Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Blu-ray Audio|Change
Price:£16.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2015
i'm a massive beatle and lennon fan, so ordered this which is arguably his best solo work (the other being, plastic ono band) i have an oppo bluray player and a denon amp. so i have listened carefully about 4 or 5 times now. so what does the bluray give you that the cd doesn't? better clarity, separation of instruments (though to be fair it is intentionally very sparse in this department) and presentation, it has a simply beauty that is stunning at times. i'm familiar with bluray audio, so to certain degree i can understand people who have said that there isnt much difference, but the truth is, this is dependent on your equipment and system set-up. in my opinion there is a difference, but its not night and day and more subtle in comparison to the cd. the ten tracks contained on this album if you like them, i would recommend buying this bluray presentation in stereo only. but just bear in mind that the differences are an improvement over the cd, but not massive. one for the fans only.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
This Blu Ray audio edition of Imagine contains high resolution versions of the 2010 remaster.

However, I found this disc sounds little better than the 2010 CD so if you own that disc, you may find the Blu Ray offers little improvement.
2020 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
Sound quality is good but was expecting dts-master in more than 2 channels; thats why I bought a blu-ray. Instead I got stereo and for the money, its not worth it.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Lennon's best soloalbum, A remarkable collection of songs he never was able to repeat. The sound is open,pure, The dts-Hd Master track is superb. Only stereo,not 5,1 but it don't matter. No CD can beat the sound on this one.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
The best album ever,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Only decent album Lennon came up with post Beatles. Well mastered onto Blu-Ray Audio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
The sound quality is simply over the top, and so simple music like John Lennon's is really good this way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
I was disappointed this is 2.0 not 5.1. The sound quality is good but not as amazing as I would expect.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
An album I never previously possessed despite my long obsession with all things Beatle .Sounds great although I don't have the cd to compare it with. Not sure if Bluray as a medium for music will catch on, unless they can incorporate some video to go with the music perhaps as tracks and output choices are displayed on the tv for selection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2009
This is the first 'Imagine' film by John and Yoko. It is not the more famous 'Imagine' the film from 1988 with the multi-coloured scribble-picture cover , which is a documentary about John's life, usually called 'John Lennon - Imagine'.
This one came out first and was filmed around '68-'71 in London, Kent - John's mansion, and later when they moved to New York. It's an insight into their lives at the time, with the Beatles breaking up, demonstrations, their huge fame, their 'war is over' poster campaign and 'bagism' making them a real target for the press to put down or hint that they were just publicity seekers, or plain crazy.Some of this footage is later used in 'Imagine - The film'.
This film is a series of short clips over music, and it's John's best period for his solo work. Most of the film is from the time he put out his first solo album 'Plastic Ono Band'- which was concurrent with Yoko's 'Plastic Ono Band' album which came out on the same day and had an almost identical cover, singles from the time, Yoko's 'Fly' album and the music from the 'Imagine' album. These clips were probably mostly edited by Yoko sometime in the late 70's or early 80's. Not sure, but some are music video quality and some are just far-out, funny, crazy art-house short films set to their music (John and Yoko's).
Throughout this film you see how inseparable John and Yoko were. They were totally in love and John is constantly proving it all the time - something Beatles fans couldn't handle at the time.
This is a really good film for serious John Lennon or Yoko Ono fans and it's not on dvd as far as I know, but if you just want the hits get the dvd 'The very best of John Lennon' or for John life story get 'John Lennon - Imagine'.
I love this film - it's so weird.
Ronny Growler
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)