Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good series, but only buy when the season is out
I'd personally wait until all the episodes are out and then you'll get the full flavour of the season. Season 1 comprised of 24 episodes and Japanese TV is currently on Season 2 (which has another 24 episodes). I bought this direct from Japan with English Subtitles and watched the whole series back to back, and found it really enjoyable. The story is based in a...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. A. Beg

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not aged 12 as advertised
My 12 year old son wanted to order this and having checked the rating we sent for it. It arrived today and is rated 15 due to 'strong bloody violence and nudity',
Not happy and neither is he. I now need to watch it to see if I think he is ok to watch. Saved his pocket money to buy this.
Amazon please ensure your advert is correct in future
Published 2 months ago by Jamsiet


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good series, but only buy when the season is out, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. A. Beg - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'd personally wait until all the episodes are out and then you'll get the full flavour of the season. Season 1 comprised of 24 episodes and Japanese TV is currently on Season 2 (which has another 24 episodes). I bought this direct from Japan with English Subtitles and watched the whole series back to back, and found it really enjoyable. The story is based in a mythical world with Aladdin and Ali Baba as the main heroes and Sinbad as another side Hero. It's definitely original and gives homage to the Arabian Tales; the first season covers quite a lot and you wouldn't enjoy watching 4-6 episodes at separate times of release. Wait for the full season to be out and them buy it, I guarantee you'll like it! 4/5 stars for me, since it wasn't the best anime I've seen (like Blue Exorcist or Ghost in the Shell: SAC), but a good try from anime creators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality of the actual set, 1 Mar 2014
By 
N. Heatherington "Kitasan" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magi The Labyrinth of Magic - Season 1 Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The other reviewer is very helpful in stating what the story is about, which I agree with the rating of 5 stars. So instead, I shall talk about the actual product in question:

The picture you see in the Amazon listing is a cardboard slipcase and the spine of the cardboard slipcase as-well, and what yo will find inside is a sturdy casing with a large piece of artwork (also present on the dvd version - as this part is the only thing the same in both versions) covering both front and back of the inner casing. When you go to open it up there is no seal holding A and B together so it should just unfold like a book. Inside you are presented with 2 Blu-ray discs. The first one is a Blue disc which looks very nice which contains episodes 1 to 8 and Bonus content. The second disc is a Green disc featuring episodes 9 to 13. Both discs sit at either side of the packaging ontop of a yellow background with white rukh featured upon it.

When you put the blu-ray into your player (PS4,PS3, Blu-ray player etc.) it will load up asking you either French or English - both feature 2 trailers at the beginning once you select your language (trailers are skipable, and the trailers for each language are different). It is dubbed in French, English and Japanese. There are subtitles for all of these options as-well - the menu screen is also very nice as you do not have to select "episode selection" and instead choose it from the main menu screen instead.

I'm extremely happy with this product - my only disappointment is where I bought both DVD and Blu-ray the inner artwork is the same, but I'm still very pleased.

The voice acting is very well done as-well.

5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MAGI OBSESSED!, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely loved it! A must get! It's addicting from the very first episode. Already can't wait till the second season comes out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i liked it, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a very good dvd the story line is excellent and the over all quality is also very good well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great new Series, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From A1 Pictures who are responsible for 3 of my favourite animes (Blue Exorcist, Fairy Tail, Sword Art online) comes another masterpiece in a brand new world to get lost in.

The series is based on the Arabian nights, same as Disney's Aladdin, the story takes place in an arabian setting, which for me is a good change in comparison to the common anime settings in Japanese or Europe style settings. The Story revolves mostly around a mysterious, wise, good mannered (and often clue less to the world around him) boy named Aladdin (nothing to do with the Disney Charicter) who possesses a flute that contends a Djinn (genie) named Ugo. He explores the world in order to find out what it is. This is just a quick summery of the basis of the plot as it opens up as the story progresses. The story itself is well done, funny, and often quite moving at times, especially the episodes involving slavery.

The Animation used in the series is top notch, which i would expect for the studio that brought us Fairy Tail, with some spectacular scenes. The English voice acting is also excellent, with the Voice actors of the Three main characters (on the box) matching there characters. People who are familiar with voice actors will also recognise some big time voice actors like Patric Seitz, Matthew Macer, Liam O Brian, Sam Riegel and Todd Herberkorn.

overall, I would recommend this to any Anime fan looking for something new. Espesualy those who have seen A-1 Pictures other works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magi The Labyrinth of Magic - Season 1 Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Awesome series! Definitely recommend for anyone who's into anime like Fairy Tail or any other Shonen! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series, 11 Feb 2014
Hey, it hasn't been released yet so I can't comment on the actual DVD package on offer here, but as someone who has watched the series online since it's first week of showing, week by week, I just wanted to say a few things about the series to anyone not as yet familiar with it.
Most of the main characters here will be well-known to everyone from the old Arabian Nights stories, but not quite in the form you may remember them. Ali Baba is a street-dwelling bad boy when he meets Aladdin (that's the kid with the blue hair by the way,) who is a Magi, a serious magician. They become friends and set off on various adventures, meeting Sinbad and a lot of other cool people along the way.. that's it in a nutshell. The main thing I want to say though is that this is a truly excellent anime series, one of the best I've yet seen. You get really engrossed in the storyline, which becomes pretty dark as the first season progresses. Great characters, amazing artwork, a lot of fun and a cracking storyline make 'Magi' a real must-see for any fan of magical anime. Series 1, (i.e. this,) was 26 episodes long, so watching it every week it took 6 months to watch, but it was really worth all the effort that took!
It hasn't some out yet so who knows if there'll be any extras or how the DVD package will look but as to content, I highly recommend 'Magi' as a story. Series 2 is happening now.. I'm watching every week and it's up to Epi 19 already so that's another release to look forward to in future.. meantime check out this first series if you can, I'm sure you won't be disappointed! 5 stars.. Px :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not aged 12 as advertised, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 12 year old son wanted to order this and having checked the rating we sent for it. It arrived today and is rated 15 due to 'strong bloody violence and nudity',
Not happy and neither is he. I now need to watch it to see if I think he is ok to watch. Saved his pocket money to buy this.
Amazon please ensure your advert is correct in future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magi The Labyrinth of Magic - Season 1 Part 1 [Blu-ray]
31.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews