Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2014
The rumour (the lie?) I heard was that this was supposed to be Joan Wasser’s take on the classic soul album. Hence, The Classic. One, of course, should know by now that Joan’s take on anything is not quite going to sound as obvious as it appears. This seems to have caught some critics off the disco ball. Not quite sure what they’re hearing their reactions, generally, have been mixed. What a shame. This is by far and away one of this year’s great albums. Far stranger and artier than St. Vincent’s recent offering and yet who’d know. Get Direct, What Would You Do and New Year’s Day are long and winding songs which bring both the tunes and skewed magic that The Classic has in great big strangely soulful spoonfuls. Simply, The Classic is, cough, a classic. Well played Joan.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
In contrast to the previous reviewer, I believe this is the inspired work of a creative genius of exceptional talents. I've listened to this album many times over the past week, and find it totally addictive. Not only is Joan herself an incredible musician, but she seems to have assembled a team of fellow players around her who exhibit equal gifts, and the interplay between them is magical. Sadly, the material here may not be as commercial as some tatstes would prefer, but anyone who enjoys innovation and passion in music, alongside high production values, will love this album. Far from being a disappointment, this album is the perfect culmination of her career to date. GO JOAN!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
The Classic has three or four absolutely great tracks on it, especially the opening two, but unfortunately the middle of the album is a little leaden without the soulful pizazz of the the opening two and I always find myself skipping through. So half a great album and half not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
I have only one other Joan as Police Woman album "The Ride" which I love.This is a much brighter, bouncier record and on the first few listens the first three or four songs are the standout tracks. However, as with "The Ride" repeated listening reveals the subtlety, depth and songwriting skills evident on the other tracks of the album.
I like the fact that Joan Wasser takes risks with her songwriting and never goes for the obvious though sometimes this can be a bit challenging for this listener (the key change to the chorus of "Witness" being an example). Stick with it, the rewards are worth it.
The musicianship on this album is sublime - the bass playing in particular, (bass player's name escapes me right now) is seriously sexy!
Great to hear someone obviously in love with music, writing songs and willing to push the boundaries a little bit without getting lost up their own backside.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
I Didn't like the classic at first (put off maybe by the youtube video of the title track) but now I think it may be Joan's best to date. Checkout good together. My favorite track on the album
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Wow...Shes been on my radar for a few years but never bought one of her albums before. Very talented artist..great songs, distinctive voice, brilliant arrangements, great band, its all there, jazz pop, psychedelia, torch song. i could nerd on about the drumming and the recording...suffice to say... its a Classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
I love this CD. JaPW is such a great band. I saw them recently and they are superb live too, which is such a good thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
A fantastic album and she just gets better and better, please buy her back catalogue as you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
Best Album! (so far any way). If you are a JAPW fan you must get this. Just absolutley loving it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Very good album, my favourite of hers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.48
£11.57

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)