Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book - Purchased a Brompton while reading
The book is really good. I was interested in purchasing a Brompton anyway and got this book to find out more about them. The book is excellent and really hardened my opinion that the Brompton was the way to go rather than other folding bikes.

The book was smaller in size than I expected but the content is great and much more than I could find online about...
Published on 27 Dec 2010 by P. Johnson

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but uncritical look at the Brompton
The author is also the editor of "A to B" magazine, a place where Brompton can seemingly do no wrong, and it's the same here. At times it veers into sycophantic. Don't get me wrong; we have two Bromptons here and I love them dearly, but they are by no means perfect, and it's a shame some of the weaker aspects of the engineering and construction aren't addressed...
Published on 25 April 2010 by Rogerzilla


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but uncritical look at the Brompton, 25 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brompton Bicycle (Paperback)
The author is also the editor of "A to B" magazine, a place where Brompton can seemingly do no wrong, and it's the same here. At times it veers into sycophantic. Don't get me wrong; we have two Bromptons here and I love them dearly, but they are by no means perfect, and it's a shame some of the weaker aspects of the engineering and construction aren't addressed.

The production quality is a bit limited; it's an A5 book with an "inkjet printer" feel about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book - Purchased a Brompton while reading, 27 Dec 2010
By 
P. Johnson (Washington Village, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brompton Bicycle (Paperback)
The book is really good. I was interested in purchasing a Brompton anyway and got this book to find out more about them. The book is excellent and really hardened my opinion that the Brompton was the way to go rather than other folding bikes.

The book was smaller in size than I expected but the content is great and much more than I could find online about Brompton.

I would really recommend it to anybody interested in Brompton bicycles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Near-essential reading for Brompton owners, 12 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brompton Bicycle (Paperback)
A decently well put together book on the evolution of Brompton Bicycles including a short but useful section on Maintenance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love my Brompton, 5 Jan 2013
By 
PDP Hope (Shrewsbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brompton Bicycle (Paperback)
As a Brompton owner I wanted to learn more about the history of the bike's development. This book tells you all you want to know and it compares it with other small wheeled bikes. It has lots of photos and diagrams that explain all the workings. The gearing charts and the list of frame numbers with dates is very useful. A very handy book and well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good because of the quirks, 24 Dec 2012
This review is from: Brompton Bicycle (Paperback)
I got this as a 'secret santa' present in my office, somebody having noticed that I bring my Brompton into the office most days. I would not have bought it myself but started reading it on the train on the way home and got sucked into the history of the early days. My first Brompton, sadly stolen, was bought from Drake's bicycles in Cambridge (now defunct) which was one of the bike's earliest dealers and had opening hours almost as quirky as Brompton's early marketing philosophy.
Anyway, this very readable book helps the reader to understand a little about how challenging the company's early days were and serves to emphasise Brompton's determination to produce bikes of real quality, durability and upgradeability. It also has a section on maintenance which has some helpful tips, plus an insight into some of the variations and adaptations that users have applied to the basic design.
Like some other reviewers, I found this to be a gentle and uncritical review of Brompton as a product, but it is good at what it does and directs readers to look at online forums for the more technical elements of Brompton as a product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all Brompton owners, 13 Jan 2011
This review is from: Brompton Bicycle (Paperback)
Marvellous book. Covers everything you've ever thought of to do with your Brompton (from their invention and development to maintenance) and a lot more besides, -including an in depth look at competitive folding bikes. The photo illustrations are excellent and comprehensive. Worthwhile, nay, essential reading for all Brompton owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Brompton Fans, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BROMPTON BICYCLE (Kindle Edition)
If you are a Brompton fan, then this book is worth the read, to understand the history in the context of the cycle industry, and as a good guide to maintaining, upgrading and repairing your Brompton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, and a good maintenance section, 5 May 2010
By 
Dermot Ryan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brompton Bicycle (Paperback)
I bought the book mainly for the section on maintenance, which I have found very helpful, but the book also deals with the history of the company and the evolution of the Brompton fold, which turn out to be surprisingly interesting subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brompton, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brompton Bicycle (Paperback)
Interesting, informative book about the world's greatest fold away bike. If you have a Brompton bike well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best guide for the best folding bicycle, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BROMPTON BICYCLE (Kindle Edition)
Knowledgable guide with good information, interesting read allowing an insight to the history and progress of this remarkable cycle.
Would recommend to anyone contemplating purchase or existing owner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BROMPTON BICYCLE
BROMPTON BICYCLE by David Henshaw
4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews