Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent documentary on Formula One racing
Note that I have not seen the DVD version of this programme, only the BBC4 broadcast, but as I was reviewing the film Rush [DVD], I took the opportunity to write a review of this also, as the two are inseparable. Lease note some of the warnings in the other reviews.

This is an excellent documentary on the 1976 Formula One championship rivalry between James Hunt...
Published 5 months ago by No More Mr. Mice Guy

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You're better off watching the repeat on telly
Despite what it says on the DVD case, this is not "as seen on BBC TV" - with a running time of just 52 minutes, around a tenth has been edited out.

Probably due to licensing issues, music is missing and, more damagingly, many of the scenes that went with it - noticeably James Brown's Get Up Offa That Thing (used for Parkinson interview with "playboy Hunt" and...
Published 6 months ago by Teddy Windsor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You're better off watching the repeat on telly, 26 Feb 2014
This review is from: Hunt Vs Lauda: Grand Prix's Greatest Racing Rivals (BBC Official) [DVD] (DVD)
Despite what it says on the DVD case, this is not "as seen on BBC TV" - with a running time of just 52 minutes, around a tenth has been edited out.

Probably due to licensing issues, music is missing and, more damagingly, many of the scenes that went with it - noticeably James Brown's Get Up Offa That Thing (used for Parkinson interview with "playboy Hunt" and footage of "Hunt the Shunt" at Hesketh), Kraftwerk's Autobahn (when looking at Lauda's approach to racing), T-Rex's Get It On (talking about McLaren's Marlborough sponsorship) and Boston's More Than A Feeling (used so effectively when describing the social context of the British GP and then showing Hunt's controversial victory).

Off the top of my head, Jackie Stewart's brief Nürburgring in-car commentary has also been cut in half, while the chilling narration from fellow driver John Watson, who held Lauda's head in his lap in the aftermath of the accident, is gone. Strangely I think a quote from Lauda may have been added - about being asked to date an autograph before the German GP "because it might be the last one."

This is a bare bones release and there are no extras. Even at a fiver I felt slightly hacked off buying it, so I took it back for a refund.

Wait for it to appear again on the BBC - it's a great documentary and well worth seeing in its original form. Incredibly moving and makes the recent Rush movie completely redundant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent documentary on Formula One racing, 15 April 2014
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hunt Vs Lauda: Grand Prix's Greatest Racing Rivals (BBC Official) [DVD] (DVD)
Note that I have not seen the DVD version of this programme, only the BBC4 broadcast, but as I was reviewing the film Rush [DVD], I took the opportunity to write a review of this also, as the two are inseparable. Lease note some of the warnings in the other reviews.

This is an excellent documentary on the 1976 Formula One championship rivalry between James Hunt and Niki Lauda. I knew nothing of it before seeing this programme, but found it fascinating. Hunt came over as a public schoolboy who had no direction in his life, and was just chasing the moment, whereas Lauda’s approach, whether it was the intention or not, appeared to be the future of F1 racing, as we know it today. The film manages to show the drama and suspense of the races and the various political decisions much better than the recent film Rush does, which concentrates more of the character differences between the two rivals. This programme made me think of the famous quote on the English Civil War, that “the Royalists were romantic but wrong, the Parliamentarians repulsive but right”; though I would not call Lauda repulsive – he was simply being professional while Hunt was just a gifted amateur. However, as Napoleon is oft quoted as saying “I don’t care how good he is, is he lucky?” Hunt got lucky, but consistency won out in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunt v Lauda - a must have !, 17 May 2014
By 
Ronald Searle "Ron Searle" (Marden, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunt Vs Lauda: Grand Prix's Greatest Racing Rivals (BBC Official) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great dvd and a must have for all Forula One fanatics.
Shiws the exceptional racing between the two great men. Very exciting. You will enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, stirring stuff, 16 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Hunt Vs Lauda: Grand Prix's Greatest Racing Rivals (BBC Official) [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this brilliant doc when it was shown on BBC; really looking forward to seeing it again on DVD. The story of Niki Lauda's crash is both harrowing and uplifting and it's amazing to see what F1 was like back then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunt Vs Lauda: Grand Prix's Greatest Racing Rivals (BBC Official) [DVD] (DVD)
Very interesting watching and far, far better than the film "RUSH". (Same story line!) Great service too, many thanks indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hunt vs Lauda, 22 Aug 2014
This review is from: Hunt Vs Lauda: Grand Prix's Greatest Racing Rivals (BBC Official) [DVD] (DVD)
With so much renewed interest in this battle between two of the racing worlds drivers as Ron Howard's RUSH showed, it's marvellous to hear & see the real footage & hear from the drivers & engineers & very moving firsthand experiences from partners & friends. This documentary is very well edited & a remarkable piece of documentary making about James Hunt & Niki Lauda, it's also an in-depth focus on the teams & cars of that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunt Vs Lauda: Grand Prix's Greatest Racing Rivals (BBC Official) [DVD] (DVD)
Awesome documentary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunt Vs Lauda: Grand Prix's Greatest Racing Rivals (BBC Official) [DVD] (DVD)
10 out of 10 even if you're not into formula 1 racing,amazing determination and courage from both men.The actors were perfect for the roles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good story though, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunt Vs Lauda: Grand Prix's Greatest Racing Rivals (BBC Official) [DVD] (DVD)
This is the film on which I believe 'Rush' was based but portrays a different James to that of Champion: James Hunt, which I choose to believe is the more accurate one. Good story though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The story is amazing, but this is NOT the BBC version, 30 April 2014
This review is from: Hunt Vs Lauda: Grand Prix's Greatest Racing Rivals (BBC Official) [DVD] (DVD)
I have been fascinated with this story because as I child I witnessed the events unfolding.. The BBC did a great documentary... but this is not it! It's been edited by about 10 minutes. One very annoyed customer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hunt Vs Lauda: Grand Prix's Greatest Racing Rivals (BBC Official) [DVD]
£6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews