Customer Reviews


447 Reviews
5 star:
 (362)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey
This story is one of my all-time favourites and this episode is just as good as all the others. I am looking forward to the next series with eager anticipation.
Published 6 months ago by Happy gran

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Xmas season
On second watching, i liked it more; at first, it seemed to been made for the American audience. Who couldn't resist Mrs Hughes and Mr Carson...
Published 8 months ago by paivi henttonen


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey: The London Season (Christmas Special 2013) [DVD] (DVD)
This story is one of my all-time favourites and this episode is just as good as all the others. I am looking forward to the next series with eager anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey: The London Season (Christmas Special 2013) [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this. Fast paced with all the characters we are used to. Lots of possibilities in how the story could play out. I look forward to viewing in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas special, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey: The London Season (Christmas Special 2013) [DVD] (DVD)
Got the feeling this was a precursor to the next series. Although enjoyable,story line weak. Saved by some great acting especially Maggie Smith. What a star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great DVD to watch, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey: The London Season (Christmas Special 2013) [DVD] (DVD)
There is not a lot to be said about Downton Abbey I Love it, and have started to watch it from the beginning again, in case I missed something first time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Solid Downton Xmas Fare, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Downton Abbey: The London Season (Christmas Special 2013) [DVD] (DVD)
A large part of the nation sat down on Christmas night in a state of concerned anticipation. The previous two Downton Christmas Specials have been, well, a bit mixed. The first was probably the best ever episode of Downton, featuring Bates' problems. However, last year the Special spent most of the time without anything very much happening but then managed to cast a pall over the festivities for many with its tragic ending.

This year, however, in my opinion Downton did not disappoint. As the title suggests, it is largely based in London and centres around the `coming out' of Lady Rose in 1923. For those of you who have not come across the expression, this involves the rather quaint upper class custom of introducing eligible young ladies to society, including being introduced to royalty. There is a good measure of romance, jealousy and intrigue - in other words exactly what we would expect from Downton! The pace of the plot is reasonable although arguably there was a little too much in the way of social gathering dominating the action, particularly earlier on. However, for me the highlight was the anticipated rematch between the incomparable Maggie Smith and Shirley MacLaine, fully charged with caustic wit and the clash of two strong personalities. Well worth seeing just for that little gem!

Certainly it was not as good as the first ever Downton Christmas Special, but that is hardly a fair comparison as that was such a good episode, with a strong central story. This was more a continuation of various existing plot lines, but was a good, solid Downton offering which most viewers will have enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Xmas season, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey: The London Season (Christmas Special 2013) [DVD] (DVD)
On second watching, i liked it more; at first, it seemed to been made for the American audience. Who couldn't resist Mrs Hughes and Mr Carson...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey, The London Season. Highlands and Series 4., 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey: The London Season (Christmas Special 2013) [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed the London Season series and am in awe of how well Julian Fellowes keeps the story's various links so flawlessly and intricately intertwined week after week. He is a fabulous scriptwriter - apart from his other many talents - and I really enjoy the way he holds it all together so consistently. Although much of the upstairs/downstairs interaction is not quite accurate as master/servant behaviour, especially of 100 years ago, the story is still gripping. No servant would come into the drawing room to discuss servant problems with the master while visitors are there, for instance, but I don't suppose most viewers would recognise that and the story must be moved along at a good pace regardless. This nitpick is really a trifle in the greater screening of things.
I enjoy the acting, which is excellent from every participant, and the costumes look superb on screen. For me it is a blessed relief to watch a show without the loud violence of some US series. The scenery and backgrounds are beautiful and the human interest story lines grip me. I look forward to every 'next episode.' What I did NOT appreciate was the media leaking the climactic points, such as the death of Matthew Crawley, to the public before the episode was screened. That was very bad form and spoiled the impact. Such a pity. Bring on the next series though! Cant wait for No 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still I enjoyed it a great deal, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey: The London Season (Christmas Special 2013) [DVD] (DVD)
I am one of the many Downton Abbey fans, so of course I watched the London Season with pleasure, but it was not as enthralling as the other Christmas specials. Still I enjoyed it a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Special Downton Abbey, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey: The London Season (Christmas Special 2013) [DVD] (DVD)
Below my expectations, but a, anyhow it is no surprise as the story has been stretched to produce this special.

I will only recommend it to friends of Downton wit reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars series lost his heart, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if you have seen the first til third season, this is a dissapointment: nothing to put your heart on. Honestly who wants to see again Mr and Mrs B being this victims. Just the look into his greeving face makes me angry. They should not let have dies Lady mary's hisband. Wrong decision, because it took the whole drive of the story away without replacing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Downton Abbey: The London Season (Christmas Special 2013) [DVD]
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews