Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rare Talent
By any standard Robert Ellis is a rare talent both as a performer and as a songwriter. His beautifully crafted songs are literate and melodic and play host to all of the emotions and frailties that the human mind is heir to while his deceptively simple blend of folk and country recall the work of fellow Texan, Townes Van Zandt.

Loosely woven around the themes...
Published 9 months ago by Angel Delta

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most overrated album I have bought this year ...
Probably the most overrated album I have bought this year, indifferent songs, mostly forgettable.
I can't see for the life of me what all the fuss is about.
I played it once, I won't be playing it twice.
Avoid, and buy Parker Milsap instead.
Published 2 months ago by M. J. Rigby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rare Talent, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Lights From The Chemical Plant (Audio CD)
By any standard Robert Ellis is a rare talent both as a performer and as a songwriter. His beautifully crafted songs are literate and melodic and play host to all of the emotions and frailties that the human mind is heir to while his deceptively simple blend of folk and country recall the work of fellow Texan, Townes Van Zandt.

Loosely woven around the themes of yearning, regrets, heartaches and memories, Ellis' songs are mature, poignant and beautifully arranged. Electric bass, keyboards and guitar, with occasional strings and solo sax, are all that are needed to complement his plaintive, pleading voice.

The scene is set by the title track, a bitter-sweet tale of two lovers, who live their lives from first meeting, to their inevitable end, entranced by the lights from the chemical plant while all about them the world is changing - only the lights stay the same. Swirling steel guitar, drums and strings give this song a dreamy, almost hypnotic effect.

But then, Ellis is a man who is lost to reality in "TV Song":

"I'm a gunfighter, I'm a bull rider
I'm the captain of some pirate ship at sea"

while wishing that his wife was less like the cold and heartless Betty Draper (from "Mad Men").

He is also a man who is aware enough in "Bottle Of Wine" to know that too much wine and a bag of cocaine are to blame for living in a cloud of regret:

"We get so sentimental, but it's only lust in disguise". A bar room piano and a haunting tenor sax complete this picture of despair.

But there is some hope and optimism in Ellis' view of the world as he sings in the tender love song "Steady As The Rising Sun":

"Oh, I may die in the fight
But with you at my side
That won't get me down".

Ten of the eleven songs on the album are written by Robert Ellis but there is a elegant cover of Paul Simon's "Still Crazy After All These Years" with Ellis' voice conveying both darkness and longing and underpinned by some inspired guitar. There is sorrow and regret in the gentle "Pride" and and an offer of comfort in "Lies" while Houston" is an emotional farewell to the city in which he was born and which changed the way in which he saw his life:

"Oh, Houston this is not goodbye
You will be living inside my heart"

At the age of just 25, Robert Ellis writes songs of emotional complexity that are memorable both for their lilting melodies and their subtle lyrics. With his third album Ellis has grown in stature to become an indelible part of the Nashville scene where this album was recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robert Ellis - This Hard Land, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lights From The Chemical Plant (Audio CD)
Robert Ellis is a Texan who has moved to Nashville to perfect his art. On "The Lights from the Chemical Plant" he has largely succeeded. Your reviewer was drawn to this singer having listened to his scintillating cover of Paul Simon's "Still Crazy After all These Years" which could have been made for a country twang and steel guitar. The good news is that Ellis has much more to offer not least the sobering honesty of the excellent "Pride" which shuffles along with admirable clarity. Opener "TV Song" also stands out as a rolling country ballad referring to his love of the Goggle Box and Walt Disney. Yes it sounds trite but it works very well.

With former Tom Waits cohort Jacquire King at the controls "The Lights" never descends into the sentimentality or mawkishness that disfigures so many country albums. The title track for example is a lovelorn jarring song of Springsteen like imagery not least the observation that "Love like in a man's react/Constellations in the black/The lights from the chemical plant/Burn bright in the night like an old kerosene lamp" Its great stuff as is the beautiful country simplicity of songs such as "Steady is the Rising Run" which has mainstream Nashville "hit" stamped all over it. Alternatively the longest track on the album is the splendid "Houston" that shows an artist with crossover appeal to spare and an ability to reach out to rock sensibilities. If there is a problem on this album it is that the lyrics do need some work as there are a number of country cliches that are rolled out which frankly could be cut and paste from any Nashville source.

The good news is that this is Robert Ellis third album and like all great country singers he has a voice that emphasizes vulnerability and heartache. In relation to "Bottle of Wine" it harks back to his producers association with Tom Waits with a bar stool lament destined to be washed down with a Jack Daniels or two. All in all "The Lights from the Chemical Plant" is a desirable album from an artist who will no doubt go from strength to strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lights From The Chemical Plant (Audio CD)
The new album from Robert Ellis moves away from the more traditional folk / country of previous album Photographs towards a smoother feel but this is in no way a bad thing. The superb musicianship, incredible vocals (with country twang beautifully intact), and evocative vocals are still to the fore.

I'm always of the opinion that an artist, or band, needs a great singer to elevate them above the norm. And Ellis is certainly blessed with a great voice. As mentioned, he has that country twang when he needs it, but also an extensive range and the ability to transmit emotion in a song the way Gram Parsons used to do it.

Guitar work from Ellis himself, and Kelly Doyle is sublime and complimentary and I was pleasantly surprised to see that drums were supplied by Josh Block of White Denim.

There isn't a duff song on the record and standout tracks are TV Song, the title track, Sing Along and by far my favourite Steady As The Rising Sun which is perfect in every way.

I haven't heard a better album so far this year and doubt I will. Hopefully he'll be touring the UK properly before too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a good one, 16 Oct 2014
By 
Koos "Koos Reitsma" (Groningen, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lights From The Chemical Plant (Audio CD)
This is a strong singer-songwriter record. Backed by a band Robbert Ellis plays 11 clever songs. Once used to his ‘nasal’ way of singing you will appreciate the songs.

Robert Ellis plays mostly acoustic guitar. On some of the songs he plays solo on piano (‘Bottle of Wine’). There’s a sweet nod to Paul Simon by covering the song “Still crazy after all these years”. It’s not the best-of-the-best-cover or the most impressive one. No, it’s just a very sweet and lovely one, containing the atmosphere of the whole record.

It’s not a singer-songwriter rocking , up-tempo or ‘fast’ album. This record contains sweet, lovely, nasty and angry mature songs. The songs are sung and played in a tempo to make you at ease. The atmosphere makes you feeling comfortable. The drums are low-profile, songs are guided by a smooth steel guitar. It’s a wonderful record to play with the raindrops falling on your window.
Personal highlight is the strong ‘Only lies’ about a female’s friend her bad relationship with her man while she refuses to believe the things friends tell her. Ellis tells her “Only lies can comfort you / Only lies will see you through”. It’s his intrusive way of singing that makes the song very, very interesting and powerful.

Yes, it's a good one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most overrated album I have bought this year ..., 30 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Lights From The Chemical Plant (Audio CD)
Probably the most overrated album I have bought this year, indifferent songs, mostly forgettable.
I can't see for the life of me what all the fuss is about.
I played it once, I won't be playing it twice.
Avoid, and buy Parker Milsap instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lights From The Chemical Plant (Audio CD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Lights From The Chemical Plant (Audio CD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lights From The Chemical Plant
The Lights From The Chemical Plant by Robert Ellis (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews