Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia for nevermore
Sublime gothy-folky gal manages to be a melange of fragile, brittle, sad, delicate, punchy, catchy, eerie...Frequently quivering with an indefinable nostalgia, never merely wispy, perhaps weighted with the wistful, hints of melancholy hanging in the air like mist or fog. Imagine a sad silvery sound, occasionally lingering, acoustic autumnal sounds without overbearing...
Published 8 months ago by Zaroff

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So many much better female artists in this genre
Really disappointing. Over produced , monotonous and over hyped. Off to the charity shop.So many much better female artists in this genre. try Georgia Ruth, Gemma Rae or Mary Gauthier.
Published 3 months ago by SER


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia for nevermore, 22 Sept. 2014
This review is from: July (Audio CD)
Sublime gothy-folky gal manages to be a melange of fragile, brittle, sad, delicate, punchy, catchy, eerie...Frequently quivering with an indefinable nostalgia, never merely wispy, perhaps weighted with the wistful, hints of melancholy hanging in the air like mist or fog. Imagine a sad silvery sound, occasionally lingering, acoustic autumnal sounds without overbearing mournful dirges.

Perhaps the musical equivalent of a discarded remnant of a lace bodice or unfettered veil fluttering over the ground, only to be captured with repeated attempts, to reveal a tatter of shroud. Totally original to herself, Marissa Nadler would catch the ear of Poe & his kith and kin...bearing a touch of perhaps a youthful Marianne Faithfull if she took to the laudanum & rode bareback across america upon an ageless black pony...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marissa!! Why did I not hear of you before this ......, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: July (Audio CD)
Sensational album. Best thing I've heard this year. I'm now off to check out the back catalog!!
I strongly recommend this fine disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LIKED IT, 5 Oct. 2014
This review is from: July (Audio CD)
Liked this CD. I would describe her work as folk/indie ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 4 Sept. 2014
This review is from: July (Audio CD)
Sensational C.D. this is a must for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earily Beautiful, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: July (Audio CD)
Boston based, Marissa Nadler is an American Indi/Folk singer/songwriter, who with "July" presents her sixth full length recording.

Marissa's hypnotic like falsetto vocals showcases an album of earily beautiful textures, luring the listener into an album of personal painful emotions. With her ghostly backing vocals, superb musicianship and gorgious production, you can't help but fall for this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So many much better female artists in this genre, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: July (Audio CD)
Really disappointing. Over produced , monotonous and over hyped. Off to the charity shop.So many much better female artists in this genre. try Georgia Ruth, Gemma Rae or Mary Gauthier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD vinyl sound., 23 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: July [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I got this vinyl (Bella Union) with the CD in it. The sound from this vinyl LP is outstanding - totally full-bodied and totally analog. Enjoy every second of playing this vinyl LP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely CD, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: July (Audio CD)
Really like this CD but was disappointed there weren't many songs on it. She is a lovely artist but next time I would check that is a few more songs on the CD somehow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marissa Nadler - July, 26 April 2014
This review is from: July (Audio CD)
I read a review somewhere about this album. Someone (a classical composer, I seem to remember) also wrote another review so I decided to buy it. It's taught me one serious thing: never buy albums on the strength of a review. The production values on July are good - and probably THE thing - but, like so many current albums I hear, the actual musical content is very limited indeed. We're living in an age were re-making/re-modelling is the general currency. There's one band who do this exceptionally well: Blood Ceremony. July, however, is just passable; the acoustic guitar playing, adequate (not great as the review I read implied). It seems to me that if it wasn't for technology (i.e. ProTools and related computer recording software) many albums simply wouldn't exist. If only critics (and the reviews written on the front of the album laud it as exceptional) had some kind of musical education we'd be in a better position to pre-assess today's music. Maybe I'm expecting too much?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely!, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: July (Audio CD)
Don't buy many DVDs these days but read the reiews.
Buy it it is beautiful even for an old codger like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

July
July by Marissa Nadler (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews