Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read!
This book is fantastic, it makes a welcome change that the charters within are not army based personal but are in fact regular people going about their lives trying to survive the horrific events that unfold around them. It also makes a refreshing change that the location in based in Australia and not the USA (like most other books) the story is very fast moving & once it...
Published 13 months ago by S. A. Harrison

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not there yet..
I enjoyed the book, but felt that there was something missing- probably could do with a bit more character depth, the character were introduced as a group and it took me a while to differentiate between them. Parts of the book were overly simplistic also, bordering on high school essay. saying all that I did enjoy the book and have purchased the second instalment, quite...
Published 8 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read!, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aftermath (Invasion of the Dead, BOOK 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is fantastic, it makes a welcome change that the charters within are not army based personal but are in fact regular people going about their lives trying to survive the horrific events that unfold around them. It also makes a refreshing change that the location in based in Australia and not the USA (like most other books) the story is very fast moving & once it gets going it really doesn't let up. I cared about what happened to the people within & as such couldn't put the boom down. I've read a lot of zombie novels over the past year & I must say this has to be one of my best ever so far. Can not wait for book #2! Owen Baillie you've written an amazing book & I'll personally recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG!!!!!!, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aftermath (Invasion of the Dead, BOOK 1) (Kindle Edition)
Exciting roller coaster ride from start to finish..the more intelligent zombies are a terrifying addition to the regular shambling walkers we've been used to for so long. Great that the story is set in Australia for a change and that it's ordinary people dealing with the outbreak..really makes you think what you would do if it ever happened. Gruesome and enthralling read..thanks Mr. Baillie, can't wait for the next one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aftermath (Invasion of the Dead, BOOK 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. I have read lots of zombie books & this is one of the best. Owen has got the right balance - the detail of the characters, allowing the reader to build up a picture in their mind & forming a connection between character & reader & the devastation caused by the zombies. How he describes the zombies makes it so scarily believable on par with The Walking Dead I think. I'm glad book 2 is ready so I'm going to get straight into that one & just hope I won't have to wait long for book 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new take on a much loved theme, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aftermath (Invasion of the Dead, BOOK 1) (Kindle Edition)
How refreshing for this to be in Australia. Some of the plot is very familiar, but feels like a favourite old slipper, rather than a tired flogged dead horse. This
kind of book leaves me in a constant flex of questions. Would I have reacted in that way? Great first book, I am looking forward
to the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than World War Z, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aftermath (Invasion of the Dead, BOOK 1) (Kindle Edition)
I've read a lot of post apocalyptic and zombie fiction over the last few years and I have to say this is the best of the lot. Yes - even better than Max Brooks' World War Z. If you're into this genre, do yourself a favour and download / buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than your average zombie fare., 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aftermath (Invasion of the Dead, BOOK 1) (Kindle Edition)
The advent of the kindle means I can indulge my passion for zombie fiction easily, but that means for every gem there's a lot of dross. This isn't a gem, but neither is it rubbish. No new themes or twists, but we'll enough written to make me look out for book 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not there yet.., 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aftermath (Invasion of the Dead, BOOK 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the book, but felt that there was something missing- probably could do with a bit more character depth, the character were introduced as a group and it took me a while to differentiate between them. Parts of the book were overly simplistic also, bordering on high school essay. saying all that I did enjoy the book and have purchased the second instalment, quite interested in how Mr Ballie style will grow going forward. most die hard zombie fans don't like a change, zombies are zombies, and the different zombie levels is a good shake up, so it needs to be done well or not at all. Worth the price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Zombies by the. Bus load!, 6 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aftermath (Invasion of the Dead, BOOK 1) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book while on holiday in grand canaria. I found it very easy to read.
The reason for the group being together and the reason they are unaware of the world they return too is believable.
The confusion and bickering with in the group adds to the overall confusion that would surely happen following the ultimate realisation that this was your new life.

Overall a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aftermath book 1, 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aftermath (Invasion of the Dead, BOOK 1) (Kindle Edition)
A very good addition to the genre by a very capable author. Some original ideas have been introduced to the zombies which gave them some considerable menace.

The characters had a lot of depth and I really began to care for their welfare.

I would recommend to any fans of the dead series as well as readers of the survivors of the dead.

Deserves the 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good zombie story, 23 Mar. 2015
By 
Dm Harrison (Worcester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aftermath (Invasion of the Dead, BOOK 1) (Kindle Edition)
I love disaster zombie novels and this fitted the bill very well.
The story followed 5 people, who after a camping trip in a isolated part of the country, found the world very changed on their return.
It was set in Australia but which makes a change from America but they still had the same fights but different backdrop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews