Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling
I got into this film pretty much right away. I found early on I wasn't noticing that I was reading the subtitles as I was really hooked. I enjoy foreign films as you see things from a different perspective. This film seems to follow other European countries in the fact that so much is said in silence. You find yourself needing to think so much more than films in English...
Published 13 months ago by Stu

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same old story
I don't want to spoiled the film... But I will, or maybe. Heard a lot of comments to the film that Polish is quite conservative to third gender. So this film ended up with tragedy and hard for someone who looking for happy ending. It's a typical modern day plot of gay movies which have a prize from random film festivals. They always put a message that gay should not be...
Published 13 months ago by Manapong Khumsiri


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floating Skyscrapers [DVD] (DVD)
I got into this film pretty much right away. I found early on I wasn't noticing that I was reading the subtitles as I was really hooked. I enjoy foreign films as you see things from a different perspective. This film seems to follow other European countries in the fact that so much is said in silence. You find yourself needing to think so much more than films in English. This was very down-to-earth and I thought a believable story line. For me personally I really enjoyed this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Polish Story of gay `star crossed lovers'., 10 May 2014
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Floating Skyscrapers [DVD] (DVD)
This is a Polish film of gay love and in some respects has similarities to the recently released German film `Freefall'Free Fall [DVD]. It is essentially the story of Kuba (Mateusz Banasiuk) he lives at home with his mum and girlfriend of two years - Sylwia. He is a talented swimmer and trains every day. He seems to be a bit care-free and, some might say, even immature in his outlook. Then one night at an art gallery, which Sylwia has dragged him to, he meets the broodingly good looking Michal (Bartosz Gelner).

They sort of hit it off and all of a sudden they are falling for each other. However, things are never simple and events conspire against the two men, what follows involves family loyalties, coming out and rampant homophobia. To say any more could impinge on the plot.

This film does contain a fair bit of nudity and scenes of a very sexual nature but it is all pretty tasteful/realistic - this is not art house though and does not shy away from a `rutting scene'. It is extremely well shot with great use of the locations and lighting, the underwater sequences are all excellent. This is a high values production and it reaps the rewards for that. The acting is top notch and the sub titles are all very good too - with a run time of 89 minutes this is a film that left me wanting more and was an experience that moved me - absolutely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same old story, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floating Skyscrapers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I don't want to spoiled the film... But I will, or maybe. Heard a lot of comments to the film that Polish is quite conservative to third gender. So this film ended up with tragedy and hard for someone who looking for happy ending. It's a typical modern day plot of gay movies which have a prize from random film festivals. They always put a message that gay should not be happy or deserve to live with someone they love because god made a man together with woman... I'm feeling unhappy about this idea because I'm also gay :(

Yep,we have a heart!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CONTAINS SPOILERS - DON'T READ IF YOU DON'T WISH TO KNOW HOW IT ENDS!, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floating Skyscrapers [DVD] (DVD)
A classic-looking "European" film, you feel Floating Skyscrapers could have been filmed anytime in the last 2 decades of the 20th century - plenty of widescreen vistas, gorgeous if rather gloomy cinematography set in vast grey urban complexes under leaden skies. The tale itself is competently performed and nothing new but is reportedly a first for Poland in terms of gay cinema. However, although I am all for realism, in the end I found it all rather depressingly bleak and backwards-looking. It skirts round gay sex with a couple of standard 'lets not scare the horses' sort of sex scenes, yet feels compelled to counterbalance those with a lengthy and rather graphic nude scene of oral sex performed by Kuba on his girlfriend. Oh, and it ends with a nasty gay murder. Even Christiane F, as bleak a film about drugs as you could get, closed with a glimmer of hope. As anti-gay attitudes appear to be getting stronger political support in some parts of the world (Russia, say), it's hardly a film that would compel any isolated gay man in such countries to think about coming out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit dank, 30 July 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Floating Skyscrapers [DVD] (DVD)
Floating Skyscrapers is quite similar to the German film Free Fall, in telling the story of a straight man who falls for a much more openly gay one who still faces problems with his environment. In both films the straight man has a girlfriend, and his parents feature quite a lot, while the settings are very much modern interiors, multi-storey car-parks etc. - a lot of concrete, glass and tiles. This may be an important film for the cause of Polish gay rights, which I believe face a lot of official opposition and scorn, but it makes for quite a fatalistic film. If the German one is more enjoyable, it is largely because German society is quite tolerant, even if, as I remember, not everyone was in the police force ... But the general climate is more favourable. In Floating Skyscrapers there are quite a few longueurs and the weight of hostility on gay people is felt throughout. The main character, called Kuba, seems to be in full-time swimming training to be on a team, and then considers going to university. Oddly, the gay sex scene rang very true, and the film briefly got beyond the more obvious set-ups it uses most of the time. It starts with a masturbation in a toilet stall sequence that seems a complete rip-off of Almodovar's Law Of Desire, but unfortunately there is none of the exuberance or humour of that film. I thought that, even allowing for its grimness, a more telling script would have maintained interest better. The gay lovers are quite good, especially Kuba, as is the girlfriend, but the underwater scenes are fairly ordinary and the look of the film is best described as drab. There is the feeling that we have seen this material a lot of times before, even if not from Poland. It has a kind of sub-Kieslowski feel, but really lacks the intensity of his films ... Equally, anyone expecting another Free Fall is likely to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Contains spoilers, 14 Dec. 2014
By 
Greek Islander (London, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floating Skyscrapers [DVD] (DVD)
Very disappointed by this film, or to be specific the very nasty ending.

I got the impression that this homophobic piece of cinema came about specifically to teach gays a lesson, in other words if you are gay there are no happy endings and you will most probably be murdered, therefore the only way is to stick to a heterosexual relationship that might not be your ideal choice.

I appreciate that the gay movement in Poland is probably decades behind the UK, but do I need to sit down and watch a joyless depressing story that takes you back to attitudes reminiscent of UK in the 1950s? Though homophobic attacks do exist in real life and should be reflected in cinema, you might expect movies to at least demonstrate that such attacks are wrong. This film treats them as inevitable by sticking one at the very end and making it as violent and as sadistic as possible. A horrid and offensive piece of movie making.

A warning to anyone struggling to come out - do not watch this film. You are liable to be driven straight back in the closet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Depressing and dark tale of gay love, 17 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Floating Skyscrapers (DVD)
We settled down to watch this film expecting it to be a story about young love and coming to terms with being gay. Instead it was a dark and rather depressing tale with an ending that could have been written in the 1970s. I can only hope that being gay in Poland is not as tough as this film suggests. Avoid this film unless you believe gay people don't deserve happy lives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't quite float my boat - but still worth a watch, 26 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Floating Skyscrapers (DVD)
It's not going to rock your socks but it does provide an interesting insight to gay life in Poland. There is a scene in the film where the characters discuss a film they've seen as though it was a piece of high art and how well it was shot and the scenes constructed etc. That scene sort of encompasses the way the director approached the film he was making. It's definitely a European film made in the French style with moody silences, long lingering looks and a sudden/unexpected ending. Nothing wrong with that, it's nice to get away from the American all-action, flash-bang-wallop, special effect explosion approach once in a while but it does tend to result in a very slow-moving movie.
Nevertheless, it's an interesting movie that's worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this film is very good, the problem the end, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floating Skyscrapers [DVD] (DVD)
this film is very good,the problem the end,the nice boy is dead and too mouch the homofobia in the film.the 2 actors is very love eachader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting movie, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floating Skyscrapers [DVD] (DVD)
I never saw a Polish movie, I was surprised: good cinematography, good acting , a lot of tension seen on the screen by living a heterosexual live while being gay and desperatly in love with a boy.
I'm impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Floating Skyscrapers [Blu-ray]
Floating Skyscrapers [Blu-ray] by Tomasz Wasilewski (Blu-ray - 2014)
£6.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews