Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voice like silk...
I found this an amazing CD and heart-breakingly beautiful.

Melanie has a voice like silk with a style that is so laid back and so languid that the songs give me goose-bumps.

The musicians accompanying her complement her style perfectly, laying down a carpet of sound that on its own would be worth listening to.

My only regret is that there...
Published 11 months ago by Steve D

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
TOTAL RUBISH
Published 2 months ago by REBECCA KENDALL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voice like silk..., 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Deal (Audio CD)
I found this an amazing CD and heart-breakingly beautiful.

Melanie has a voice like silk with a style that is so laid back and so languid that the songs give me goose-bumps.

The musicians accompanying her complement her style perfectly, laying down a carpet of sound that on its own would be worth listening to.

My only regret is that there wasn't more to listen to - a mere 35 minutes.

Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 23 Oct. 2014
By 
William J. Walker "Billyjay" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Deal (Audio CD)
I Saw Melanie on Later, only one song, but sometimes 'you just know' so ordered this album the same evening.
I was a little concerned that the album was described as 'jazz' as recent purchases in this area have usually featured artists making very creditable efforts to evoke Ella Fitzgerald or some such but without the spark of originality.
No such issues here. The album is jazzy but, to these ears, with (perhaps) a psychedelic/experimental edge. The liner notes on the album describe it as having a bit of Nina Simone and a bit of the Velvet underground in it and while that's not a perfect description it is probably on the right track.
If you read through the reviews already posted you'll see that Melanie can appeal to both those seeking lightness and depth and I think that's a rare quality. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep and quiet spacey jazz vocals, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Deal [VINYL] (Vinyl)
A truly beautiful album from this Belgian talent.
Excellent minimal backdrop and production. This is a quiet album for late nights.
Somewhere between Nina Simone and Cinematic Orchestra yet completely original.
Good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb performance and production values., 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Deal (Audio CD)
One of the truly great albums. Immaculate performance, production and quality. A real test for a good hi if system. Only rip in Lossless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rare delight, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Deal (MP3 Download)
Exquisitive piece of work - I was hooked as soon as I heard it on the radio and immediately downloaded it, having never heard of her work before. I don't know if Melanie will ever reach the wide Brit/US music consciousness - maybe she's too good and too unique for that - but if so, that wide audience are really missing something special here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No Deal - Melanie De Biasio, 20 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Deal (Audio CD)
Stunning voice, playing and production. Haunting and dark in places with lots of space and yet, lots of intimate presence.
Comparisons with Simone and Holiday are obviously very flattering, but also a bit lazy. The more you listen, the more you move away from the obvious markers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let's hear more from Melanie., 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Deal (Audio CD)
I discovered this mellow-voiced chanteuse thanks to Radio 3. I would have gone to see her live, however, she wasn't appearing alone, but supporting a band I'm not keen on, so I can only hope that she returns to the UK at some point under her own steam. I am going to buy her other album to see what the rest of her material is like (there have only been two, so she is rising fast, when you consider she had to hold an audience at the Royal Albert Hall recently!)

If you like a bit of mellow, female-vocal-led jazz, this is for you. I love hearing it in the car ... particularly if I'm stuck in a horrible jam on the M25 or experiencing some "interesting" drivers on the road.

I hope she goes far as I would love to hear more from Melanie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I haven't been touched by a good deep piece of music in a long time and ..., 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Deal (Audio CD)
I haven't been touched by a good deep piece of music in a long time and this lady nails it all in one album! The only let down is the lack of tracks — only 7 — BUT it leaves me wanting so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some say 'jazz', I say 'cool', 11 Oct. 2014
By 
This review is from: No Deal (Audio CD)
this lady had been lazily lumped in to the category of 'jazz'. I'd say that a closer comparison is what Jeff Buckley was doing by the time of his 'Sketches...' album.
This is very cool music. Someone commented on the brief length of the album but (while I do agree that more would be fab) less is sometimes more.
No song feels rushed - quite the contrary, these trippy numbers feel lugubrious, sexy and classy.
Hard to find a comparison in style but while this stuff is unique don't read that as challenging. Just read it as a new sort of cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where I fell in love with her voice there and then, 17 Nov. 2014
This review is from: No Deal (Audio CD)
Managed to catch a session of hers on BBC 6Music... Where I fell in love with her voice there and then... The album is perfect... Nothing more to add... Except just buy it.....xxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Deal
No Deal by Melanie De Biasio (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews