Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 December 2013
A very enjoyable romp through the golden age of punk rock as seen through the eyes of the participants - not the bands, not the movers and shakers, but the everyday punk in the street.

George Berger has come up with a very simple concept - basically ask volunteers a few simple questions about their involvement in the punk scene, a then and now photo, and then collate it, and Bob's Your Uncle. All done very much in the DIY spirit of punk.

The fact that I am *ahem* one of the participants in no way influences my positive feelings towards this book.

For the fans, by the fans, about the fans. Well done George. 4/5
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
How refreshing to read a book that is from the perspective of the people that actually lived it as opposed to those that mainly commented on it. Punk was an era like no other, and nothing like it will come again, because it was a child of it's time. We challenged, fought, cried and then challenged again. The beauty of it is that all of my friends from that time now have amazing life stories, (or "careers")as some may call it. And the majority have continued to challenge, to try and change things, and continue to make music/art that will inspire. I would love to see this in print. Vive the Revolution.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
A great read through the experiences of a variety of people who lived through the punk experience! The book covers peoples' memories of the bands, the fanzines and the friendships that were forged.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
A collection of experiences from the ordinary punks' point of view as opposed to the big names. Inspiring, funny and readable. Everyone who ever loved punk should read this!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
I was pleasantly surprised that I actually knew some of the people contributing to this. Interesting how varied a path a lot of people have also taken.

A good idea although as someone who works within the Printing Industry I'm not really that keen on the Kindle version. Call me all fashioned but I like the physical actuality of a book!

I look forward to the printed version even more as a lot of people of my generation would probably buy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
I've just read this start to finish.......and what a fantastic read it is! This is a real insight into how it really was for us teenage guttersnipes who chose the punk path in the late Seventies.Whether a city kid or from out in the sticks, all the interviewees share one thing......they were touched in such a way by punk that its stayed with them all well in to middle age.A must read,whether you were there or not!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
If you're looking for tales of grim times, 3 day weeks, strikes, rubbish piled high, Johnny, Sid.. and I invented Punk..bladdy blah blah...Zzzzzz... This book probably aint for you!

What you do get is a straight forward, easy to read book recalling peoples experiences on discovering punk and how it affected them.
Also how punk still resonates in most of their lives today!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
It is one thing reading about social history, it is another being part of it. Punk was eclectic and this book reflects this. The assortment of oddities from the contributors with their punk birth to how punk still resonates in their lives is worth reading, and re-reading. This book is about real people being punks. Throw away those Mr Men books and read this to your children.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
A right riveting read this one. A splendid read which I wholly enjoyed in one punk rock outing!
Tales from the foot soldiers as George says and never a truer word spoken in the histrionics of punk rock.

The majority of recent, and if truth be told, past publications about the enigma that be Punk tread much the same old clichéd formula - this one however takes a different stance and is all the better for it. As other reviewers note this gives is a refreshing and welcome change. Recollections and anecdotes from those who where there, regardless of the year or the decade, in their own words and presented in an insightful, intelligent and, at times, humorous manner.

In my mind, an essential read for those with more than a passing interest in ' all things punk' but also a great piece of social commentary in it's own right. Well done George, an excellent publication.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
Read this in one sitting (very rare for me- always got lots of unfinished books to get through). Really enjoyable with several laugh out loud moments. Nice to see loads of different references to the late great John Peel.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)