Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authoritative and gripping work on a forgotten war
An extremely well researched book which is very well written. It explains the war from several very distinct angles (foreigners, blacks, Afrikaner and uitlander etc), which adds tremendously to the overall understanding of the impact of the war. It constantly surprised me e.g I never knew that many countries of the Commonwealth answered the call to fight on Britain's...
Published 10 months ago by StefP

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much war!
Very detailed account of who fought against who, but too little background of the situation before the war and the non-military happenings during it, for example concentration camps.
Another example of the English colonial army winning a war but the English government losing the peace. And it is going on today- just read a newspaper.
Published 1 month ago by gabriel mendoza


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authoritative and gripping work on a forgotten war, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An extremely well researched book which is very well written. It explains the war from several very distinct angles (foreigners, blacks, Afrikaner and uitlander etc), which adds tremendously to the overall understanding of the impact of the war. It constantly surprised me e.g I never knew that many countries of the Commonwealth answered the call to fight on Britain's side. The descriptions of the main battles and sieges are authoritative. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good History, 17 Nov. 2014
By 
Mrs. Md Billson (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good history, easy to read and fascinating. I recommend it to anyone wanting to know about the operations of Britain in Southern Africa, and the impact upon the resident peoples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too much war!, 26 May 2015
By 
gabriel mendoza (North by NorthEast) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boer War, The: A History (Kindle Edition)
Very detailed account of who fought against who, but too little background of the situation before the war and the non-military happenings during it, for example concentration camps.
Another example of the English colonial army winning a war but the English government losing the peace. And it is going on today- just read a newspaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
value for money and goodpostal service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy To Read Account Of The War, 26 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Boer War, The: A History (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating read. Well researched. Anyone interested in the current situation in South Africa will gain insight from reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good as an overview of the whole conflict but I ..., 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good as an overview of the whole conflict but I had hoped to find some more specific information regarding the City of London Imperial Yeomanry who were only mentioned quite briefly my name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boer War, The: A History
Boer War, The: A History by Keith Surridge
£9.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews