Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars available at long last!
these early "danger man" episodes were actually released on dvd back in 2004 but they weren't available for long.
this new release of the 25 minute episodes, comes with a 76 pages booklet on the making of the series along with a profile of actor patrick mcgoohan. as for the programmes themselves, they are generally very good with an excellent supporting cast and...
Published on 25 Jan 2010 by jeremiah harbottle

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pre-bond spy stuff.
a dated series to be sure and certainly not as good as james bond(on which this is similar), but a good programme all the same.

patrick mcgoohan does a brilliant job as special agent john drake. i like the way the character is far removed from simon templar for example; slightly distant, has no time for romance plus the fact that drake has to work for a...
Published on 4 Aug 2006 by Mr. A. E. Ward Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars available at long last!, 25 Jan 2010
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
these early "danger man" episodes were actually released on dvd back in 2004 but they weren't available for long.
this new release of the 25 minute episodes, comes with a 76 pages booklet on the making of the series along with a profile of actor patrick mcgoohan. as for the programmes themselves, they are generally very good with an excellent supporting cast and some intriguing storylines. naturally, this is patrick mcgoohan's show and he handles the job of leading man almost effortlessly. the plots have to be quite straightforward, due to time constraints but don't let that put you off watching. the sound and picture quality is brilliant, as is usually the case with networkdvd.
the one good thing about this series, is that it doesn't have anything in the way of camp humour, unlike "the avengers." "danger man" is much more to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB CULT TV, 1 May 2004
By 
J. S. CHEEMA (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's 1960.The Bay of Pigs confrontation and the Beatles are still waiting to happen.Independant TV is still in it's infancy but it takes a giant leap into the future with this,the first Danger Man series.The exploits of John Drake pre-date James Bond by 2 years and arguably this is the more entertaining of the 2 productions.Every episode is a joy and the half hour format is excellent as the producers try to fill every last minute with excitement and adventure,the narrative ending right on the wire with each episode.It also sees the first appearance of Portmerion as a location which would later be seen in the Prisoner.In some respects this is a lot better than the later 1 hour episodes though the latter catapulted Mcgoohan to superstar status.A great piece of TV and a wonderful snap shot of British culture at the dawn of the '60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment at its best, 3 Oct 2010
This black/white series may be regarded as "old fashioned" but each 30 min. episode is so well structured. They go at such a fast pace you can forgive the studio ideas of jungles, deserts and sea. Those of a certain age will love spotting all the old faces of actors whom we came to rely on for good entertainment and were the backbone of much of our TV and films for many years. But the main attraction of these shows is, of course, Patrick McGoohan. He is so slick and convincing as the man from MI5 it's not surprising that there are many who believed he would have been the greatest James Bond. If you like a bit of fast-moving nostalgia and Patrick McGoohan, you can't go wrong with this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly amazing TV!!, 30 Oct 2004
With television of the 21st century rapidly giving way to "reality tv" (which is anything but real) coupled with umpteen repeats on cable and satellite, I decided instead to spend the subscription money on some good quality DVDs, and when I bought "Danger Man", I was not disappointed. Pre-dating James Bond by a couple of years Patrick McGoohan is definitely in a class of his own. With his reassuring manner and matter of fact approach to his job, it is easy to see how Danger Man was catapulted into what is known today as Cult TV. This 39 episode box set has strong story lines, a good plot with suspense guaranteed in every episode. I was too young to remember "Danger Man" when it was first shown on TV but I am delighted with what I have seen. It really is a must for anyone who is a James Bond fan. Dont be put off that the episodes are only 30 mins long and in black and white. In some ways its much better as a result, being more compact, fast moving and definitely no filler. This collection will certainly be an all time favourite in my rapidly expanding DVD collection. Roll on the next series please, I am waiting!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The James Bond we did not get, 11 April 2011
I wonder if Patrick McGoohan was not offered Dr No because he would not do the bed and kissing scenes? If so, then what a waste! He would have been the perfect actor for James Bond. In this boxed set, I can only recall him kissing a woman once, and that was on the hand!

I prefer these half hour episodes to the later 50 minute ones, but that is just personal opinion. They are very well put together and do not appear rushed.

Look out for a brief appearance from Nyree Dawn Porter as a stewardess, and many other guest performances.

I recommend this set on entertainment but not on price which I believe could be a little lower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 Discs of brilliant TV, 20 May 2004
By 
Mr. G. Jones "sheepbone" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Apart from the sheer mass of smoking that goes on in this series, you'd think it was made yesterday. McGoohan is brilliant as the no-women special agent working in the world of international espionage and intrigue. Any fan of television has to buy this box set, if only to spot the stars. Many ITC favourites are here, even movie stars such as Donald Pleasance turn up.
The supporting characters of Hardy and Col Keller are brilliant for Drake to McGoohan to play off, giving the show a warmth despite the short episodes.
Easily one of the best series of the ITC lot, Danger Man is interesting on so many levels. If you believe that John Drake is Number Six from The Prisoner, for example, this box set is like having 39 more Prisoner episodes!
BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The excellent Original Danger Man series one., 23 Sep 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had seen most of the most popular ITC series when they were originally shown or repeated. I had also seen The Prisoner that some people argue was a spin off series but I had never seen Danger Man before this DVD set. This original first series of half hour episodes turned out to be a jewel in the ITC crown for me.
It is an incredibly good series. I now know and understand why it was so popular. The show is a bit dated now but it is still interesting.

After producing costume type dramas such as The Adventures of Robin Hood that were easily sold to America in the 1950s Lew Grade, head of ITC knew he needed to make a more modern series. This led to the likes of "Man of the world", "Sentimental Agent", "Interpol Calling" and the Invisible Man. Each had elements that would appeal to the American audience. Danger Man also had the same formula but it was the most successful of these early shows. The series was created by Ralph Smart who had written many episodes of The Invisible Man.
Smart came up with the idea of a "Lone Wolf" character. Patrick McGoohan was asked to play the main role of John Drake but from the beginning saw Drake differently to Smart, and dramatic changes in both character and situations would be needed before he would sign for the part.
He didn't like the original idea of Drake being a rough, tough sexy womaniser of a guy who used a gun.
Instead he insisted Drake should dislike violence and only use it when really necessary. Drake would not carry a gun, be brainy and treat women with respect.
Each episode begins with a Drake voice over that says "Every government has its secret service branch, America, CIA, France, Deuxieme Bureau, England, MI5. NATO has its own. A messy job? Well that's when they usually call on me, or somone like me. Oh yes my name is Drake, John Drake"

The "Drake, John Drake" thing was similar to "Bond, James Bond" from the later James Bond films. This was not the only thing that Bond and Drake had in common. These similarities include the obvious secret agent element as well as the international travel thing and of course gadgets.
Unlike the later James Bond films, Danger Man strove for realism, dramatising credible Cold War tensions. The gadgets he uses are credible. In fact, most were off the shelf, and their appearance in the series spurred sales of such commercial items. There are things such as the folding binoculars, and the sub-miniature Minox camera. Also there is the miniature reel-to-reel tape recorder hidden inside the head of an electric shaver or a pack of cigarettes. There is also a microphone that can be embedded in a wall near the target via a shot from a gun. This allows Drake to eavesdrop on conversations from a safe distance.
Unlike James Bond, Drake is often shown re-using gadgets from previous episodes.
McGoohan is brilliant as Drake. His acting is fabulous. He creates a totally believable character. Drake is calm and suave. Unlike Bond he doesn't get romantic with the female characters. This adds to a more serious secret agent character than Bond.

There are 39 half hour episodes in series one produced between 1960-1962. Becuase of the time limit of half an hour the pace of the show is good but not rushed. In fact it is expertly handled. A lot seems to happen in that half an hour and each episode is very interesting.
Each episode sees Drake in a different location. Also of note is that some scenes were filmed in Portmerion in Wales. McGoohan would later use this location to film the TV series The Prisoner.

This is a great series and in many ways it is better than the later hour long series. The DVD presentation is very good although there are no subtitles for the hard of hearing and there is no Audio description for the partially sighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seminal series stands up very well!, 6 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A box set from Amazon for half the retail price I've seen in a big London store. So far I've only viewed stories 1 and 2, but I think they'll be representative enough of the 39 x 25-30 minute episodes. Very pacey; succinct stories; splendid incidental jazz music (by Edwin Astley); slickly acted; dramatically lit scenes, sets and locations; smartly dressed characters; classy.

All in all, the 50-year old footage stands up very well, although condensed plots are necessarily accelerated to fit the short running time. But, this makes for entertaining and digestible dramas. Special agent John Drake (Patrick McGoohan) susses out the hidden truth in quick time and we soon cut to the chase as the world of intrigue is put to right. Ridiculous punch-ups and clipped delivery by Mr McGoohan, but all good fun. Visual quality (black and white) and sound is good. A classic TV series which presages certain characteristics of later Bond films. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Danger Man - the 30 min. episodes, 18 April 2007
By 
steveacoustic (Norwich, Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Excellent series, no reservations there, but some reviewers seem puzzled by the absence of the famous "harpsichord" opening music sequence. Ah well, this is 'cos the very early half-hour episodes didn't have it. The later one-hour episodes carry the legendary, memorable, harpsichord opener and end titles, and also benefit from deeper and more involving storylines because of the extra time given to each episode. The later series is much better and is being released by Network DVD sometimes in mid-2007 I think. Watch Amazon for updates or go to [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another classic series, 4 Sep 2011
By 
S. G. Morris (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first series of Dangerman, a much quicker pace (due to the 30 minute length of each story) than the 2nd which was to follow several years later. Never the less don't let this put you off the episodes are all entertaining.
Put aside John Drake's accent which is neither American or English and buy enjoy this box set, there's nothing made like this today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Danger Man - The Complete Series 1 [DVD]
Danger Man - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] by Peter Graham Scott (DVD - 2013)
36.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews