Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly sure what it is, but I like it
Not exactly sure what John who dies at the End is, but I like it. With its invention and flagrant disregard for coherent narrative, John... is both an interesting 'what if' and a wholly effective horror comedy. Coscarelli's singular voice in horror is the only one who could bring this to life, whether it's the man made out of meat, the door that is 'impossible to open',...
Published 4 months ago by Rob Simpson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smoke something first
Ummm... What did I just watch?

When this was good, it was very good. But it wasn't... I got confused.

Ok, that bad points - the script is not in any way tight, and there were not only a number of scenes that were wholly redundant, but also there were several plot holes - "we can't cross to your dimension even though we have this Super Megamind... but...
Published 11 months ago by M. Sockel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly sure what it is, but I like it, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Rob Simpson "noframeof" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: John Dies At The End (DVD) (DVD)
Not exactly sure what John who dies at the End is, but I like it. With its invention and flagrant disregard for coherent narrative, John... is both an interesting 'what if' and a wholly effective horror comedy. Coscarelli's singular voice in horror is the only one who could bring this to life, whether it's the man made out of meat, the door that is 'impossible to open', or some of the more far out stuff of the third act. The film is full of little ideas and touches that reward as both an insane spectacle and as an element that will bring different views to light on multiple rewatches. Couldn't be less accessible if it tried, but anyone at home with Don Coscarelli's flair will settle down in no time. The biggest problem for me was that it simply wasn't enough, the unsuccessful TV pilot analogy feels apt. I want more. Here's hoping the the other book in the series (This Book Is Full Of Spiders: Seriously Dude Dont Touch It) gets adapted by Coscarelli too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smoke something first, 12 May 2013
By 
M. Sockel (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ummm... What did I just watch?

When this was good, it was very good. But it wasn't... I got confused.

Ok, that bad points - the script is not in any way tight, and there were not only a number of scenes that were wholly redundant, but also there were several plot holes - "we can't cross to your dimension even though we have this Super Megamind... but these tiny insects can for no other reason than we say they can.... wait, why doesn't Super Megamind just absorb the insects?".

The good points, I liked the premise; "soy sauce" was really good, and the scene where the door handle turns into a penis was very funny. The whole setup with the phone was pure genius, and when Dave started talking into the hot dog I cracked up. If you can get past the stoner-esque set up and accept some general weirdness, then this is a pretty ok film.

One question thought; why is the film called "John Dies At The End"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Beware of the Soy Sauce!, 16 April 2014
By 
This review is from: John Dies At The End (DVD) (DVD)
This overlooked horror parody has a bit of a pedigree to it. “Phantasm” famed cult horror film director Don Coscarelli not only directed this film but he wrote the screen play.

John dies at the end started off as a webserial by David Wong (real name Jason Pargin) back in 2001 and grew and evolved since, to it is now current form of a novel, sequel and film.

When I saw the film, I had previously read the book, already I was at an advantage. I loved the book. I thought it was witty, camp and a load of fun. The themes seemed to be a mixture of Gen-X and Lovecraftian references thrown in. Not to mention that Molly, the dog, often steals the show.

Soy sauce is for John and David as Spice was to the world of Dune and the root of most of their problems. Soy sauce is what enlightens them and what ultimately curses them; mainly because it is pure evil.

This is a surreal adventure with time spent in other universe and dimensions. It is a thinking film, like so many of Terry Gilliam’s films. It takes time to process all the information and scenarios. You may have to watch it more than once to fully appreciate it.

Verdict: The book is still better than the film and I suggest you read the book first to really get what is lacking from the film. If you choose to just jump right into the film- Keep an open mind. There is a lot of Cthulu mythos and 80′s American horror film reference that the average viewer probably won’t get. It is still a very humourous film with plenty of gags and insane situations, so for that I give it 3 of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've never read the book, but still thoroughly enjoyed it, 15 April 2014
By 
Mr. D. Sykes "David Sykes" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Dies At The End (DVD) (DVD)
I had no problems following the plot. The film is definitely weird, very tongue in cheek. I thoroughly enjoyed the style and humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Wiered and definitely not wonderful, 25 Mar 2014
This review is from: John Dies at the End (DVD)
I really wanted to like this movie, I wanted to give it a fair chance and just engage with the story, but sadly, without even managing to get much further through than about half an hour into the movie, I had to stop it and get on with my life.

The movie has a somewhat interesting concept for the story line, but its extremely incoherent and seems to take forever to actually get anywhere. Even if you have loads of patience it's just not that interesting or engaging, it suffers severely from a lack of pace, the humorous elements are fairly weak and all together its just not enough to hold it all together.

Do yourself a favour and skip this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not that great!, 4 Mar 2014
This review is from: John Dies at the End (Blu-ray)
it was weird and occassionally funny, but wasnt really that good, probably not worth watching try and find something else, i only carried on watching till the end as i kinda have to watch something till the end once i start, i actually almost didnt on this occasion so that shows it wasnt that good hence the 2 star rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's all about the sauce, 24 Feb 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: John Dies At The End (DVD) (DVD)
Within the first fifteen minutes, you will see a meat-demon (as in, made out of cuts of meat) blasted apart by a television psychic via a cell phone.

And that has nothing to do with the plot.

If that doesn't tip you off that "John Dies at the End" is kind of a weird movie, then don't worry -- there are a million other ways it will let you know. This is a mad hybrid of Lovecraftian horror/slacker comedy, operating entirely on its own insane internal logic -- where else can you find a sentient drug, a flying mustache, a skinhead zombie and a Ship of Theseus paradox involving an axe?

As the story opens, David Wong (Chase Williamson) is in a Chinese restaurant, chronicling his adventures with his friend John (Rob Mayes) to a rather skeptical journalist (Paul Giamatti). What are their adventures about? Well, these two ordinary slackers are actually low-level paranormal investigators, dealing with grotesque hellish abominations in their small Midwestern town.

One night, John calls Dave in a paranoid panic, apparently high on some kind of weird black liquid called "soy sauce." Soy sauce is a sentient drug that makes you see things as they truly are, bend time, phone people in he future, etc. When John apparently dies at the police station, Dave ends up being pursued by a suspicious cop with a can of gasoline (Glynn Turman) and a gangsta-wannabe who is possessed by a nameless evil.

Also, a dog is involved. And a doorway into another dimension. And a weird guy who sticks giant alien leeches on Dave. And a TV psychic called Marconi. And an immense technological horror that threatens all worlds. You know, the usual.

As you can tell, "John Dies At The End" is a little hard to summarize, especially since a summary doesn't really address the rich insanity of the world they live in -- I mean, Dave tells us early in the movie that he once saw a kidney "grow tentacles, tear itself out of a ragged hole in his back and go slapping across my kitchen floor." And no, that has nothing to do with the plot either.

Cult director Don Coscarelli plays the events of the movie as being like a slacker comedy, except that these perpetually stoned-looking young men are dealing with icky slimy sucker-faced supernatural horrors. The dialogue is overwhelmed with deadpan humor ("Is there any way that you can steal my body?") and absurdity. The weird just piles up as the movie goes on, and is rarely treated as being anything THAT unusual or shocking -- my sister says it's a world where Lovecraftian madness-from-truth is just the way things are.

Just a warning for fans of David Wong's original novel, though. Coscarelli has to cut out giant chunks of the novel's convoluted plot, which means that occasionally we bump into a subplot/theme that doesn't make much sense on its own (the axe opener).

And yeah, when you look at the movie overall, it's... incredibly weird and confusing. You might have to watch it a few times before your brain hits the right notes. Or, if the soy sauce turned into a fly and flew into your mouth, you might already understand it.

Chase Williamson and Rob Mayes are a pretty fun pair of characters -- they're very matter-of-fact about all the weird stuff they do, both as the stone-faced Dave and the somewhat more manic John. And they're backed by equally off-kilter performances by Paul Giamatti, Clancy Brown, Doug Jones, Fabianne Therese, Jimmy Wong and Tai Bennett (as a "magical Jamaican" on the sauce). Everybody's acting is weird and strangely dreamlike here, and it fits the story perfectly.

"John Dies At The End" (no, the title really isn't a spoiler) is a mad, icky, bizarre little story that takes some getting used to -- but is a fun little ride along the way. Give it a try, especially if you're on soy sauce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool film, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Dies At The End (DVD) (DVD)
It's not fair to compare the film to the book, but... I ended up doing it anyway throughout the film.
It's cool and strange to see something as bizarre as this story on the screen.
If you liked the book, watch this; if you haven't read it, buy both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie, 6 Feb 2014
This review is from: John Dies At The End (DVD) (DVD)
Personally I loved the movie and thought it was great even though it was missing things from the book.
I did however show it to my friends and they made it clear to me that to really understand the movie you need to read the book first so suggestion to anyone wanting to watch this - read the book then watch the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars JUST THE SIDE EFFECTS, 28 April 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The best way to describe this film is "Phantasm" on drugs. Dave (Chase Williamson) and John (Rob Mayes) are friends who are attempting to save the universe, or at least our planet. They have been chosen to do so by the drug "Soy Sauce" which gives them remarkable insight that is more like a bad acid trip.

The film is quirky and humorous, but not a side splitter. The dialouge is cute and clever for most of the film, but to the point of ad nauseam.

For those who like the "Scott Pilgrim..." quick style, check it out.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, no sex. Nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x113b8f0c)

This product

John Dies At The End (BLU RAY) [Blu-ray]
John Dies At The End (BLU RAY) [Blu-ray] by Don Coscarelli (Blu-ray - 2014)
11.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews