Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really decent for a freebie, especially one 'by a community of volunteers'
The last couple of 'by a community of volunteers' freebies I downloaded were hard to read due to the font, formatting and the age of the tales, and I didn't have too much hopes for this, but was pleasantly surprised at both the quality and content.

Firstly, refreshingly, there's only a short foreword, and then it's straight into the tales. I was expecting the...
Published on 28 Oct 2011 by ROROBLU'S MUM

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent collection of myths.
A couple of typos and a very abrupt ending couldn't hinder my enjoyment of this collection of classic mythological tales.
Published 10 months ago by Scotti


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Classic mythology, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Greek Stories (Kindle Edition)
Everybody knows the stories, but do you remember the contents? What was the big deal with Pandora's box? Who was Jupiter's father? What were the Titans? All of the stories, for free, perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars was this book meant to be a fictional storybook?, 25 July 2013
This review is from: Old Greek Stories (Kindle Edition)
Of all the greek and roman mythology books i have read, i have not read of how great the titans were and how wonderful the earth was before the gods, this is the first book i have read which mentions that. If i remember correctly, the titans orchestrated the death of their father, saturn or cronus ate/ swallowed his children because he was afraid his children would become more powerful than him and so on. Due to the inaccuracy at the beginning of the book, i had to question whether the stories would be accurate which made me lose interest. Good effort though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply told, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Greek Stories (Kindle Edition)
Great writing, Greek myths made real by good characterisation and no frills. Very simple, clear and carefully crafted, the stories carry you along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent stories even for grown-ups, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Greek Stories (Kindle Edition)
I like the stories. I can learn a lot from Baldwin. He was a great man. I suggest teachers recommend their pupils to read these stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OLD GREEK STORIES, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Greek Stories (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, so much so I ordered another which I have not read yet. I realised my education was somewhat forgetful of these wondrful stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun read, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Greek Stories (Kindle Edition)
I wanted to re-read the classics in my old age and thoroughly enjoyed this book I would recommend it to people of all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Greek Stories (Kindle Edition)
Kindle reading is relatively new to me! I really like being able to pick this book up and put it down without losing any of its enjoyment. The stories are all family and tales in their own right, but still linked in the long run. They have even more relevance when you visit different parts of Greece and the Islands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Greek Stories (Kindle Edition)
I haven't got round to reading this download yet but I was able to receive it with great speed and would definitely use this service again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Keep it Greek, 10 Oct 2013
By 
A. P. Tiritas "Tony T." (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Old Greek Stories (Kindle Edition)
Since the book is called 'Old Greek Stories' it should keep to the Greek names and not confuse the reader with Roman names as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Old Greek Stories (Illustrated)
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews