Customer Reviews


1,955 Reviews
5 star:
 (908)
4 star:
 (579)
3 star:
 (288)
2 star:
 (101)
1 star:
 (79)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly fantastic xxx
I thoroughly enjoyed this! It was so easy to get into, In the first few sentences the book had captured my attention and I was glued to the scenes that were unfolding before me.

No-One Ever Has Sex On A Tuesday was so funny! Tracy Bloom has done a fantastic job of writing this book, and creating so many humourous moments in her writing. Throughout the story I...
Published 17 months ago by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly sub-par
I really wanted to like this. I read Single Woman Seeks Revenge and found myself snorting in laughter in the middle of Costa at lunchtime so I was so looking forward to this one. I didn't like anyone in it especially the main character and just wanted Katy to get her comeuppance! She was self-absorbed, demanding and a bit boring. Like a watered down Zoe Ball (Zoe I...
Published 8 days ago by C. Jean-Baptiste


‹ Previous | 1 2196 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly fantastic xxx, 13 May 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I thoroughly enjoyed this! It was so easy to get into, In the first few sentences the book had captured my attention and I was glued to the scenes that were unfolding before me.

No-One Ever Has Sex On A Tuesday was so funny! Tracy Bloom has done a fantastic job of writing this book, and creating so many humourous moments in her writing. Throughout the story I was bursting out with laughter, and on more than one occasion I was asked by others what was so hilarious!

But it's not only very funny, it is also very heart-felt and full of emotion too. The situations and dilemmas are very-well written. I'm sure there are scenes in this book that readers will be able to relate to, whether it is the friendships in the book, the many issues involved in pregnancy or conceiving, or even the relationships and love between the characters. I was quite touched by the story, and the topics in the book compelled me to read on.

The characters were brilliant. They were all so lifelike, and so realistic, and I did feel as though I knew them in real life. They seemed to jump from the pages. I really lost myself in their world, their issues and the events that were happening in their lives. I laughed with them, I cringed with them, and I felt for them.

No-One Ever Has Sex On A Tuesday is truly fantastic. It is enjoyable and funny, with a few emotional moments which will make you think too. I have thoroughly enjoyed having the pleasure of reading this book and I honestly can not wait for Tracy Bloom to bring out another!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really fun, light read!, 2 Sep 2014
This review was first published at M's Bookshelf - http://mssbookshelf.blogspot.be

I've never been a big fan of love triangles... and what's worse than a love triangle with a baby involved?!
Tracy's writing is so hilariously funny at times that I even managed to forget my frustrations about the whole situation. She even managed to give the characters an ending I was really happy with - and let's face it, the one thing all love triangles have in common is the lack of a (possible) happy ending. It took me a while to warm up to the characters, but I ended up really enjoying them and the story. I couldn't put the book down. It's even better than a tv soap. So many awkward moments, secrets, lies and hilarious slip ups, this book has it all. I mean, there's even a gay best friend!
The cover and title are just brilliant. I wanted to read this book before even knowing what it was about (maybe a good thing, since the love triangle thing might have scared me off).
This is the first Tracy Bloom book I read, but I'm definitely reading more after this!
Really fun, light read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, fun read, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It took me far too long to get around to reading No-One Ever Has Sex on a Tuesday and even longer to write my review for it. I have no idea why because I absolutely loved it! I’ll start by mentioning the cover just because it’s so simple and effective – it’s perfect for the book. I could not put this book down and so I was reading it in public a lot – which then meant I got a lot of people disturbing my reading and asking me questions about the book. Once I’d explained what the book was about and that no it wasn’t a “dirty” book just because it has sex in the title, I did get asked what could be funny about a book where the main character doesn’t know the father of her baby. It’s true that that real life scenario isn’t funny at all but No-One Ever Has Sex on a Tuesday had lots of humour, without making a mockery of the baby situation. More than that, it was sweet and romantic and emotional too, a chaotically entertaining story and a lot of fun.

This book grabbed me from the opening scenes. Ben kind of stole the show for me there and won me over so quickly. He was very funny and the complete bad timing he had with his humour and inappropriate comments was endearing and the highlight of this book for me. His outlook on life was refreshing to read – it wasn’t about instantly changing into the most serious, responsible soon-to-be parent going. His personality and character still always stood out for me so when Katy is reunited with ex-school friend Matthew, and a one-night stand ensues she’s not sure who the dad is, I was thrown for a bit. I loved Ben and yet Matthew was so unlikeable for me. He felt dull and arrogant and I really did have no clue how this book was going to turn out. Even though Katy made a lot of bad decisions, I didn’t dislike her. Everything just kept going wrong and it was very amusing to read. Which leads me quickly on to Ben’s pretty mad friend Braindead (really), who was hilarious. His involvement brought most of my favourite moments in this book. There was also Daniel who added a lot to this book and so many other brilliant characters.

Tracy Bloom’s voice in this book was great to read. She really builds up a vivid picture of every moment in this book and I could imagine every scene so easily, like I was just watching one of those fast-paced, crazy romantic comedy films. Her writing could be so light-hearted and then switch, subtly and perfectly. Writing this review a while on, I can still remember every moment so easily. Chaos did ensue on practically every page, which is what you get when you’re keeping secrets and making mistakes. That just helped make the whole book more memorable, because there were so many events in this book which had me laughing or smiling and I could list a ton of laugh-out-loud moments. Away from the humour and romance, it was the friendship in this book I loved. Characters like Braindead and Daniel seemed so unlike characters I normally warm to but in No-One Ever Has Sex on a Tuesday, I loved them. This book was fantastic read and as it moved towards the end, it got better still until I really didn’t want it to end. This has to be one of my favourite and most memorable books I’ve read this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully funny and emotive story with a great ending!, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book purely because I discovered that the author lives in my village and that, despite having her work successfully published in several overseas countries, she has not as yet been able to find a publisher in the UK. I was therefore surprised and intrigued and decided that I could lend a little support by purchasing the book on Kindle. I found the book extremely well written as well as intriguing, amusing and thought-provoking. In short - an extremely engaging read, with a fabulous ending! I wish the author well with her next book, which I look forward to reading. It made a refreshing change from the usual thriller/crime hard-reading that I normally choose. It is witty from start to finish with a definite moral to the story. Good luck Tracy Bloom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly sub-par, 11 Oct 2014
By 
C. Jean-Baptiste (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I really wanted to like this. I read Single Woman Seeks Revenge and found myself snorting in laughter in the middle of Costa at lunchtime so I was so looking forward to this one. I didn't like anyone in it especially the main character and just wanted Katy to get her comeuppance! She was self-absorbed, demanding and a bit boring. Like a watered down Zoe Ball (Zoe I apologise, that may be doing you a disservice)

She was so far past wrong she couldn't even remember right and dishing out demands while she was at it! Boyfriend pants, first love pants + 1, first love's wife pants >infinity!

Even the addition of the Gay Best Friend was excruciating, due in no small part to the way the other characters spoke to him - dated and appalling. Had the character been a black man and not a gay one it could have been a script from Death do us Part and that's me going back to before I was even born!

That said the book is not badly written and would be a decent beach read I was just so impressed with SWSR that I wanted to just dive in an have a laugh all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book so much I read it in 2 days ! So funny I couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny light easy read, 18 Jun 2013
Exactly what I expected a funny light easy read perfect for holiday or to pass away maternity leave. Enjoyable and definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED. IT., 15 Aug 2014
Katy doesn't do serious relationships. After a bad experience when she was younger, Katy keeps men at arm's length to protect her heart. So she's horrified when she finds out she's pregnant. She's been having fun with her boyfriend, Ben, but they've never made any long-term plans. Then the situation gets even worse when she arrives at her first antenatal class and sees her first love, Matthew. She hasn't seen Matthew since their school reunion a few months earlier, when they ended up having a one-night stand. Katy didn't expect to see Matthew again but now she must face up to the fact that she isn't entirely sure who the father of her baby is; boyfriend Ben or old flame, Matthew?

I've been looking forward to reading No-One Ever Has Sex On A Tuesday for quite a while as I've heard some fantastic things about it and now I can see why. I absolutely loved the book and felt bereft when it ended. Tracy Bloom has a great voice that is full of warmth and humour and I was immediately pulled into Katy's world.

Katy is such a fantastic character that I completely let it slide that she was totally in the wrong by not telling Ben that it was possible he wasn't the father of her child! My loyalties swayed throughout the book, wanting Katy to find happiness with Matthew, then Ben, then back to Matthew again before switching to Ben... you get the picture. I wasn't sure who she was going to end up with, but I was happy with the outcome at the end.

The book is full of fantastic characters, but my favourite has to be Ben. He had the potential to become annoying, but for me, he was so funny despite his tendency to lapse into immaturity. He's so different to Matthew, who has his life sorted (possible unplanned pregnancy aside) but I could see the attraction to both of the men in Katy's life. I thought all the characters had their good and bad points, which made them more real and relatable for me.

No-One Ever Has Sex On A Tuesday is such a great read with lots of laugh-out-loud moments and it has been one of my favourites reads of 2014 so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book after reading the reviews and was astounded that it hadn't received anything below 4 stars, a rarity as others will know. I found the book to be a delightfully light hearted read, one that I struggled to put down and finished rather quickly! As others have already said, rather funny too. I'm happy to hear the author has written more books and will definitely check them out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very funny at all, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book because of the great reviews and as I was reading it I kept thinking "why is this so great?" Like other reviewers have said you don't really root for any characters. It's not funny and I think it's quite boring. If you want a funny chick lit go for Jenny Colgan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2196 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews