Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for feeding any new arrival
What we have here is a big box full of Tommee Tippee stuff. Honestly, the box really is big and this would look good wrapped up as a baby shower gift or similar. Plus most of the stuff in it is likely to get used. A lot.

The item description gives a good summary of what's included but I thought I'd skim through it anyway, given that my first (and so far only)...
Published 17 months ago by Neil Goodacre

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Would not recommend this product
Would not recommend this product, my baby suffered with very bad colic due to the bottles. DR Brown bottles resolved the problem almost instantly.
Published 3 months ago by jadey waterman taylor


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for feeding any new arrival, 25 Jan. 2014
By 
Neil Goodacre - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Essentials Starter Kit (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What we have here is a big box full of Tommee Tippee stuff. Honestly, the box really is big and this would look good wrapped up as a baby shower gift or similar. Plus most of the stuff in it is likely to get used. A lot.

The item description gives a good summary of what's included but I thought I'd skim through it anyway, given that my first (and so far only) born was raised with Tommee Tippee bottles.

First up, you get four of the little 150ml bottles. These are nice enough but if you wanted to, you could skip them completely. Their small size is a bonus, but your mum/dad bag is going to be so huge anyway another couple of centimetres isn't going to hurt. Still you get four teats with these, on top of the four that come with the bigger bottles, and you could always use them as spares.

The 260ml bottles will get a lot of use and will do you until your child in his/her late 2s if you look after them. There is a bottle brush included in the set and you'll need that to get dried up milk out from the recessed of the bottle.

The insulted bottle bags are brilliant and make getting out and about with a wee one in tow slightly less impractical, as do the dispensers (these were known simply as 'pods' on my watch). You measure out your powder into them, then pack them in the bottle bag with a luke warm bottle of boiled water and away you go.

The medium flow teats help future proof the set a little bit as your baby will move on to them sooner than you think. They basically let milk flow at a faster rate meaning junior can get round to the business of turning said milk into poo more quickly. There is a soother (aka dummy) included too but I can't comment on that as my little boy never used them. Not that I'm one of these fanatical soother Nazis, no, I'd have loved little man to have taken to a dummy, even if for the sake of five minutes sleep but there was no fooling him, even at that young age.

Lastly, working through the smaller items, come the teat tongs. Again, I didn't really use these when it was my go but, a little note for the dads - these aren't meant to be used one the wife. Not for a number of months, anyway.

Okay on to the big stuff. The steam steriliser. How I remember it well. Even though an it can take six bottles, I was loading this thing up what felt like five times a day. Honestly, it was like being called to prayer every time we ran out of bottles. Note that you probably will run out of bottles now and again, especially if you've got grandparents helping. Stuff gets split between two or three houses and the same number of cars and you lose track of it. That's parenthood. Anyway, this steamer is a seriously good piece of kit. Ours survived the hungriest baby since records began and went on to do one other before no amount of descaling it would salvage it. In short, don't expect to have to replace it in a hurry, but be prepared to miss it when it's gone.

Last up is the bottle warmer. This is probably the only thing in here that I would not bother with if I was putting a set like this together from scratch. It worked okay, it's just that my son was an erratic feeder and to get any benefit from the bottle warmer, you need advanced warning. As long as you're careful, a microwave should do you. Still, you might have one of these babies that follows the routine you set out for it and if you do, you'll probably use this.

So there you go. This really is a one stop shop for the first time parents in your life. Tommee Tippee is a rightly respected brand. Whether you choose to bottle feed (and don't let the NHS treating you like a second class citizen put you off) or whether you go for a mixture of breast and bottle, this box of tricks will set you up nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in every way, 26 Feb. 2014
By 
fivestarfrankie (chippenham, wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Essentials Starter Kit (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I passed this for review to a friend's daughter who was about to have her first baby. She tells me that this is IHHO the best she could have had and excellent in every way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
This review is from: Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Essentials Starter Kit (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an excellent starter kit which contains many essential items, and a few handy non-essentials too. It's cheaper than buying separately, and is likely an easier, quicker option - you can buy this set an set your mind at ease. I've reviewed some of the individual items elsewhere: the kit contains 6 bottles, plenty for one baby, an assortment of teats, powder containers and dispensers, bottle brush and insulated bags, and then the big stuff - 2 bottle sterilizers and a bottle warmer. The electric sterilizer is excellent and the smaller travel one is great if you will be away visiting for a few hours or staying away for a few days. Likewise, the bottle warmer is useful if you're on you're travels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is actually a really good product and worth it when on offer and I ..., 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Essentials Starter Kit (Baby Product)
This is actually a really good product and worth it when on offer and I would have given it a five however the bottle warmer did not come with any instructions unfortunately I thought you just turned it on put your bottle in and it did the job it weren't until I had to google the instructions I found you had to put water in it derrrrrr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I currently breastfeed but like to express for long car journeys, 13 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Essentials Starter Kit (Baby Product)
I currently breastfeed but like to express for long car journeys, when daddy would like to help out with the night feed etc. and really like this product. The steriliser is really easy to set up and use and the different size bottle and teats are good. We currently only use the smallest bottle and the no. 1 teat but it's nice to know we already have the next size up when needed without having to rush out to purchase more. The bottle warmer comes in really handy to warm up my expressed milk from the fridge and is also very easy to set up.

The insulated bags also come in handy when travelling as I don't have to worry about my expressed milk going off during a 2 hour car journey / day out. I would recommend to others as it saves a lot of time compared to having to boil everything with a tablet in a pan. It's very handy being able to store the steal isles items inside the steriliser for up to 24 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quality set....., 23 Feb. 2014
By 
Wynne Kelly "Kellydoll" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Essentials Starter Kit (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What a great box of useful items for any new baby! Although it is called a "Starter Set" its should be all that is needed for most babies until after the bottle feeding stage (apart from renewing the bottles and teats, obviously). As well as a sterilizer there is a travel sterilizer - brilliant idea. The insulated holders are also really useful. A lot of thought seems to have gone into this - even a bottle brush and soother are included.

This is a quality set from a well respected brand - and would make a very welcome gift to any new parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, great brand., 19 Feb. 2014
By 
n7misc (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Essentials Starter Kit (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great set for new parents. The quality of the product is excellent - I particularly like that it doesn't contain harmful materials too. Gave this to a friend at her baby shower and she was over the moon - particularly with the travel steriliser, which is handy for most of us who are not always at home when we feed!

You can't really go wrong with this brand - the kit is hard wearing and the teats are easy to use - the breathe through innovation is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gift and a half, 23 Jan. 2014
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Essentials Starter Kit (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you are expecting your first child or are a grandparent in the making looking for that ideal gift look no further this 'starter' kit will supply pretty much everything for those first few months up-to and including weaning.
The product description gives and idea of the contents (much better than I could) and it does deliver with the quality you expect from the Tommy Tipee brand.
Its all easy to use and ultimately easy to clean, as it would have to be time and time again. Quality comes in a big box and this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 22 Mar. 2015
By 
Amazon customer (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Essentials Starter Kit (Baby Product)
Being a first-time parent, this starter kit is great as it has everything you need without worrying about extra bits. Great value for money too - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and great for, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Essentials Starter Kit (Baby Product)
it has absolutely everything we need for the first time.....and great for value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Essentials Starter Kit
£63.74
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews