Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suzi's greatest!
Probably Suzi's greatest album, and came at a time when the 'Glam Years' were well and truly over. She was one of the few Singers from that era to be still having hits at the close of the seventies!

My mother always used to say that Suzi Quatro could 'do rock' as well as any man, but she could never get her name right, and so it was always Suzi 'Cointreau'...
Published on 8 Jan 2009 by FAMOUS NAME

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another mid-field effort: contains a few Quatro classics
1979's `Suzi ... And Other Four Letter Words' sees Suzi Quatro's foray away from hard rock continue in a brasher, more energetic follow-up to 1978's softer, image-changing approach on `If You Knew Suzi". It also boasts a far more eclectic track list. Quatro tries everything from hard rock and country to 50s-styled pop and some rather classy disco overtones - with varying...
Published on 27 May 2010 by B. S. Marlay


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suzi's greatest!, 8 Jan 2009
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably Suzi's greatest album, and came at a time when the 'Glam Years' were well and truly over. She was one of the few Singers from that era to be still having hits at the close of the seventies!

My mother always used to say that Suzi Quatro could 'do rock' as well as any man, but she could never get her name right, and so it was always Suzi 'Cointreau' - but I think she was right!

This is a great collection of ten songs - including several singles - not all of them charted high, but my favourite had to be 'Mamma's Boy', which I rushed out and bought on release, and played to death! It should have given her another long over-due chart-topper!

I also recall at how 'prim' I must have been back at aged seventeen, when on 'Hollywood' she is heard to use the 'F word twice and I was suitably shocked!

Great album and long over-due on CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suzi's greatest!, 8 Jan 2009
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably Suzi's greatest album, and came at a time when the 'Glam Years' were well and truly over. She was one of the few Singers from that era to be still having hits at the close of the seventies!

My mother always used to say that Suzi Quatro could 'do rock' as well as any man, but she could never get her name right, and so it was always Suzi 'Cointreau' - but I think she was right!

This is a great collection of ten songs - including several singles - not all of them charted high, but my favourite had to be 'Mamma's Boy', which I rushed out and bought on release, and played to death! It should have given her another long over-due chart-topper!

I also recall at how 'prim' I must have been back at aged seventeen, when on 'Hollywood' she is heard to use the 'F word twice and I was suitably shocked!

Great album and long over-due on CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another solid upgrade of a decent Suzi Q album, 11 Feb 2014
By 
O. B. Tryggvason (Gardabaer Iceland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suzi ...And Other Four Letter Words (Audio CD)
Another Cherry Red upgrade of a solid Suzi Quatro album and this doesn't disappoint.

There aren't any bonus songs here but as always the packaging is very nice; good collection of single sleeve photos, liner notes and lyrics (very nice addition) and the remastering job is good and the tracks sound great.

I've always liked this album. It's sorta' all over the place stylistically with only one cover (the feisty "I've never been in love") and is mostly comprised of original Suzi Quatro songs (written with her husband, at the time). "Mama's Boy" and "She's in love with you" are probably the best known songs but my particular favorites here are "Hollywood" (love the lyrics and the surprising f-bomb) and "Starlight Lady". The whole album goes down well with only "Space Cadets" the only dud in my humble opinion.

Recommended for fans of Suzi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant album., 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suzi ...And Other Four Letter Words (Audio CD)
Some different tracks from suzi that are not often heard which I think is a shame as suzi sounds fantastic on these tracks.This remains one of my favourites and is worth having a listen to. I especially love the picture of suzi on the cover as this shows suzi at her best and what she stands for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suzi at her finest., 15 Oct 2014
This review is from: Suzi ...And Other Four Letter Words (Audio CD)
This is the last album for Suzi in regards to the 1970's released in 1979. This album took a different style to her earlier hard hitting rock albums. Not to say that it's any less of an album because of this, It just took a different direction.

The singles presented showed Suzi moving with the times. She's in love with you is a great song, that is a has very catchy riff and lyrically it's very enjoyable to listen to and great to sing to. Mama's Boy was another single that presented some lyrics that some of us would relate to on different levels.

Some of the album tracks.

You are my lover is a great song that lyrically again is very good and a it's just a lovely tune to listen too. Mind demons is quite a different and unique in sounding again but very catching and entertaining. Those are just some of the songs presented here, oh and not forgetting Hollywood or Four Letter Words both worth a good listen to on which is a very fine album to have in a growing collection of Suzi Q albums or from a perspective of those who just like fine music.

This sediment is for a lady that by the time this album was released had matured very nicely thank-you musically and especially a must for those who think that Suzi Quatro, is the Queen of Rock and who blew open the damn door for women as she did, which then left it blown apart for many other women to follow of which many did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good sound, 13 July 2014
By 
T. Westberg "Sleepy Joe" (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suzi ...And Other Four Letter Words (Audio CD)
Original 10 tracks, very good sound quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon your the Best, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suzi ...And Other Four Letter Words (Audio CD)
Thank you so much for the spot on delivery and making my order so special without any problems. The CD was perfect too . I have loved Suzi Quatro all my life and having the rest of her CD's made my day . Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another mid-field effort: contains a few Quatro classics, 27 May 2010
By 
B. S. Marlay (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
1979's `Suzi ... And Other Four Letter Words' sees Suzi Quatro's foray away from hard rock continue in a brasher, more energetic follow-up to 1978's softer, image-changing approach on `If You Knew Suzi". It also boasts a far more eclectic track list. Quatro tries everything from hard rock and country to 50s-styled pop and some rather classy disco overtones - with varying levels of success. While its production and strengths are greater, its weaknesses are not dissimilar to the previous album.

It opens with two hard, piano-heavy rockers that are perfect companion pieces - `I've Never Been In Love', penned by Melissa A Connell, and `Mind Demons' by Quatro and husband, Len Tuckey. These are followed by one of the two Mike Chapman/Nicky Chinn compositions, the disco-fied heavy dance pop of `She's In Love With You', the main single. Other highlights include two more of six Quatro/Tuckey tracks. `Mamma's Boy' (the second single) is an extremely bitchy, blush-inducing, 50s-esque piano-heavy rock song, delivered with a wall of bouncy female backing vocals. And `Space Cadets' (one of their best songs) is a dirgy, dancy, spacey reflection on the vacuousness of life in Los Angeles. Another highlight is the beautiful middle-of-the-road ballad, `You Are My Lover', from Jack Lee who wrote `Hanging on the Telephone' for Blondie the year before.

The remaining songs are problematic, not because they are necessarily bad - they aren't (though `Love Hurts' is certainly not very good!) - but because they seem to be glossy popped-up grabs at the country style of the previous album. This drags things down, leaving the overall effort feeling slight. There are just too many soft moments when the juxtaposition of rockier tracks would have elevated the albums best moody songs even further. Instead, frustratingly, Quatro croons over twangily strumming guitars instead of screaming commandingly over slabs of rock.

Chapman's production is fine, as always, capturing an excellent thumping drum sound throughout, effecting background vocals and some atmospheric keyboards (though an over-reliance on piano dangerously risks making the whole exercise sound hokey). The absence of covers in truly refreshing, allowing Quatro to truly own the songs,as is the heavy presence of her own writing. Nevertheless, it is hard to shake the fact that this woman should be rocking and that `Four Letter Words' is still well below her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suzi ...And Other Four Letter Words
Suzi ...And Other Four Letter Words by Suzi Quatro (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews