Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Transatlantic CD
I've had this for a few months and I think it's their best CD to date. All their works are genius but this one seems to raise things to another level. This despite the fact there are few surprises, as there were on the previous Whirlwind album. This is traditional Transatlantic, developing further the blueprint laid down with SMPTe. There are five distinct tracks, with...
Published 5 months ago by Big Red

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars oh dear! ( again! ) What a disaster!
So hear we have album number four from the multi-talented musicians that are Transatlantic.
I absolutely love everything this group have recorded; in the studio and in concert.However with this recording i have to say that this is such a poor album.The problem? Neal Morse! Now don't get me wrong i really like Morse solo stuff,and some of his music he recorded with...
Published 5 months ago by KELLY heroes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Transatlantic CD, 11 May 2014
By 
Big Red - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
I've had this for a few months and I think it's their best CD to date. All their works are genius but this one seems to raise things to another level. This despite the fact there are few surprises, as there were on the previous Whirlwind album. This is traditional Transatlantic, developing further the blueprint laid down with SMPTe. There are five distinct tracks, with only a couple of lines from the first track being reprised at the end of the second.

It is so positive and uplifting, I've never heard such a spiritual rock album. Neal Morse is a main contributor, and he manages to convey a feeling of optimism and hope without preaching to us, as he does on some of his solo albums. All four musicians are on top form, still at the top of their game.

The bonus covers CD is worth a listen, though it is only that. It depends partly I guess on whether we're familiar with the originals. I'm an ELO fan and love the cover of Can't Get It Out Of My Head.

The main CD is almost perfection in my mind, so much that it's pointless writing about slight disappointments. Make your own mind up, but do give it a try if you like uplifting rock music. Thanks guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars oh dear! ( again! ) What a disaster!, 12 May 2014
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
So hear we have album number four from the multi-talented musicians that are Transatlantic.
I absolutely love everything this group have recorded; in the studio and in concert.However with this recording i have to say that this is such a poor album.The problem? Neal Morse! Now don't get me wrong i really like Morse solo stuff,and some of his music he recorded with Spocks Beard,and his own records are superb.And that's the problem with Kaleidoscope.To my ears it's a Morse solo record,with three guests! Actually this feeling of Morse being the " main man" in Transatlantic , really began on CD 3 ( The Whirlwind),but has become more apparent on this latest one.Epics Into the blue,and the title track are prime examples of this.By comparison i got more enjoyment out of the three shorter tracks than the two over-blown epics!
I was expecting so much more than this very ordinary release! Disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic prog rock, 31 Jan 2014
This review is from: Kaleidoscope [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I agree with other reviewers that this is exactly what we've come to expect from Transatlantic. That said Kaleidoscope is excellent. On the main album there isn't a duff track. The musicianship is first rate. Into The Blue has some classic 70's synth sounds and reminds me of Yes at their peak. The ballad Shine is gorgeous and ends too soon. The title track is an epic 33 minutes long and not a moment is wasted. If you like prog rock you'll love this.
The bonus disk is very good indeed. The covers of And You And I and Conquistador stand out and their workout on King Crimson's Indiscipline shows a band that's willing to take risks.
The vinyl package which is a triple LP set which also includes the both the CD and the bonus CD is good value, especially when you consider that the average price for a double LP these days is around £25 without an included CD. You still can't beat a gatefold LP sleeve and this one comes inside a slipcase with the bonus LP in its own sleeve. I also got a nice 3D postcard of the cover art thrown in too. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collide-of-hopes!, 28 Feb 2014
By 
B. Robertson (Bromley, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
Transatlantic! What a band! This is album number four and I remember clearly getting really excited back in the year 2000 when SMPTe was in the pipeline. The article was in 'Classic Rock' magazine and I suddenly realised these four differing and similar personalities could create something unbelievable. SMPTe is still my favourite album because it is so musical and melodic. This is always the album that I recommend as the 'future of prog'.The four individual band CDs at this time were 'Snow', 'Space Revolver', 'Scenes from a Memory and 'Marillion.com'. Then SMPTe dropped on to the progressive landscape like confetti at a wedding. Album number two, Bridge across Forever, did not live up to the majesty of the first album although it is still a pretty decent record. 'The Whirlwind' was brilliant but overlong! Watching them at 'High Voltage' perform the whole thing was magnificent but you just wanted them to play something from the first two albums. A mere four year wait and we get Kaleidoscope and it is another collision of four musical hopes!

Kaleidoscope has two typical Transatlantic epics that bookend the CD and three that mix things up in the middle. The middle three do add a lot of colour and diversity to the whole kaleidoscopic pattern. It's seeing the five tracks arranged so carefully that you realise why Kaleidoscope is called Kaleidoscope. I love 'Shine', track two which is a typical Morsey type guitar motif with lovely instrumentation. 'Black as the Sky' reminds me of the Spocks Beard song 'Crack the Big Sky'; it is keyboard based and is by far the weakest track on view. Beyond the sun is dreamy, atmospheric and beautiful.

'Into the Blue' and 'Kaleidoscope' are the two 30 minute epics that do sit along place the other epics in the Transatlantic canon. Both tracks have typical Morse passages with wonderful off-beat Portnoy drumming. Stolt is a dream on 'Kaleidoscope' on the 7 minute mark.

CD2 has 8 cover versions. All of them mirror the originals, there is no Transatlantic excess here so if you know 'Goodbye Yellow Brick Road' by Elton then you will know the Trans version. I do love the bonus disc though because it shows us exactly who the influences are. Best track here is 'Sylvia' which is fab.

Negatives, there has to be negatives! Some of the singing is really not up to scratch. Five voices are singing throughout the 2 CDs. Neal Morse has a wonderfully warm and instantly recognisable voice that has evolved over decades of serious vocal scenarios. He has played every musical genre and I have watched his career slowly transend to its current position. Daniel Gildenlow can sing too but he is out of place amongst the four Transatlantic albums. Roine Stolt and his singing has been part of my life for such a long time that I have got used to his shortcomings. Portnoy and Trewavas cannot sing but they get far too much microphone time, Trewavas sings a long passage in the middle of the title track! Why?? Why not stick with Morse? Do we really need 5 vocalists when surely one would do? Spocks Beard had wonderful harmonies and I think Morse is trying to recreate this here but it just doesnt work. When Yes went on tour they did not have five singers!

Kaleidoscope is a 5 star album with a star knocked off for the singing arrangements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous album by Fabulous band, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
A completely fantastic album by some of Prog's most accomplished musicians.
matched with a superb hardback book full of inspiring artwork

The disc of covers includes some of the best cover versions I've heard
I'd recommend this album to anyone who thought Prog was dead or any music fan who ever thought about dipping their toe into the ocean of Prog music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Prog rock fom 4 talented artists, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
If you like your prog rock, you will love his. Every track has been carefully made to give the full potential of classic prog rock. Cant wait to see this being performed live or a DVD of the concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 14 Feb 2014
By 
P. Wilkes "PhilW" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
If you have the other Transatlantic albums then you'll know what to expect - chock full of superb playing, melodic themes, intricate prog sections and multi-part epics. While not really breaking new ground, this is top quality music from a top quality band. Some great cover versions on the bonus disk too. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet from TA, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Steven Smith "24beforemylove" (Harrogate, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
I've now had some time with this album. It has all the usual TA ingredients: structured symphonic style epics, soaring melodies, superb singalong moments and top playing from all. This time I note in particular the tasteful synth playing, especially the use of mini moog and Hammond. There are no significant weak moments. I prefer the structure of this album to The Whirlwind. I find TA are best at 20-30 minute pieces with recurring themes and moods.

The influence of Neal Morse is strongest, but I always enjoy Roine Stolt's vocals and Portnoy's busy drums. The latter's familiar fills are there along with some more unusual moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'shining' example of symphonic prog!!!, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
Ambitious as ever, impressive as hoped, memorable as wished for and as much fun as possible, Transatlantic prove once more that some supergroups really can be even greater than the sum of their parts – and in this case, that's really saying something.
As far as I’m concerned it’s another winner from the guys that call themselves Transatlantic. It's actually kind of nice that the band have managed to keep this thing going, not overstaying their welcome, but popping up every few years and dropping some wonderful, epic symphonic prog in our laps. Let's hope they keep it going for years and years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Safe and familiar, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
Kaleidoscope is the 4th studio album from Prog super-group Transatlantic.
The first disc contains 5 new tracks while a bonus disc offers covers of other 'prog' and rock classic.
First off the quality of musicianship and production is uniformly excellent (and should be no surprise to anyone familiar with the players).

The album opens with the lengthy "Into the Blue". and closes with the even more lengthy "Kaleidoscope".
In the middle there are three shorter tracks (two of which "Shine" and "Beyond the Sun" are ballads)

Overall, I do like this album but it lacks something. Everyone is playing well within their comfort zone here and the songs are all pretty 'safe'. It would be unkind to describe the album as derivative, but it certainly doesn't plough any new furrows and for the most part lacks edge

The best song on the album is Black is The Sky - which romps along at a fair pace while still delivering enough keyboard, bass, guitar and drum virtuosity to satisfy.
The two ballads are also pretty decent .
It's the longer songs that somehow disappoint.
If for no other reason than they feel long - and Into the Blue seems like more a meander through collection of fragments than a coherent piece with a theme or direction.

All that said, Portnoy, Trewavas, Morse and Stolt are so obviously at ease playing together and such capable musicians in their own rights that even if this album isn't their best it is still well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kaleidoscope
Kaleidoscope by Transatlantic (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews