Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The heart of Nina Persson
Animal Heart is Nina Persson's first solo album, although the two albums released under the name of A Camp (the first was a collaboration between Persson and Mark Linkous of Sparklehorse, the second was recorded with her husband Nathan Larson) have been regarded by many as being solo albums in everything but name.

It's fair to say that the two A Camp albums...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nina Persson - nice
Am a massive fan of A camp and although Nina's voice has her usual loveliness the songs don't compare.
worth a listen though - maybe I haven't played it enough!!!
Published 9 months ago by susan anderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The heart of Nina Persson, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Animal Heart (Audio CD)
Animal Heart is Nina Persson's first solo album, although the two albums released under the name of A Camp (the first was a collaboration between Persson and Mark Linkous of Sparklehorse, the second was recorded with her husband Nathan Larson) have been regarded by many as being solo albums in everything but name.

It's fair to say that the two A Camp albums never had the same appeal or sales as, say, Gran Tursimo-era Cardigans, and if Persson has decided to emerge from the relative obscurity of A Camp and record under her own name in order to capture some of the more casual Cardigans fans, what will they find?

Animal Heart chugs along in a mostly mid-tempo mode, so there's nothing as arresting as "Erase/Rewind" or "My Favourite Game". It does sound unmistakably like Persson though, with good melodies, some memorable choruses and occasionally frayed vocals.

First, and title, track "Animal Heart" is a great way to open, as it's a confident and attractive pop song, whilst other highlights include "Forgot to Tell You" which is a breakup song that succeeds in spite of a slightly cluttered production and "Food for the Beast" where the various overdubs add something to the track. Elsewhere the more stripped-back feel of "This Is Not Heavy Metal" is very appealing.

In summary, Animal Heart has plenty to recommend it, although it does feel a little unengaging - maybe this is due to the fact that although Persson has stepped out of the shadows of A Camp to record under her own name, it's difficult to feel that by the end of the album you feel you know her any better - confessional songwriting this isn't.

But even if this does sometimes come off as polished pop that lacks heart, there's more than enough here to make it well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back Nina., 14 Oct 2014
By 
Reggie (South East Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal Heart (Audio CD)
Have just bought this superb album which I must admit escaped my notice when released earlier this year...If you love "Long Gone Before Daylight" era Cardigans and/or have a soft spot for A Camp, then this is for you.. Purchased on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nina Persson - nice, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal Heart (Audio CD)
Am a massive fan of A camp and although Nina's voice has her usual loveliness the songs don't compare.
worth a listen though - maybe I haven't played it enough!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album!, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal Heart [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is a beautiful album from the former lead singer of The Cardigans with wonderfully performed well-crafted songs. Being able to buy it on vinyl is a nice touch for those music lovers who prefer the packaging and sound of LPs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's generally good, I like most of it, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal Heart (Audio CD)
I saw Nina at Glastonbury 2014, where she performed many tracks from this record, leading me to buy it. It's generally good, I like most of it, but tails off a bit towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect album to showcase a fabulous voice, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal Heart (Audio CD)
From start to finish a joy to listen to!!.Simply a excellent album!!!
Once again NINA PERSSON delivers the goods,the equal or not better than her previous work via" A CAMP " and THE CARDIGANS.
I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS ALBUM,a wonderful start to newcomers of this Swedish artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov 2014
By 
Miss Read (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal Heart (Audio CD)
Fantastic album, as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Sep 2014
By 
R. Duncan "Paranoid Welshman" (Aberdaugleddau, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal Heart (Audio CD)
It's Nine Person being ace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful pop music, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal Heart (Audio CD)
If you liked ABBA - buy this cd! Swedish pop at it's best. Crunchy vocal with a lot of feelings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Talent, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal Heart (Audio CD)
From the first track I was hooked, Nina gives a real crisp and fresh sound and I listen too It endlessly, together with Agnes Obel the best CD's so far Into 2014. Scandanavia Rules OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animal Heart
Animal Heart by Nina Persson (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews