Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snippets of wisdom that reassure
I love this book - in fact so much that I carry it round with me just to dip into when I need reminding of what really matters. It gives me reassurance when it seems that everyone else is going mad with crazy box ticking and "one size fits all teaching ideas and courage to believe in thinking differently. Thank you.
Published 10 months ago by Jo Norris

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok.
TheThunks included are thought provoking. I rate educational books on how practical the ideas are to influence the day to day teaching in my classroom. I have book marked a few ideas but it isn't full of ideas to use in the day to day. Only paid 99p for kindle download.
Published 8 months ago by Jane Austen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snippets of wisdom that reassure, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Independent Thinking (Paperback)
I love this book - in fact so much that I carry it round with me just to dip into when I need reminding of what really matters. It gives me reassurance when it seems that everyone else is going mad with crazy box ticking and "one size fits all teaching ideas and courage to believe in thinking differently. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Judge it by its cover, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Independent Thinking (Kindle Edition)
The book lives up to its cover. Ian Gilbert encourages us to adopt ideas and approaches that will go against the flow. In the present educational climate we must swim against the current. A timely and inspiring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essence made text!, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Independent Thinking (Kindle Edition)
This concise summary of Ian Gilbert's lifelong experience as an advocate of independent thinking, and its impact on teaching and learning, is masterly delivered in a poetic, almost mystical,series of aphorisms, parables, observations and thunks (something I will always associate Gilbert with) that infuses in the reader those profound if not disturbing questions about education in its most essential guise: thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pause for thought, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Independent Thinking (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book - the way it openly challenges each of us to think about how we view our own corner of the world and to consider how best we might serve this and future generations best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Independent Thinking (Kindle Edition)
Ian Gilbert at his best. Delivering little nuggets that help us reflect on our purpose. Keeps me fresh in the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic inspirational book., 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Independent Thinking (Kindle Edition)
If you only read one book about education, read this. Ian Gilbert, a breath of fresh air in a confused education system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thought provoking, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Independent Thinking (Kindle Edition)
Ian Gilbert is a skilled author. He is skilled at getting you to think about reality and how it can be improved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing read, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Independent Thinking (Paperback)
Excellent, refreshing read. Great to dip into. It's now on the coffee table in the staff room and much enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It made me think!, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Independent Thinking (Kindle Edition)
Nit only did this book make me think, it has made me reflect, consider and more importantly take action. From what pours off if every page I have been challenged to 'up my game', my classes deserve - no demand it. I will ensure they (and I) see the world with fresh eyes and that together we will explore injustice and inequality, then tackle it. That, surely, is my role as an educator - regardless of any test!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Independent thinking, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Independent Thinking (Kindle Edition)
It made me think whilst reading it. Then it made me think again. Although I disagreed with a few ideas I enjoyed thinking. That is the whole point. I have even started speaking my mind. Sometimes I disagree with myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Independent Thinking
Independent Thinking by Ian Gilbert
£10.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews