Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars37
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.21
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2014
I highly recommended this book. I have read many WW1 books and visited more than a few of the places now infamous as killing fields that Walter experienced in the most horrendous situations. This book achieves a really good balance of accurate description and the often deadened emotional feelings which had to be engaged to get through the many challenges faced on a 24/7 basis. A most honest account written well and very well received. Thank you Mike- Well done. RIP Walter- You deserve it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
This is a must read, a wonderful insight into times past. To comprehend the courage and determination required by such people, to imagine what they experienced at such a young age and the contrast to what they had left behind is brought to life in this exceptional book. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Not normally the type to review or comment, but this book was an excellent read about an amazing young man. Having spent 24 years in the Army I thought I knew it all and seen it all, then I read this. I couldn't begin to imagine what he went through and all as a teenager. Wow.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
A really interesting and captivating read. I loved the honesty about life in the trenches and the effects on families at home. Very moving. If you like world war one non fiction this one is for you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
I am usually a WW2 buff, and this was one of the first accounts of the Great War I have read properly
The book captures the everyday life of the "Tommy" from sign up to demob and has a very human feel about it. The descriptions of trench warfare and going "Over the top" are at once awe inspiring and harrowing at the same time. Indeed the whole aspect of the conflict is captured in "normal" language and easy to digest.
As WW 1 starts to become history, it is fitting specially with 2014 being the centenary, that accounts like this need to be published, trouble is the human race never learns by it's mistakes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
This book is truly amazing, probably because it's a true story. Beginning at the outbreak of WW1 and the young Walters determination to join up just makes you wonder what drove these young people back then. The skill of the story as told by author Mike Williams makes this book seem really personal and as though it was one of my family he has written about. I don't know if he has written anything else but I will certainly be reading any other work by him. I won't spoil the story by revealing any of it to prospective buyers but I really will encourage you to buy the book, as I said, truly amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
The story of a 15 year old who grows to manhood in the best (or worst) was possible - in the trenches of the first world war.

The author portrays himself as a simple agricultural worker in a time when a large part of the UK was predominantly small farming communities on or near the lord of the manor's property.

He learns the hard way about the ways of the army (lions lead by donkeys) and is lucky to survive to tell us all about it.

His time in the trenches are described in a way that will shock those that have not read a first hand account before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Great read giving a real insight on a young man's experience of going to war, the horrors he saw and the joys of his family when he came home. A must read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
A fascinating insight into the real world of the Private Soldier in WW1 --- unless you read this it is impossible to really understand the trials and difficulties faced on the front line, in the trenches, with the awfulness of the mud and slaughter that took place around these young men.
This is just about essential reading for all young people that think war is fun although, thank goodness, the modern Services are much more enlightened.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
This book is receiving top reviews, having read it I add my own 5 stars. I've read a large number of memoirs of those men who served in WW1 and found myself laughing, crying, and feeling both
immensely proud of them, and saddened at the conditions in which they served. An amazing, and touching insight, tribute to a brave incredible man, and generation of men who's lives should never be forgotten.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)