Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
This is an excellent operating system. I must prefer it to Windows 8. This order arrived quickly from Amazon. Take care when ordering your particular package. Windows 7 comes in a 32 bit and a 64 bit system. I ordered this 64 bit system without first checking that my old computer was recommended for the 32 bit. Once you open the packing of the CD, then you cannot...
Published 4 months ago by Dennis Oberg

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars l purchased a windows7 premium disc when lt was installed ...
l purchased a windows7 premium disc when lt was installed up popped a message that it was a fake. be wery careful what you buy
Published 1 month ago by audreysaunders


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x64 English 1 Pack DSP OEI DVD LCP (PC) (Software)
This is an excellent operating system. I must prefer it to Windows 8. This order arrived quickly from Amazon. Take care when ordering your particular package. Windows 7 comes in a 32 bit and a 64 bit system. I ordered this 64 bit system without first checking that my old computer was recommended for the 32 bit. Once you open the packing of the CD, then you cannot return it to Amazon.

Note that the Windows 7 product key code is located on the packing, so don't throw it away! You'll need that key code for installation.

You'll first want to run Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor. This is a free download provided by Microsoft that will tell you whether your computer can be upgraded to Windows 7, and if it can, then which system (32 or 64) is recommended.

And don't forget to make a backup of all files, drivers, etc. that you have on the old operating system! For that you can use Windows Easy Transfer (you'll need an external drive for this). Easy Transfer is available for free from Microsoft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly painless install..., 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x64 English 1 Pack DSP OEI DVD LCP (PC) (Software)
*OEM = Original Equipment Manufacturer (used by computer system builders).
*The OEM version needs to be install on a new hard disk (not one with an operating system already on), or you could wipe
clean the operating system disk before installing.
* It will bind to the first computer it is installed on and cannot be transferred to a different computer at a later date.
* There will be no free technical support from Microsoft as it will be provided by the system builder (you).

What the gobbledegook means in the title as at 25th October 2014:

SP1 - Service Pack 1, previously released software updates

x64 - This signifies that it is a 64 bit edition.

DSP OEI - Delivery Service Partner, Original Equipment Installer. It is an OEM version used by smaller computer manufacturers and system builders (smaller than the likes of Dell or HP etc). No real difference apart from the absence of logos.

DVD - Digital Video Disc a.k.a. Digital Versatile Disc.

LCP - Licence Compliance Pack which is a booklet telling you about the licence as well as the key itself.

PC - Personal Computer

Window 7 (W7) comes in 32bit and 64bit favours. It also comes in several versions Home Basic, Home Premium, Professional, Enterprise, and Ultimate. Most home users get by with the Home Basic edition.

A CPU needs to have 64bit architecture to run W7 64bit.
A CPU with 32bit architecture can ONLY run W7 32bit.
A CPU with 64bit architecture can run either W7 32bit or W7 64bit.
You can usually tell what architecture your CPU has from the BIOS.

W7 32bit can only address about 3.5Gb of RAM.
W7 64bit can address much more than 3.5Gb of RAM, depending on the version (e.g. basic (8Gb), premium (16Gb), professional (192Gb), etc.)

Most 32bit programs will run on W7 64bit, however notable exceptions are device drivers (e.g. for printers), these will need to be 64bit to run.

My install went ok, most drivers are downloaded automatically. The only problem I had was a PCI 4USB card that didn't get detected. This was solved by switching the PC off and removing the power cord for a few minutes (power is still supplied to the main board even when PC is off). Upon reboot the card was detected fine.

Oh and do be prepared to have W7 download and install a ton of automatic updates, mine had to go through 192Mb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars windows 7, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x64 English 1 Pack DSP OEI DVD LCP (PC) (Software)
I decided to upgrade from Vista to 7 instead of 8 to keep the familiar desktop and i wasn't disappointed. Even though it says its for system builders only, it loaded from my vista desktop as normal and gave me a choice of upgrading from vista or a fresh install.
I went for a new install. Note that you can use this OS with one pc [it locks to the motherboard], but they all do that now,don't they!
i'm pleased with this OS, seems very stable and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just upgraded my XP system, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x64 English 1 Pack DSP OEI DVD LCP (PC) (Software)
This was used to install Windows 7 on my old XP system. With all the negativity surrounding Windows 8 I thought I'd go with something I know. Windows 7 is a great operating system and is a real upgrade to XP. This disc will not 'upgrade' from XP and keep all your programs, but as long as you are doing a clean install (booting from the Disc at start up) you'll have no problems installing Windows 7 on most PCs, even quite old ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy install on a Windows/Linux PC, 27 Mar 2014
By 
alanf1135 "Al." (Greenock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x64 English 1 Pack DSP OEI DVD LCP (PC) (Software)
On my PC, I had Windows XP as well as Ubuntu Linux installed. With the deadline of Win XP support fast approaching, I decided I needed to get a newer version of Windows installed. Because of this, I purchased this item. Upon receiving this item, I installed Windows 7 on the partition which I had Windows XP on. About forty-five minutes later, I rebooted and reinstalled the Grub2 boot-loader to allow me to use both Win 7 & and Ubuntu.

I had written this review because I was initially put off by negative reviews from the Amazon.com but had taken the chance and thankfully it had paid off with a painless and hassle free installation. Most of the negative reviews were about the product key. I can not speculate about specific instances but the only thing I can think of is that the product key was incorrectly entered. On the packaging of this product, it contains the product key but the key is in very small writing. Before installation, I had written the product key onto a piece of paper and put enough spacing between the individual product key character groups in order to make it easier to read. I then double checked the product key I had written down to ensure there was no mistakes and when installed Windows 7. I would highly recommend doing this as it saves a lot of hassle that other reviewers had experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars windows 7 oem purchase and installation., 14 April 2014
By 
Mr. L. W. Johnson (merseyside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x64 English 1 Pack DSP OEI DVD LCP (PC) (Software)
I was in two minds to either go for windows 8 or windows 7, from what I have seen of windows 8 I think it is more suited to tablet use,I prefer the traditional appearance of the windows desktop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MS Windows 7 home permuim, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x64 English 1 Pack DSP OEI DVD LCP (PC) (Software)
at first i was a bit on edge about ordering a copy of windows from amazon because of some of the reviews i had read. but i had none of these problems, activation and install was simple and easy didn't have to contact MS at all because of a void activation code. very happy with the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x64 English 1 Pack DSP OEI DVD LCP (PC) (Software)
Not much to say. The product is exactly what it says. A genuine copy of Windows 7 home edition premium.

Very simple and easy to use.

Being an OEM copy this means that you don't get the CD on a pretty box, also you don't get an instruction manual but 1) you really don't need one, and 2) just write "windows 7 manual pdf" on Google and you'r done.

Another (irrelevant) problem of buying an OEM copy is that you don't have access to the free support services from Microsoft.

Finally, as OEM, this software will be tied to the computer of its first install. In other words, this mean that you can change all the hardware on your PC except for the motherboard. Once you change your motherboard you wont be able to reinstall. Some say that if you make a phone call to Microsoft, on some cases, they'll give you a new key but keep in mind that might not happen.

But keep in mind also that, as we stand now, buy buying an OEM copy you will be saving around 100£+. So, basically, even if anything goes horribly wrong with your PC, you can buy yourself another OEM copy and still save money.

Unless you are completely unfamiliar with PCs, I advise you 100% on getting one OEM copy of windows. The install is pretty straight forward and you have YouTube videos (and the whole internet) that will clarify most of your doubts batter than any support line.

As for the product it self. In my opinion, Win7 is the best system since Windows XP. So go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Windows 7 Home Premium, 24 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x64 English 1 Pack DSP OEI DVD LCP (PC) (Software)
I bought this OEM product to install on a MacBook Pro using Boot Camp. I deliberately bought it direct from Amazon to avoid some of the nightmares reported in some reviews about activation and we can say that we had no problems whatsoever installing and activating Windows. I have no hesitation recommending this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy peasie, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x64 English 1 Pack DSP OEI DVD LCP (PC) (Software)
This product was fine to update my sons computer. No issues, easy to install and working well! All good here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x64 English 1 Pack DSP OEI DVD LCP (PC)
£69.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews