Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Walter
I highly recommended this book. I have read many WW1 books and visited more than a few of the places now infamous as killing fields that Walter experienced in the most horrendous situations. This book achieves a really good balance of accurate description and the often deadened emotional feelings which had to be engaged to get through the many challenges faced on a 24/7...
Published 4 months ago by Stephen Paul Tolley

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by poor English
I enjoyed this book, and would have given it more stars if it had been proof read. The use of apostrophes and commas was eccentric, to say the least. There were also too many schoolboy howlers, such as 'were' for 'where', 'roll' for 'role' and 'principle' when the context demanded 'principal'. I could go on. Perhaps the text was spell checked rather than proof read, but...
Published 5 months ago by ramblingsid


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Walter, 5 Mar 2014
This review is from: With Innocence and Hope (Kindle Edition)
I highly recommended this book. I have read many WW1 books and visited more than a few of the places now infamous as killing fields that Walter experienced in the most horrendous situations. This book achieves a really good balance of accurate description and the often deadened emotional feelings which had to be engaged to get through the many challenges faced on a 24/7 basis. A most honest account written well and very well received. Thank you Mike- Well done. RIP Walter- You deserve it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars with innocence and hope, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Innocence and Hope (Kindle Edition)
Great read giving a real insight on a young man's experience of going to war, the horrors he saw and the joys of his family when he came home. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 14 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Innocence and Hope (Kindle Edition)
A really interesting and captivating read. I loved the honesty about life in the trenches and the effects on families at home. Very moving. If you like world war one non fiction this one is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply excellent., 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Innocence and Hope (Kindle Edition)
Not normally the type to review or comment, but this book was an excellent read about an amazing young man. Having spent 24 years in the Army I thought I knew it all and seen it all, then I read this. I couldn't begin to imagine what he went through and all as a teenager. Wow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an addictive read, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Innocence and Hope (Kindle Edition)
This is a must read, a wonderful insight into times past. To comprehend the courage and determination required by such people, to imagine what they experienced at such a young age and the contrast to what they had left behind is brought to life in this exceptional book. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle: I wrote last week to say that my ..., 6 July 2014
By 
Mr. N. B. Hodson "Bruce Hodson" (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Innocence and Hope (Kindle Edition)
Kindle: I wrote last week to say that my review was (due solely to my fault) put out under the wrong book - sorry. This is NOT for publication but to try to get that review under the right book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars With Innocent and Hope, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Innocence and Hope (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating insight into the real world of the Private Soldier in WW1 --- unless you read this it is impossible to really understand the trials and difficulties faced on the front line, in the trenches, with the awfulness of the mud and slaughter that took place around these young men.
This is just about essential reading for all young people that think war is fun although, thank goodness, the modern Services are much more enlightened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PLADOY, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Innocence and Hope (Kindle Edition)
Cracking, visceral account of an amazing young man's experience through the First World War. Also an interesting insight into the evolution of strategy and social change, with the benefit of hindsight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A five star read, 21 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Innocence and Hope (Kindle Edition)
Definitely a five star read! I've read a lot of books on WW1 and I would rate this as about THE best. The feeling of reader involvement was uncanny, I really felt as though I was with Walter throughout. A must-read for anyone with a genuine interest in WW1!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fearsome, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Innocence and Hope (Kindle Edition)
What a book a great read for any followers of military history. Sad harrowing and at times appalling almost dark ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

With Innocence and Hope
With Innocence and Hope by Mike Williams
1.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews