Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good weekend read
I have read another of Tonkin's books in the past, The Coffin Ship, and enjoyed it very much so was very happy to find this title. I think I preferred this one ever so slightly, the characters are great and Tonkin manages to cover many aspects of Elizabethan society from the rich, aristocratic men of court to the playwright in his theatre. It is very well-written and kept...
Published 15 months ago by Rosalind

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Point of Death
Good read, well researched, captures London well in the Shakespeare era although getting him involved in a top leve murder plot is stretching it in a fun way.
Published 11 months ago by bobmac


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good weekend read, 3 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Point of Death (An Elizabethan Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I have read another of Tonkin's books in the past, The Coffin Ship, and enjoyed it very much so was very happy to find this title. I think I preferred this one ever so slightly, the characters are great and Tonkin manages to cover many aspects of Elizabethan society from the rich, aristocratic men of court to the playwright in his theatre. It is very well-written and kept me hooked until the very last page. A must read for any crimefic fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Crime Thriller, 3 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Point of Death (An Elizabethan Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this novel. Set in Elizabethan London when Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet is first performed on stage, the cleverly woven web of rivalry and intrigue seems to have spread to its audience when one of the cast ends up dead. I liked the use of Romeo and Juliet lines as intrinsic to the murder as it was something new and different. The novel moved along at a quick pace, was easy to read and highly enjoyable. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure fans will love it, 6 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
Tonkin writes highly detailed and descriptive, unravelling a tale of high adventure and drama. The story is betted wonderfully into the lifes of Shakespeare and Marlowe and superbly thought-out. Tonkin's leading figure, appropriately titled Master of Defence, reminds one very much of his previous hero Captain Mariner, decisive and eager for action. A true adventure putting the reader into a different world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Point of Death (An Elizabethan Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Great plot. Engaging characters and loads of historic detail...but without swamping the story. Really hope there will be more stories about Thomas.
Being a retired English teacher I loved all the sneaky Shakespeare references - on top of Will as a key character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't recommend., 23 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Point of Death (An Elizabethan Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I didn't take to this book at all. I love the Matthew Shardlake novels by CJ Sansom and was interested in reading another mystery set in the 16th century, but I'm afraid there is no comparison. I found the plot confusing and riddled with inconsistencies, the female lead totally unconvincing as an Elizabethan lady, and the interminable descriptions of sword fights which go on for pages just plain boring. The inclusion of Shakespeare as a codebreaker cum spy could have been fascinating, but it isn't .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Testosterone, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Point of Death (An Elizabethan Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I really tried hard with this, as I enjoy 'historical thrillers', which is what it purported to be.

However, after several ultra-detailed accounts of fights, poisonings and diverse deaths, I gave up. It's very macho to the point of, well, enough's enough. Quite well written, but totally lacking in depth. The only female character - if that's not too strong a word - in the part I read was a potential rape-victim, naked, quivering and helpless, just waiting for Our Hero to rescue her. Perhaps later she develops into a strong female protagonist, but I doubt it.

The reek of testosterone was too much for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected gem of historical intrigue, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Point of Death (An Elizabethan Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
A real page turner. The pace and the storyline really draws you into this book and once started, I couldn't put it down. Peter Tonkin creates a dark and sinister Elizabethan London which is totally believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 30 April 2014
By 
Robi Kemp (Eastbourne, East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Point of Death (An Elizabethan Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
This book is worth a second read. Brilliantly paced and plotted. Fantastic language and speech with an amazingly detailed storyline. I fully intend reading the other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Point of Death, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
bobmac "dex" (Ascot, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Point of Death (An Elizabethan Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Good read, well researched, captures London well in the Shakespeare era although getting him involved in a top leve murder plot is stretching it in a fun way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Master of Logic, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Point of Death (An Elizabethan Murder Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Loved the story line with a very intriguing plot. The characters and places sounded so believeable in the Elizabethan era. .....Definately one of my favourites and found it difficult to put down.
I've read two other Elizabethan era stories and keep looking for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews