Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lord James Harrington the sleuth
James is at his best when he is solving the mysteries that involve the village of Cavendish. It's good to have those familiar characters back again from the previous mysteries they set the scene and make you feel as though this is a real village with all it's goings on.
Enjoyed it very much
Published 15 months ago by PatriciaB

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing mystery
This was an entertaining read, good little mystery and kept me guessing. I quite liked the hero and might try another.
Published 11 months ago by Liz Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lord James Harrington the sleuth, 30 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Lord James Harrington and the Summer Mystery (Lord James Harrington Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
James is at his best when he is solving the mysteries that involve the village of Cavendish. It's good to have those familiar characters back again from the previous mysteries they set the scene and make you feel as though this is a real village with all it's goings on.
Enjoyed it very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most enjoyable cosy mystery, 22 Nov. 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord James Harrington and the Summer Mystery (Lord James Harrington Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Yet another really well-plotted cosy mystery from Lynn Florkiewicz. I stumbled across her books only a few days ago and, already, I have read the first three Lord James Harrington books. Set in the late 1950s, with some nice period details, they centre around James and his wife, Beth, coping very nicely with the demands of being Lord and Lady of the manor while relying on the income from Harringtons, their ancestral home now converted into a luxury hotel - and, at the same time, doing some enthusiastic amateur sleuthing. They live in the village of Cavendish, a beautifully imagined village in Sussex with wonderful characters. James' circle of close friends - the vicar and his wife, a grumpy policeman and a slightly shady Londoner, all contribute to solving the mystery.
There has been a spate of jewel thefts in London and, worryingly, they have begun to happen much nearer home. Could some mysterious visitors to Harringtons, together with a maze of old smugglers' tunnels, have anything to do with the robberies?
The author's plotting is always good and the story twists and turns as the sleuths search for clues. There are some real surprises as the lively plot continues, as well as some fascinating glimpses into the past.
The writing style is very much 'English as she is spoke' - colloquial, simple, lively. This makes for good dialogue but sometimes awkward prose. There are several spelling mistakes, some of them quite basic, as though the author has difficulty with spelling and relies on her computer's spellcheck. Thus, for example, a recipe including currants spells the word 'currents' every time. There are also a few irritating grammatical mistakes. This is a shame, because Lynn Florkiewicz is a good writer with a lot to offer. She does not use a proofreader and perhaps it is time she employed one. However, this was not enough to spoil my enjoyment of the book, which I loved. I feel involved with the characters and want to know more about them, I enjoy the description of village life very much and I the mystery was very engaging. Every book ends with one or two of Nana Harrington's recipes [she is actually Lynn Florkiewicz's own grandmother]. Lots more Lord James books, please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EASY READ, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord James Harrington and the Summer Mystery (Lord James Harrington Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I AM ENJOYING THIS SERIES OF BOOKS,NICE EASY READING .THE RECIPE AT END OF EACH BOOK A NICE TOUCH .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Detective, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord James Harrington and the Summer Mystery (Lord James Harrington Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy this. At first I thought it Might be another Lord Wimsey (hope I spelt that right) you know the upper crust duffer but no thank goodness.

Instead it was a well constructed story and I did like the way his wife and her large family are roped in to provide the info about suspects.

All in all a good read, and I will be recommending it to my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it, it's no Agatha Christie, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord James Harrington and the Summer Mystery (Lord James Harrington Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed it, it's no Agatha Christie, it's a light read with plots that are best not examined too closely. Lord Harrington is a bit twee he seems to be obsessed with food and clothes, having said that I have read the other books by this author and would read future books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good old-fashioned who dunnit!, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord James Harrington and the Summer Mystery (Lord James Harrington Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Quite a complex plot to this story of smugglers and jewellery robberies. Lovely atmosphere, highly evocative of the 1950s. James, Beth their family and friends really grow on you and come to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord James Harrington and the Summer Mystery (Lord James Harrington Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I really did like this book, the characters and story was easy and enjoyable. I have also read the other books in theis series which are also a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing mystery, 8 April 2014
By 
Liz Bailey (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord James Harrington and the Summer Mystery (Lord James Harrington Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This was an entertaining read, good little mystery and kept me guessing. I quite liked the hero and might try another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord James Harrington and the Summer Mystery (Lord James Harrington Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Have now read all the Lord Harrington mysteries and I am looking forward to the autumn mystery. They transport you back to a golden era of country villages, vicars and the lord of the manor. An easy and enjoyable read would recommend to lovers of midsommer murders etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another of Lynn's mysteries, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord James Harrington and the Summer Mystery (Lord James Harrington Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the story and how the mystery worked out. Would like to read some of her other works when I can find them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews