract topic. As a class, `how to... story-writing' books are weak and repetitive: the shelves are filled with prescriptive tomes and vague advice for good writing disguised as specific advice for creating narratives. The subject matter is often abused to provide a stage on which Hollywood dreams are sold. Not in Screenwriting 101. Hulk avoids such clichés.

Hulk's purposes are honest, open, and admitted. Hulk's intent is to help--young writers start writing good stories, and experienced writers to identify pre-theoretical aphorisms to improve their craft. If you take nothing else from this review, know that Hulk achieves his aims. He does so with a focussed design.

Rather than tell readers what to do or brew a magical, novel solution, Hulk uses clear and vivid examples to explore the techniques used in the best scripts. Sure, this results in advice. But Hulk is careful to justify every bit. And the prose never hobbles itself by suggesting Hulk's way is the only way or Hulk's way is a guarantee for success. That is, Hulk affirms and reaffirms that success relies on practice and ensuing quality.

To do this, Screenwriting 101 constructs a logical format whereby function is regarded as more important than form. Good form, cult status, continuing enjoyment post-opening weekend all derive from solid underlying features.

Those facets are almost universal. Hulk shapes them as principles, not rules. For example, Hulk returns to his essay on the Three Act Structure ([...]) to suggest--not a rule to use three acts--but a principle based on what acts are, how to use them, and how to balance their requirements with other story elements: acts end with substantial choices and are not bounded by maximums or minimums. Each story, its themes and plots, its characters, events, and rhythms, determine act structure and organisation.

This translates holistically across storytelling: every story must construct and balance competing needs and wants. The correct ratio between these--for example character goals, necessitated actions, or story-length-requirement--differs between scripts, between rewrites, and between (in the cinema-production-world) evolving financial and logistic demands. The best way to write stories is to understand these realities, acknowledge the restraints they impose and freedoms they allow, and learn by practice how to adapt to create the best story possible in any given situation. It is important to remember that once a story manifests, its internal norms will begin to dictate possibilities and restrictions, too.

Hulk demonstrates all this without pretension. How? Unlike my attempt to praise Screenwriting 101 with little reference to the text (because I am reluctant to summarise and lose something thereby), Hulk refers to and applies his theories to movies, and draws upon all story-telling for inspiration. Thus where my attempt seems to be snobbish, Hulk's approach is accessible and friendly. Dissimilar to my `balance-is-everything' bold statement (above), Hulk exposits popular films, which readers may have seen or may watch, then analyses their stories to illustrate his thesis. For example, when stating endings should reinforce stories' messages or themes, Hulk discusses several films that comply with that idea. These films may then be viewed and Hulk's point made concrete.

I suppose my praise here relates to Hulk's process, as well as Screenwriting 101's content. He criticises good and poor, always pertinent examples, and develops theories to explain the evaluation. From there Hulk synthesises the theories, adjusts them in light of his other observations, and finishes with uplifting comments. The result motivates and reassures. I could talk all day about Screenwriting 101. But wouldn't you rather find out for yourself?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book I'll read again and again..., 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting 101 by Film Crit Hulk! (Kindle Edition)
Screenwriting 101 presents often talked about screenwriting advice in an honest and usable way that leaves you more prepared for the challenge of screenwriting than any book I've read. I think it's best for writers who've studied various structures and approaches but need a little more real world support. It's also a really enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting 101 by Film Crit Hulk! (Kindle Edition)
Great insight into a how a story is made. The depth of the material is astounding. A must read for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest advice from a mysterous green guru, 4 Feb 2014
By 
A. J. Norman "Alex Zelx" (Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting 101 by Film Crit Hulk! (Kindle Edition)
This is the most insightful, honest appraisal of the craft of screenwriting I have read. It has literally unlocked the great mystery of screenwriritng that all the other books skirted around. Act 2 no longer holds a fear anymore and I am no longer hostage to 3 act structure. This had great practival examples to help understand and solidify the methods and techniques. Thankfully you can choose to read this in Bruce Banner sentnce case, as the CAPITAL LETTERS would drive me nuts. Hulk has indeeded smashed it with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most insightful book on filmmaking I have ever read!, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting 101 by Film Crit Hulk! (Kindle Edition)
Not simply a paint-by-numbers book on screenwriting, this is an attempt to make the reader really think about storytelling from it's most basic forms to the highest art.
Should be essential reading for anyone interested in how and why we tell stories. HULK Smashed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafea8fc0)

This product

Screenwriting 101 by Film Crit Hulk!
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews