Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Track
Just IMHO... a truly well conceived track.
The vocals and backing are to my taste, and it carries the message that greed makes fools of the rich.
Or that wealth makes fools of the greedy?
Published 17 months ago by Matthew66

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not received
As stated in previous message, I havent received Lorde tracks - seem unable to get on my iPad so haven't hear all track(s) SORRY
Published 16 months ago by jim sixsmith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Track, 21 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Royals (MP3 Download)
Just IMHO... a truly well conceived track.
The vocals and backing are to my taste, and it carries the message that greed makes fools of the rich.
Or that wealth makes fools of the greedy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lorde - Teenage Kicks, 21 Oct. 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Royals (MP3 Download)
Lorde, born Ella Yelich-O'Connor, has shot from obscurity to superstardom. This single "Royals" has been Number One in the US and is now performing a similar feat in the UK. The New Zealand singer appeared on Jools Holland a few weeks back and you immediately headed to internet to find out about this talent. Once the shock of her young age is absorbed you proceed to listen more carefully and conclude that "Royals" is a great piece of pop music. The opening verse of the song starts with the savvy lines that "I've never seen a diamond in the flesh/I cut my teeth on wedding rings in the movies/And I'm not proud of my address/In a torn-up town, no postcode envy". There are established stars still waiting for the inspiration to write lyrics that good. The song itself is about an attack on the religion of conspicuous consumption and pop glamour often wrongly associated as the driving motive for the average 16 year old.

Lorde cites influences like Burial and The Weeknd. The latter has returned the compliment and produced a much slowed up mix of this song which is well worth seeking out. While you are searching you may also stumble across numerous other mixes including one by Ross Hitchings (yuk), another by Magnifik (ok) and yet another by Wild Boyz (excellent). Lorde credits her unique sound to being a child of the internet age who can access an inexhaustible range of references. Let us hope therefore that she is a pioneer of a new generation of smart pop stars who use the net as sound magpies and push music forward. The question it begs is whether we are witnessing the birth of something new and lasting (remember Stevie Wonder was 16 on his first big hit) or is this another Lana Del Rey moment with a song becoming so ubiquitous that for while it seems to push everything else off the front page? With the her big song "Tennis Court" also threatening world domination you sense that there is the birth of rare real talent occurring and "Royals" is undoubtedly the second best pop single of 2013 (Daft Punk's "Get Lucky" is unbeatable). Ultimately we may also wish to reflect that its far more edifying and uplifting than watching a young girl swinging naked on a wrecking ball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royals (Audio CD)
I believe this album us Excellent CD, the music is super. I like it so much.
Thank you for the music so sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Summary, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royals (MP3 Download)
Very good tune, lyrics and love the singers eye make up! All round catchy pleaser. Good track for chilling out or low impact exercise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best Pop Tune 2013?, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. P. Osuh "Speedy G" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Royals (MP3 Download)
One of the years biggest talents all the way from New Zealand is certainly showing us what a great voice she has.

Sounds like the tune of 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a good song, 22 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Royals (MP3 Download)
I like this song would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royals (MP3 Download)
I love this song it's so catchy and enjoyable I can't stop listening to it over and over.
I look forward to purchasing her CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not received, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royals (MP3 Download)
As stated in previous message, I havent received Lorde tracks - seem unable to get on my iPad so haven't hear all track(s) SORRY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cool, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royals (MP3 Download)
A very cool and hip song that just is very edgy. I love the style and lyrics. Add to your playlist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royals (MP3 Download)
Pretty good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Royals
Royals by Lorde (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews